We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty Nasty Nasty!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Denton

Motel 6 Denton
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Denton to your Saves list
Motel 6 Denton
4125 Interstate 35 North, Denton, TX 76207   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Denton
Temple, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nasty Nasty Nasty!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Was treated to a foul odor in room upon entering. Didn't worry too much about it at first. Then, proceeded to look for bed bugs. Lifted up mattress and was rewarded with two raunchy pornographic magazines apparently left unfound by cleaning crew. Also appeared to be some nasty orange chunks/stain on the mattress, looked like puke. Sheets appeared to be worn thru and have funky stains on them, appeared to be semen. There was a "Fugitive Recovery Team" vehicle from New Jersey just below our room. Made us feel REALLLLL safe. Room door below was open and creepy looking guy with kids sitting outside smoking. They were talking and roaming the parking lots until late in the night. We saw vagrants wandering the parking lot as well. There didnt appear to be any HOURS for pool usage, so there were kids and adults yelling into the early morning while using the pool just outside our rooms. Loudest, nastiest motel I have ever stayed in, and will nEVER ever again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitul_desai, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Denton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We assure you that we give importance to the safety of our guests, I apologize for the noise coming from the kids enjoying the pool during your stay in our hotel.

These concerns have been resolved and we have implemented improvements to better service the lodging needs of our guests. We have ensured rooms are ready, well- maintained for our guests to rest comfortably.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to another chance to accommodate you in our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    7
    2
    9
See reviews for
6
5
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I had stayed at this Motel 6 location years ago and decided to try it again since the rates are very good. Although it is an old motel, it appears to be well maintained. I didn't have any problems while staying here. It's just off of I-35, north of US 380. When coming off the exit ramp going southbound, you just miss the motel, which is on the service road. You go to US 380, turn right, and turn right again on a side street going north, just before you would go under a railroad trestle if you continued on US 380 going west. The motel is just a few blocks north of US 380. I had a good night's sleep. I didn't hear any noise. I would stay here again the next time I'm in Denton.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitul_desai, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Denton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello TallTexWally,

Thank you very much, we are humbled by your generous notes. We are glad to have satisfied your lodging needs in our hotel.

Allow us to serve you better, experience the improvements we have implemented as we are committed to provide our guests value services in our hotel.

We look forward to your next visit in our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I booked at Motel 6 Denton because we had stayed at a nice, remodeled Motel 6 in Lewisville, Texas and thought we could save some money since we were going to be in Denton for a long time. Mistake. Because of flight delays, we arrived at the hotel around 2:30 in the morning. We were given the last room available and when we arrived at the door to our room, it was open. We discovered the lock on the door didn't work, so the door wouldn't stay closed. When we called the front desk, we were told there was no one there that time of night that could fix it, so the only thing they could do is give us our money back. So here we were, in the middle of the night, having to find a last minute hotel to stay in. In addition, the hotel felt unsafe - there were loud, drunk partiers around the property. I feel they were fully aware of the non-locking door and just wanted to unload that room on someone. Lesson learned: you get what you pay for.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitul_desai, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Denton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello Aloha247,

I regret for your unfortunate experience, I apologize for the way our front desk had addressed your concern. Thank you for bringing the matter to our attention as we will ensure this eventuality in not going to occur ever in our hotel.

We have implemented improvements particularly in guests support and I hope you will give us another chance to provide accommodation on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I generally stay in a Motel 6 while traveling because of the price and because they allow pets without charging extra fees.

Stayed at this location for 3 nights while attending 35 Conferette. It was clean and the staff was friendly. Nothing too fancy, but totally served its purpose.

Our room was about halfway down on the pool side. We didn't have any issues with noise from the highway.

A quick note about Denton: there's only one cab company and during the music festival there was only one driver on duty (considering this festival draws thousands, we were floored by this). Driver was nice but the dispatcher was not honest about wait times at all. 20 minute waits turned into 1-2 hour waits. Most of the hotels are out on the highway, about 3-4 miles from downtown. After using the cab the first night, we decided to drive or find rides the rest of the fest.

The festival was a blast and would definitely recommend this motel as an economic place to stay. If you plan on "enjoying the bars" just make sure you have a ride worked out or be prepared to wait a while for a cab.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitul_desai, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Denton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello MainRoadWarrior,

We appreciate your time in sharing your experience during your stay in our hotel. I am pleased to inform you that we have implemented improvements to better serve our guests.

I hope we could have another chance to provide your lodging needs in the future and allow us to service your lodging needs again in our hotel. We assure a more comfortable, efficient services to you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stay_away
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

Gold jewelries were stolen out of our room, and the whole staff - from housekeeping to the desk manager to the general manager denied it.

What a bull of crap...

This is what we get for staying in a cheap rate motel.

  • Liked — easy access to the highway
  • Disliked — thieves
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitul_desai, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Denton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello stay-away060,

We are sadden for your lose however, our team assures you that we would never in any manner offend our guests more so go through the belongings. We value business from our guests and we are committed to providing the best quality accommodation for giving us your business.

Thank you for staying in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

I was looking for a clean, inexpensive room convenient to my route. This Motel 6 met that. It was a bit loud, being right next to the interstate, but I wanted convenient and had no trouble sleeping. It is a bit old but seems well-maintained. The room was Motel 6 sized - fine for me, alone, little luggage, but would be snug for an extended stay with spouse and lots of stuff (and less than half the price of the places with more space that I did not need.) It was clean, though had a little of the institutional cleaner odor. Desk staff was friendly and professional.

  • Liked — location, price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitul_desai, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Denton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello NewOrleansBelle,

We are glad to have met your satisfaction during your visit in our hotel. Thank you very much for your choice to stay in Motel 6 and for sharing your experience with us.

Allow us to offer you an improved services next time you visit our hotel. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

I booked this property because of the low price and the reviewers saying it was clean. I wasn't prepared for QUITE HOW basic this room was. It was more like a hostel. No shampoo or even blowdryer (had to borrow one from the office for a $5 deposit!) The room was clean and the bathrom was sparkling. The carpet was old and this non-smoking room smelled like it had been converted from a smoking one. Our comforter had a cigarette burn in it and the wool blanket looked like it had been around since WW II. The walls are very thin--we could hear some person coughing up what sounded like a lung next door. Any time someone turned water on we could hear it. Overall, I wouldn't go back.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Too basic
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitul_desai, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Denton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello CapriSunrise,

Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel and for bringing your concern to our attention. Comments from guests are our reference in implementing necessary improvements to offer better services and accommodation in our hotel.

We hope you will visit our hotel in the near future and allow us to make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Denton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Denton

Address: 4125 Interstate 35 North, Denton, TX 76207
Location: United States > Texas > Denton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Denton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Denton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Denton
Denton Motel 6
Denton Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Denton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.