We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Restaurant in Denton, TX” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Matador Restaurant

El Matador Restaurant
720 W University Dr, Denton, TX 76201-1890
940-387-1137
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 329 Restaurants in Denton
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Mexican Restaurant in Denton, TX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is our favorite Mexican Restaurant in Denton. Been going here for almost a year now. Service is Top Notch. Food comes out fast and hot, no matter if they are slow or busy. We have tried a variety of menu items and everything is great. Especially like the Pollo Asada. The fried Mexican Potatoes are great for a side. Margaritas are good also. You must try the Chimi Cheesecake for dessert - heaven on a plate !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“YUMMO!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I love this place! I am always a happy camper when I walk out. You can walk in and get seated quick, even when they are busy. The food is always out hot, fast, and the drinks aren't bad either. One of my top places to go.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Always a great place for Mexican food. Their chips are fabulous and ordering a strange combination is never a problem.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Solidddd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great job by the staff. Our server was efficient, and the food was excellent. The hot sauce was a little bland, but it just needed a little salt, nothing to worry about. Brisket tacos had great flavor, and everyone I was with was impressed as well. I like the large glasses they serve beverages in. Very smart. I'm sure the servers are helped a great deal by this one little thing:) It IS the little things that kill you in this business.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hometown feel and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

El Mat's is a staple for those that live in the area. The food is consistently good and the service is excellent! Favorite...shredded beef tacos...yum!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Matador Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Matador Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Matador Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.