We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my style. Great service tho.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of International Food of Denton

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
International Food of Denton
609 Sunset St, Denton, TX 76201-2665
940-591-6530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 329 Restaurants in Denton
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Persian
Description: Located in Denton, Texas, International Food is a small, cozy restaurant owned and operated by a Persian family. International Food specializes in Mediterranean, Persian, Greek, and Middle Eastern Foods. The restaurant started out 14 years ago as an international grocery store with foods from almost every continent. Although they don't carry the variety they once did, they still carry a number of imported groceries including teas, herbs, mixes, desserts, orange blossom honey, premium kalamata olives, as well as several brands of basmati rice, olive oil, canned goods and feta cheese.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in Denton, Texas, International Food is a small, cozy restaurant owned and operated by a Persian family. International Food specializes in Mediterranean, Persian, Greek, and Middle Eastern Foods. The restaurant started out 14 years ago as an international grocery store with foods from almost every continent. Although they don't carry the variety they once did, they still carry a number of imported groceries including teas, herbs, mixes, desserts, orange blossom honey, premium kalamata olives, as well as several brands of basmati rice, olive oil, canned goods and feta cheese.
Denton, Tx.
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Not my style. Great service tho.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Wanted something different in Denton, as there are not that many really good places there, especially if you don't like smoke or want something not as 'mainstream'.
After reading reviews, we couldn't wait to try this place! We were pretty disappointed. I like different styles of food, but just not that impressed, especially for the price. Not terribly expensive, but a little more costly than what we expected for the meal.
Owners were great people, super nice. Inside was a little bland, not a lot of personality, but plenty of room.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Oh my what a find! Little Mom & Pop place with the freshest middle eastern food I have ever eaten. I thought I had eaten Taboule before - but only now have I REALLY eaten Taboule! The gyro was tender and juicy. The Persian tea addictive. And the house made Baklava served warm - I woke up the next morning craving more! Friendliness and warmth of the owners showed that pride of ownership that you don't see much any more. We will be back, and back, and back. The kind of place that makes you want to be a regular - sort of like Norm.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spiced just right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We were visiting Denton and wanted something different. Well....we found it! If you like Persian/Mediteranean food, you'll love this place. Everything was spiced just right -- not too heavy. Not busy, so easy to get served on a Friday night.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Persian and Greek Food in a Charming Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

A charming, small, storefront restaurant that is decorated with a mural, strings of lights and candles. The food was delicious. I can highly recommend the Chicken Biryani and Lamb Kababs. We also enjoyed the hummis and babi ghanosh for appetizers. We were the only customers the evening we visited so give this family run restaurant some love!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“My all-time favorite Middle-Eastern restaurant in the metroplex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

I have known Hakima and Ali since they opened up many years ago. All diners at all restaurants everywhere should be greeted so warmly and treated with such hospitality. They along with their children Hormat and Hamed (forgive my misspelling) are truly wonderful people who if for no other reason deserve a slavishly adoring clientele. It started as a grocery store and gradually began serving dishes and sandwiches, finally getting to the point where there are only a few grocery items along one wall and the rest is a sweet, romantic little restaurant with an alluring decor. My wife and I always get baba ghanouj, hummus, falafel, tabouleh, and then whatever we want for entree. Of these the hummus is always good, but the star is the baba--slightly smoky, rich ground eggplant and tahini that just fills your mouth with gradually unfolding deliciousness. The tabouleh is fresh or it's not served. Crisp parsley and springy bulgar wheat with a light moist tang. The spanakopita is hand-made and better eaten in the restaurant than taken home where it gets a bit wilty. Try the soup, which I have only known as "Aush", especially on a cold day. It's a savory and thick with lentils and beans, topped with a dollop of yogurt.

Our favorite entrees are the Chicken Capri, Greek (beef) Moussaka (there's a veggie version, too), Bakhtiari Kebob, Chicken or Beef Souvlaki, all handmade with care and skill. I usually get extra tzatziki sauce, made fresh with yogurt and spices.

The only thing that would improve this restaurant would be a shawarma rotisserie. And moving next door to me. If you can find it (it's tucked away on Sunset, not far from Payless video and Papa John's), you will not be disappointed. Once you are welcomed by your hosts and taste their food, you too will become a regular.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Food of Denton also viewed

 

Been to International Food of Denton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Food of Denton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.