We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience for our Wedding (Also Perfect for a Romantic Getaway)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wildwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Wildwood Inn to your Saves list
The Wildwood Inn
2602 Lillian Miller Parkway, Denton, TX 76210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Denton
Watauga, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful Experience for our Wedding (Also Perfect for a Romantic Getaway)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I got married at the Wildwood Inn in early November. We also booked all 14 rooms as we had several out of town guests that needed accommodation. I can't say enough nice things about the Wildwood and our experience there. The staff (especially the coordinators Bailey and Myca) were incredible to work with - everyone commented about how beautiful the setting was (we chose to get married outside), and the rooms were gorgeous, and all had a different theme. The food was absolutely delicious, and they work with a local bakery so that you're able to choose your own Bride and Groom's cakes. And it's nice to know that we have somewhere to go every year to celebrate our anniversary :) They really cater to, and care about, you and all your needs. And the price for everything that's included is unbeatable. It's an extremely romantic, classic venue and we'd recommend them many times over

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    15
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
49
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This facility is nothing short of stellar - we just had several things happen that made it come up a little bit short of perfect!! We stayed here on the recommendation of family that lives close by with whom we were spending the holiday and they just raved about it!! We got in late and found that there were only two washcloths for the two of us, which is not a deal breaker, but also does not anticipate our needs for both getting ready for bed and ready for the next day. The bathtub faucet ran constantly and the cold water faucet at the sink was loose. Again, not deal breakers, but these are things that did not just occur. We found the bed to be hard and lumpy, but we are used to a gel mattress, and the pillows fell in the category of being old and tired, making it difficult to get comfortable. The real deal breaker was when there was not one drop of hot water that came out of the bathtub faucet in the three nights we spent there! We could have complained each day, but the plumber was in after our first night and we just thought it would be better. There is no information anywhere that we could find about housekeeping - if they come in daily or at all, if they change your sheets, or give you clean towels, etc., so we never knew what to expect. We always got in late at night and left pretty early in the morning, but the staff members that we did see were extremely pleasant and friendly!! We did get to enjoy the full breakfast on Saturday morning, which was quite lovely!! Even though it sounds like we are complaining about everything, we did have a great time and will stay here again if the opportunity presents itself!!!!

Room Tip: There is actually a description of each room, which is helpful if you know about it and can get ahol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at the Wildwood inn while having Thanksgiving with our son. The first time we stayed in a second floor suite, and it was great. The second time, we could only get a first floor suite. The service, food, and room were still good, but there was a very major problem. We had planned on sleeping in on one of our few days off. But, the hotel had yard service at 8 AM blowing leaves right by the windows. With a 100 Db leaf blower outside one's window, it was impossible to sleep late. When I complained that my wife desperately needed her sleep, the clerk informed me that "it was the only time he could do it." It is very disappointing when what was a first class boutique hotel puts their scheduling ahead of guest needs. And, I believe being able to sleep in past 8 AM on the first day of a two day stay is not an unreasonable request. But, the staff showed indifference to how their convenience affected the guest, which indicates the hotel service is going downhill fast. When cheap motels are far quieter, an upper scale hotel is failing. If you stay here, be sure to get a second floor room.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildwoodDenton, Manager at The Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We apologize if your stay was dissatisfactory and that you encountered a disruption while you were relaxing. Your experience is not what we want portrayed for our hotel. We strive hard to make each guest feel special and comfortable while they are here. As a smaller establishment our staff changes and there are always areas for us to improve. Feedback from our customers is the best way for us to learn, grow and strive to make your stay a memorable one. We have since made changes to our landscaping schedule and we invite you to stay with us again during your next trip to Denton so we can show you how your feedback has helped us make changes that will result in your satisfaction.

Best Wishes,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We knew when we walked into the Wildwood's open house in 2012 that this would be our venue. It felt like home. The staff is very courteous and they respond quickly to any questions you have (even if your wedding is over a year away). Myca was our coordinator and I couldn't have asked for a better go-to girl. She is very organized and suggests great ideas for layouts with seating and photobooths. We chose one of the buffet menu options and absolutely LOVED the Caprese Skewers... but all the food was excellent and our guests really enjoyed the food as well. I love that they bundle their services with Candy Haven Bakery in Denton as well, and when our guest list went over our quoted amount, they updated Candy Haven themselves... it was greatly appreciated the week before the wedding. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the Inn is very quiet. We would definitely recommend The Wildwood Inn to anyone looking for a beautiful yet affordable venue for their wedding.

Room Tip: Room 5 is beautiful, room 14 has a fireplace and bar. Both had Jacuzzi bathtubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two week nights. The week nights are important since only a continental breakfast is served during the week with full cooked breakfast available on Saturday and Sunday. The continental breakfast was OK, but nothing special. The rooms, public spaces and grounds are all beautiful. The inn is located in a very nice residential neighborhood very close to I-35E. It's no wonder this facility is a popular wedding venue. We took advantage of the restaurant being open on Thursday evening and had an absolutely wonderful dinner at a reasonable price. Every one of the staff members we met was very friendly and helpful. We will stay at the Wildwood Inn again if we are in the Denton area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4, which was very nice with a day bed in addition to a king bed. This room and se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had my wedding and reception at the Wildwood as well as had my bridal party and immediate family stay the night before. The Wildwood is very beautiful and the staff is amazing. The food is great too - I got so many compliments about the food at our wedding. This place is great for big events as well as a little weekend get-away!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

For Valentine's Day 2013 I surprised my wife with a one-night stay at this hidden gem of Denton, TX. The service was fantastic, the on-site restaurant was brilliant - particularly with new staff, and on one of the busiest nights of the year for them.

The room was spacious, and we loved the huge swimming-pool-esque pool.

We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms. We stayed in #5, and it was tremendous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wildwood Inn

Address: 2602 Lillian Miller Parkway, Denton, TX 76210
Location: United States > Texas > Denton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Denton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wildwood Inn is a romantic retreat popular with couples looking for elegant European-style ambiance and amenities combined with today's modern technology. Wildwood Inn is a popular destination for weddings and events with cascading trees & a gorgeous pergola perfect for an outdoor ceremony. Wildwood has a beautiful private reception area with elegant tables, chairs, linens, fireplace, and more! We can host events for up to 120 guests and your guests can even stay on site after the event in one of our beautiful guest rooms. Amenities include a pool and spa in our lush garden area, complimentary full breakfast on weekends, free wireless and high speed internet, whirlpool bathtubs, fireplaces, plush robes, romance packages, private balconies, European toiletries, and fine linens. Our boutique hotel is available for reservations on Friday & Saturday evenings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wildwood Hotel Denton
Wildwood Hotel Denton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wildwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.