We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wildwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Wildwood Inn to your Saves list
The Wildwood Inn
2602 Lillian Miller Parkway, Denton, TX 76210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Denton
Denton, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprise party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

My wife was turning 60, and I wanted to do a really special surprise party for her, and I wanted it to be really nice. We had around 55 people attend. The food, service, decor, and atmosphere was great. My wife was totally surprised, and the guests are still talking about the evening. It was perfect. I would do it all again, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    15
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
49
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This little Inn is located in a residential neighborhood not far from downtown Denton. We needed a place for my daughter's graduation, and we kind of stumbled across this place since most of the name brand hotels were booked or crazy expensive. Driving into the grounds through the large front gate, it felt like we were truly leaving the city behind. It is an old "mansion" that has been turned into an inn. At first glance, it is a beautiful place: small front desk, large dining room, wooded back yard with a beautiful pool and a covered veranda overlooking it all. There are only 14 rooms, so it is quite small. The rooms themselves are spacious and well appointed. My only complaint is that this seems to be, first and foremost, a wedding venue: two per day during the weekend we were there. The staff, though nice, weren't particularly professional and only became helpful if you really, really asked them nicely. While they DID eventually come through with the small requests like hot water, a glass of wine or something for the room, they were not in a hurry.... and if something was required for the wedding set up, it always took precedent over anything else. There was no lobby bar, dinner was by appointment only and breakfast was only served between 8am and 9am.... so as to make way for wedding set ups, I presume. Any guests NOT associated with a wedding were at a disadvantage, I felt. Otherwise, it was a wonderful place, and if you need a place to stay and relax away from madding crowd.... I recommend it. If you want four star service, go find a Four Seasons.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a little different, so I have only some perspective. Some have whirlpool tubs, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Back at the Wildwood with my wife for 4 nights. Thought I had reserved a King Suite, but somehow that got messed up. Confusing to try and reserve via the internet. All the websites look like Wildwood. Somehow we reserved a standard room via Expedia. Desk clerk seemed befuddled, but promised to address with management next day. It was addressed and we were moved to a King Suite. Only constructive criticism (and I know this is hard with college kids at the front desk) is that the night manager or desk clerk needs to be empowered to make a decision. The issue with Expedia was complicating, but a simple correction would have been to move us into the room with the understanding that there would be an upcharge. Next day, that's how the situation was resolved.

While the Wildwood is a nice wedding venue, I'm a business traveler who likes good hotels especially when I'm traveling with my wife. There aren't many nice hotels in Denton. I haven't stayed while a wedding was underway, but I believe that weddings are usually crowded, noisy affairs. If you can't tolerate that, don't stay there during a wedding. Simple enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I got married here and I could not have asked for more! The place was so beautiful but also able to be decorated to make special for your day! I loved the staff and they were so helpful! I could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My coordinator made my wedding experience incredibly smooth. The room we rented (the bridal suite) was the perfect size for my ladies and I to get ready in the morning and the venue itself was just fantastic.
Not to mention the fact that this place was one of the best in terms of price! (cake INCLUDED, what??!?!?)

I had a wonderful time, and the pictures came out fantastic~Such a picturesque location!

Room Tip: The rooms in the back border the opening to the pool, so in the summer they can get loud...but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great spot, rooms and service. Sunday breakfast could be a little later to allow us to sleep in more and needs bigger coffee cups. However, all in all, exceeded expectations. Rooms are very nicely done

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The guests at our wedding loved the Wildwood Inn. It is simply a beautiful place. The staff is very courteous and friendly. Food tasted wonderful and was displayed nicely. The rooms were very pretty and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wildwood Inn

Address: 2602 Lillian Miller Parkway, Denton, TX 76210
Location: United States > Texas > Denton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Denton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wildwood Inn is a romantic retreat popular with couples looking for elegant European-style ambiance and amenities combined with today's modern technology. Wildwood Inn is a popular destination for weddings and events with cascading trees & a gorgeous pergola perfect for an outdoor ceremony. Wildwood has a beautiful private reception area with elegant tables, chairs, linens, fireplace, and more! We can host events for up to 120 guests and your guests can even stay on site after the event in one of our beautiful guest rooms. Amenities include a pool and spa in our lush garden area, complimentary full breakfast on weekends, free wireless and high speed internet, whirlpool bathtubs, fireplaces, plush robes, romance packages, private balconies, European toiletries, and fine linens. Our boutique hotel is available for reservations on Friday & Saturday evenings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wildwood Hotel Denton
Wildwood Hotel Denton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wildwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.