We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good variety” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chinatown Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chinatown Cafe
2317 West University Drive, Suite A1, Denton, TX 76201
9403828797
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 329 Restaurants in Denton
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Hunan, Szechuan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery, Buffet
Ohio City, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Buffet style restaurant. We went on a Sunday afternoon, most of the food was fresh. They had a lot of seafood, sushi and I like that they had Mongolian style serving. There were also typical Chinese dishes. The dessert selection was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Has a wide selection to choose from. Also has a Mongolian Grill. Not to mention a wide variety of desserts to choose from. The service was friendly and fast.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best Buffet in Denton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We are always in the search for a good buffet and think we found it here. The staff is friendly, the variety is good and the prices are even better. The place was very clean and for the first time I did not get sick after eating at a Chinese buffet nor was I grossed out by their restrooms.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the best place to spend your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The buffet is large, but the food bins are not kept up well; it's clean, just not kept topped off with fresh food. The food appears, it my experience, to have been sitting in the bins for a long enough time that it is evident. I've been on several occasions over the years and have been only moderately satisfied. Much of the food is breaded, heavily sauced and seasoned, and very little is offered for anyone trying to eat a little more healthy. You may ask why I even go....well, I have family members that love chinese buffets, and sadly this is about the best you'll find in about a 20 mile radius. So - depending on what you really want to eat, be ready for a lot of food, a large selection, but not much for the taste buds.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ummm good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you're in the mood for good Chinese food you have got to try China Cafe in Denton. Really good customer service. food. Very fresh and hot. Several different types. Large amount available. One thing to mention if you're going on the weekend go early. It gets really crowded very fast. But the food is worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Chinatown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinatown Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.