We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metzler's Food & Beverage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Metzler's Food & Beverage
628 Londonderry Ln, Denton, TX 76205-5379
940-591-1652
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 329 Restaurants in Denton
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Food and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I admit it, we always went to the other BBQ restaurant on 35, but after seeing a news story, we decided we wanted to find another favorite place to eat in Denton. We found it Metzlers.

The location is off 35, its worth a little side trip. The store sells wine, beer, german meats, and barbecue. Walking in one is at the counter, the store is to the left and booths to the right. Its a small space but well planned. Bathroom was clean and could accomodate handicap patrons easily.

We tried a sausage plate as an appetizer, this platter arrived with three varieties and would have been a meal in itself. I did not care for the prepackaged saltines which looked old, and thus only 4 stars.

I had a chopped brisket sandwich, it arrived hot, piled high, and was delicious.

My husband had the barbecue salad. It arrived with a generous portion of sliced brisket and romaine salad. A filling meal.

Ice tea glasses were never empty, we were asked several times if we needed anything else.

We decided we had to take home some sausage from the meat counter.

Very pleasant overall, will eat there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanger, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a "dual" purpose convince/beer store but they have great bar-b-q. Booths are in the front so you don't have to order out but you can.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great german food and BBQ in Denton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Been going here for years. They get many of the fresh meats and baked items from up in Muenster, TX including meats and cheeses from Fischers Market and strudel from Bayers. Yummy. They have the best smoked german sausage I have ever eaten and the all you can eat ribs special on Fridays and Saturdays makes me a regular here. They have one of the wider selections of beers and wines in Denton.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stock the cellar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

In addition to great food, Metzler's always has a wonderful selection of beer and wine. Love checking out the varieties and getting recommendations.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great beer and cheese, BBQ sucks, 380 location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We love metzlers for their beer selection, they have a great variety a microbrew selection BUT make sure to check the date before you buy. We love Breckenridge and Left hand brew but so many times we bought a six pack brought it home to find out it expired a month ago.


We also love metzlers for their Fischer products (muenster cheese, other cheeses, sausages) it all comes from Munster tx so you don't have to feel guilty bc you're eating animal products that are from farmers and free range animal.


Metzlers BBQ sucks unfortunately. One time I got a sliced beef sanwhich that was good and I was so happy to think that I had a good beer and good BBQ source. WRONG. Everytime after that one time the BBq is gross like its reheated or old and this has been true for their brisket, pork ribs, ham, turkey, burgers, and pulled pork. Yup, I tried them all hoping that at least one of them would be delicious but no. Just disgusting reheated leftovers.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metzler's Food & Beverage also viewed

 

Been to Metzler's Food & Beverage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metzler's Food & Beverage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.