We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sewer smell” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hannah's off the Square

Hannah's off the Square
111 West Mulberry, Denton, TX 76201
940-566-1110
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hannah's off the Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 302 Restaurants in Denton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Locust
Transit: DCTA stops directly in front of Hannah's Off the Square.
Denton, tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sewer smell”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We were there last night with friends and we sat in the bar. Our martins were wonderful and the cheese and bread was good. It was hard to enjoy it due to a very strong raw sewer smell. It would come and go in waves. We finally asked the bar tender and she said they have been trying to resolve the sewer smell for two years! I was shocked!! She suggested we move to a different side of the bar where the smell wasn't as strong, which we did. I was very disappointed, it's a great place but I won't be back until the problem is resolved.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    48
    14
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lantana, TX
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“If you need a private dining/surprise party...Hannah's is awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I can honestly say that my wife's 40th surprise birthday we had this past weekend was absolutely fantastic. We had the private dining room with about 40 guests and all had a great time. Jason and his staff were on top of everything from the service of food to my guests to the birthday cake and champagne toast all with exceptional attention and service. Thank you to all the folks and the chef that created a fantastic memory and great time had by all.

Thank you!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Between average and very good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The place is quaint, the service was good and the food was good. For the price the portions are tiny. Order Vermont Cheddar for app. received 2 small pieces for cheese for $6. The piece of chicken I order for my meal was tiny. The best thing about the place are the drinks where great, but again were small for $10. As I look at other reviews the word pricey appears a lot and I agree.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

While the food was wonderful, the service was not. They tipped a wine glass onto the floor while pouring from a carafe. While they offered a free desert, we said we didn't eat desert. We asked for a replacement glass of wine and never got that. There was no acceptable consideration for the incident.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady Shores, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fanciest Place in Denton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you want something much better than a chain restaurant that offers a nice atmosphere, attentive service, and food that's not ordinary using a wide variety of ingredients than this is the place! I've been there several times now and will go back again. It's great for special occasions or when you have a babysitter and need a little alone time! Great martinis!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hannah's off the Square also viewed

 

Been to Hannah's off the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hannah's off the Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.