We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Texoma Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Denison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Texoma Inn
Save
You added Texoma Inn to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1600 South Austin Ave., Denison, TX 75020   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Denison
Independence, Missouri
2 reviews
“Not the Best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The hotel was very dirty and there were several items to put on the repair list. The sheets were clean, but very thin and stained. The towels were pencil thin. However, the air conditioner was very cold -almost too cold. The night management people were awesome - very friendly. The hotel is in a good location - right in downtown Denison - just needs some TLC.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
2
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed at the hotel April 8 -10 200 We booked two rooms and the smell in the rooms was horrible, we made a fast trip to walmart for Lysol spray, sheets, towels and air freshner. The mattress and box springs where very old and torn up, wall paper is peeling off the wall. We turned the sheets down in room 104 and there were holes in the sheets, I tried to call the front desk but the phone did not have any buttons or cords. I went to another to call and was told there was not maids on site but they would bring us sheets and we could change them. You can not plug in the mini frige, mircowave and tv at the same time. The pool was dirty and the filter system does not work. I would never tell anyone to stay there. There was a sign that said no refunds. We stayed but used our own sheets, pillows and blankets. This place is horrible.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

The hotel is great and enjoyable. Just need to take care that teens are not exposed to any alcoholic drinks and the premises should have security to avoid any intervention of drugs.

Raj
[-]

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler100001, Owner at Texoma Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
Thanks a lot for your review. Sorry to learn that the former management did not meet your expectations. We are now under new management and are in the process of renovation and upgrade. Most of the works are already done. Addressed all the issues related to any drug and alcoholic drinks in the premises that you noticed. We cleaned up the entire place to make sure that each and every guest that stays with us will has a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler12077
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

we arrived and were at the front desk listening to somebody screaming at the workers about how crappy their motel was. They said they found a condom on the floor by the bed and other disturbing paraphernalia. I went ahead and got a room since i would be drinking and figured i would just check the room before i left. We had sat down our belongings in the corner and everything seemed to be ok, except obvious papper thin patches in the wall, nasty 50 yr old carpet, with a dripping sink and bath tub. Strait out of movie where a junkie would be shooting up. when we arrived back at the room at 4 o'clock in the morning there was an obvious crack head standing out side out door asking for money when we tried to walk in. We finally got inside and tried to lock the door and it would not lock. when we turned around to get ready for bed, our belongings had been shuffled through and some belongings had been put on the night stand and floor. But remember we just put our stuff in the corner and left. When we confronted the front desk a man had come to the room and said you had to have a key to get in and would not refund our money. We assured him that we did not unpack our things since we were in a hurry for the new years party. They door was so loose that someone could easily take a screw driver and pry back on the spring latch. This place is a very unsafe facility and should be closed down immediately I don't even know how this motel can pass city inspection. Even if you do not get robbed you may get sick just from being in these disgusting rooms.
I would advised going ahead and arranging a room at motel six for an extra 20 dollars, its well worth it and much much safer. Whomever wrote the review stating this place is not that bad either works there or is a freaking crack head themselves.

  • Liked — The discusting crackheads outside my front door at 4 in the morning
  • Disliked — Somebody goning through my belonging in my rooms which is supposed to be locked.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

Well, the price was right on this one, only 35 bucs with tax. Pool was closed but it was only april so that was to be expected. Room was clean, not immaculate but hey what you want for 35 bucs, the Ritz?

Probably the most interesting thing was the screaming coming from the room next door. At first i thought someone was being murdered,, then after some carefull listening and some intermittent wall banging my wife and I realized the couple next door were having super knock down drag out sex !

I thought the screamers were only fiction but i was wrong. So i told my wife i didnt know we signed up for the free entertainment too. We went there because the Denision manor nursing home is right up the street where my mother resides.

Other than that, no police, no yelling, no drug dealing,, i understand most of that occurs across the street at the cardinal inn so avoid that for sure.

Though I have decided to upgrade to a nicer place on the next travel, i would advise people to stay here, its not as bad as the other two reviewers made it out to be, unless you think you can stay at a 4 star hotel for a one star motel price, then of course, your outta your mind anyway and probably should just stay home.

  • Liked — close to local nursing home and away from the new hightway
  • Disliked — paper thin walls make for easy listening
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

I urge you to take my advice. Do not stay at Texoma Inn at 1600 S Austin Ave unless you are a drug dealer or consumer, sex offender, wife beater, pediphile, loser, looking for trouble, like dirt and scum (inanimate and animate), enjoy drama that involves authoritative intervention (ie. Police), uncleanliness because they do not clean the rooms everyday, no service, bad parts of town, recent shootings, stupidity, obscene phone calls from people who know your room number, local rape statistics, unfriendly staff who don't appreciate the reporting of obscene phone calls and hang up on you during your report, threatening environments and state "We have thick skin, and don't feel threatened by things like that.", like to live dangerously, etc., etc. etc. Otherwise, it's great! You may just want to consider sleeping in your car or outside.

  • Liked — nothing, but they gave my money back.
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denison
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Texoma Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Denison North
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Denison/Sherman/At Texoma Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Denison
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Texoma Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Texoma Inn

Address: 1600 South Austin Ave., Denison, TX 75020
Location: United States > Texas > Denison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Denison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Texoma Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet, work, swim, play, rest, stay. Affordable rooms, swimming pool, friendly 24 hour staff. Banquet Hall and Conference Rooms available for your celebration, party, meeting or event. Close to historic downtown Denison, TX and beautiful Lake Texoma. Centrally located to North Texas and Southern Oklahoma. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Texoma Hotel Denison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texoma Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.