We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never going back! Food was awful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parker Brother's Trail Dust

Parker Brother's Trail Dust
US-380E, Denton, TX
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 302 Restaurants in Denton
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Never going back! Food was awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Years ago, this location was a great place to go celebrate and have an awesome steak! Drove from Plano to Lincoln Park in the late 70s and 80s to eat here. Later went to the location on I35, restaurant row area. Loved both, food was great and worth the money!
Moved close to the Lincoln Park location and tried it a couple of times.

First time, went when band playing and sat in main room. Fun to watch the serious older dancers and children having fun. The serious dancers did not seem to like the little kids dancing though, potential collisions and having to sidestep the kids. Band was good, not great. Cocktails overpriced for this environment. $7 for a small well drink! Ordered the Chicken fried steak and it was obviously frozen breaded patties. Thought that was our mistake, should have order steak at the steakhouse, duh! Next time, sat in room not by dance floor, order the most best steaks available but not the huge ones. Salads came out late, tasted like they were 3 days old. When entrees arrived, the sides were all over cooked and the steaks were not edible. If we had cooked these steaks at home, would have thrown them in garbage and then gone out to eat.
I am so sad this Texas icon has fallen to this level.
No wonder the other locations have closed. So sad....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    4
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Fantastic steak worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I wanted to go to the Traildust since it is famous for its' tie cutting, and the Dallas restaurant went out of business and driving by the Arlington restaurant, the parking lot seems to be emptier by the day. My husband insisted we go to the original in Lincoln Park, and I am glad we did. After we got there, I Googled the history of the restaurant and discovered all the restaurants were sold except one, and that is the Lincoln Park location. Thus the name, the Parker Brothers Trail Dust, so this is the original, and the one and only.

Walking in, its an old red barn that is dimly lit. We were there at 1:30 on a Saturday afternoon, some folks there but not many. There are both, booths and long tables with a small dance floor. The kids were enjoying the two story slide. Walls are covered with tie bottoms and little cards identifying the owner and the occasion.

We were seated immediately, server came over immediately, took the drink orders and gave us time to look over the menu. The husband had steak and ribs, I had steak.

Salads and baked potatoes were average. Beans were excellent.

But the meat...well.. the meat was so stellar that they outweighed the sides.

The ribs were fall-off-the-bone tender, some of the best ribs I have ever eaten, no sauce required.

Steaks were both delicious, cooked to perfection. Seasoned to perfection. Tasted perfection. What can I say, they were perfect.

Sizes were so large we ended up with a to-go box for both of us and had another meal.

Highly recommend the PARKER BROTHERS Trail Dust... drive to Lincoln Park, its worth the trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went on a Thursday night before 7:00 and there were more servers than diners! The steaks were awesome, fries and salads were good and the appetizers were half price. All in all, a good meal for a decent price. We would go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, Texas, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Trail Dust visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had lunch on a Monday and there wasn't much traffic. The food was good. We had the special (Chicken Fried Steak). The host was very nice and the place was very clean. On Friday and Saturday night, we were told that there a live band and there is a dance floor to dance to the music. Oh, and if look around, you will see the bottom half of a lot of ties hanging on the wall. So, beware. LOL

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Giant Steaks, Giant metal slide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We live within a few miles of this restuarant so we go about 1 or 2 times a month. The service is consistently good, there is seldom a very long wait, and the food is very good to excellent. This is the place you need to go if you want a 2 pound Porterhouse, I have ordered it twice and have finished it never. it is a giant steak and can be shared between two people. The bacon bleu salad is always very good and worth paying the upgrade price to substitute it for a normal side. and then there is THE SLIDE which is my kids favorite part of this restaurant. it is a long metal slide that goes from the second floor to the first floor, and shoots the rider out onto the dancefloor. The kids order and then play on the slide until the food comes, allowing Mom and Dad to have an adult conversation for a few minutes. A few caveats about the slide, your kids need to have socks on to go down, and it is closed when the band starts, so if you come on a weekend and want the kids to be able to slilde, you have to show up before the band starts. I am not a country music fan in any sense of the word, But it is worth mentioning that they have a live band on saturdays and a very lively country dance crowd shows up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parker Brother's Trail Dust also viewed

 

Been to Parker Brother's Trail Dust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parker Brother's Trail Dust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.