We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CJ's Coffee Cafe

CJ's Coffee Cafe
514 W. Main Street, Denison, TX 75020
+1 903-327-8984
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 66 Restaurants in Denison
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Welcome to CJ's Coffee Cafe in beautiful downtown Denison, TX! We're the former Country Java, and we've still got the same stellar customer service that our long-time patrons have come to love. If you're a newcomer, you're sure to love our famous oat wheat bread and rolls, which we bake fresh in our ovens every morning. We use only fresh ingredients, and we use locally-roasted coffee.What are you waiting for? Come in and have a cuppa!
Pottsboro, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

CJs serves the best coffee I have ever had and I am a coffee lover. Their lunch sandwiches, soups and salads are excellent. The staff is always friendly and the establishment is clean and has a wonderfully casual atmosphere. I eat there as often as possible.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denison, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great laid back joint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This cafe in Downtown Denison has thrived while other businesses on Main Street have not done so well. I think it is because of the simple delicious food & laid back atmosphere. The staff is friendly and cheerful and the restaurant is clean with a warm and inviting atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, TX
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This place has remodeled twice since I started going here, and personally I liked the first permutation better. But it's still a pretty good place. Only tried a few of the sandwiches, but they are decent. The coffee is OK, too. It's located in, if memory serves me well, what was the old bus station before Greyhound consolidated their Sherman and Denison stop into one place. The place now has more room for dining, but some of the atmosphere has been lost from the older more cramped place, if you ask me.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“delicious lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have not tried the coffee concoctions, but the Chicken Club is delicious. I need a coffee visit to try some of their drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Baked Oatmeal! Out of this world!ut”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Don't knock it if you haven't tried it! We were driving through Denison @ breakfast time & looked at the Trip Advisor app for help. We weren't disappointed. The CJ (as they call it) is in downtown Denison & although a limited menu (no eggs & bacon) their baked oatmeal was outstanding along with their "cinnamon roll bites!" We had the plain coffee but it was brewed to perfection. Well worth a little side trip through historic Denison (birthplace of Dwight Eisenhouer)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CJ's Coffee Cafe also viewed

 

Been to CJ's Coffee Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CJ's Coffee Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.