We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY good south Louisiana style fried/grilled seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frilly's Seafood Bayou Kitchen

Frilly's Seafood Bayou Kitchen
1925 Denison St, Denton, TX 76201
(940) 243-2126
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 302 Restaurants in Denton
Restaurant details
Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“VERY good south Louisiana style fried/grilled seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I had not been to Frilly's in a couple of years. It was once one of my favorite "joints" but had fallen from favor; they got sloppy and lazy. I'm happy to say that I'm putting it back on my list of local favorites. The poster po' boy was fresh, hot, over stuffed and terrific! My friend's shrimp po' boy was equally delicious. Service was great and the place was clean. And there were lots of screens for watching the ball game.
Glad to see this place getting it right again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Indiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First time eating alligator!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Had breaded alligator nuggets for first time ever! Really quite tasty!! French fries were also good. Sweet tea was of the best!! Atmosphere bar like but not smoky. Neat experience!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monterrey, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“exotic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

second time I visited Frilly's food was very good both times, its different than any chain restaurant, express service, very practical and fast metho to order and wait. Place was clean, just a little bit noise when ordering, somebody in the kitchen speaking to loud.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our idea of Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Don't pay attention when people "rate" Cajun food and mention New Orleans. That's not Cajun country, folks. We ate Cajun food only around Breaux Bridge, Opolousas, Layfayette, etc. before we could get it around here. We moved back to Denton in 2000, buying a restaurant of our own. Frilly's started about exactly the same time. We have gone there about 35, 40 times a year ever since. It's our idea of comfort food. We used to eat occasionally at the one over by where we live (now called Dani Rae's.) Didn't like the atmosphere as well (not so much like a real Cajun place). But, right after they split ownership, we went to the South one and I had an MSG attack after eating the fried crawfish. Never went back. Whether they still use it, I wouldn't know. From then on, we stuck with the "original." We like pretty much everything. All the fried seafood is good. Sometimes, the oysters are a bit big for my taste. They'll cut them in two for you. One of our big splurges is boiled crawfish (only in season, but they had a long season this year.) It's very expensive. But, it was expensive in Cajun country, this year, too. Sometimes, we get etouffee and bring it home. They serve etouffee with their version of dirty rice, which is hokey, but also done by Pappadeaux, that sorta-Cajun restaurant based in Houson and owned by the Pappas family. We always order it at Frilly's with white rice, as we'd get it around Breaux Bridge. We know what's fresh and what isn't. We know what's Cajun and what isn't. This is really good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frilly's Seafood Bayou Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Frilly's Seafood Bayou Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frilly's Seafood Bayou Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.