We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need wi-fi, not here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1709 Highway 287 South, Decatur, TX 76234   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Decatur
Dexter, New Mexico
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“If you need wi-fi, not here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is now an Econolodge. Rooms are nice, rates are reasonable, I stayed 2 doors down from front desk, and wi-fi connection was very poor at best. I own a small business and need the net to get work done. Not here, also, unfortunately, the location doesn't get good cell reception, so I couldn't use my cell as a hot spot. If they had decent wi-fi, I would return, but they don't so I will make other plans next time I am in Decatur.

Room Tip: I stayed on ground floor, no noise, not even from hiway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear William,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We have completely solved the problems fort high speed internet at our hotel and we promise your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.


We very much appreciate and value your feedback. Your survey responses will continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Sincerely,

Peter Patel
GM
EconoLodge
940-627-6919
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
6
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were returning from a mission trip and had children in our church group, including two who were physically challenged and we just needed ONE night of comfort and safety. When we unloaded there was an unsavory character hanging over the balcony, but by the time we got into our rooms and came out, there were eight and a carload of the same circling the parking lot multiple times. Our church kids were intimidated and so were the ladies in our group as the gang of men used the balcony and the stairs as their own private party deck. Since we had only just sat our bags down and had not even used the beds, I went to the front desk and told the lady that I could not take a chance on any of our children being hurt and to please refund our payment for the five rooms. She called the mgr. by phone who said they could not. I explained that as their pastor I knew that the kids had worked for a year to go on this trip and that their parents would hold me responsible for their safety, but to no avail.

Next,we went to the Baymont Inn and could not have been treated better. Billy and Kim gave us great rooms and personal attention to every need of our group.

I contacted Choice Hotels of Comfort Inn at their corporate location and Krista was very understanding. Three days later the manager at Comfort Inn,Decatur, Tx. sent a letter crediting us for a refund on 80% of our payment and apologized. I am sorry that initially money took priority over safety, especially for the children. I don't believe this Comfort Inn is representative of Choice Hotels.

Room Tip: Bring your own form of security and beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here a couple of nights on business. The room was large and bed was comfortable. Very quiet even though on highway. Breakfast had usual selections and was amply supplied Staff was courteous and helpful. I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Parking for your personal vehicle at this motel is limited, risky (door dings) and crowded with muddy, oil field trucks…very hard to get your vehicle in and out of the hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable however prepare to have some road noise from the nearby Hwy. I also did not like the transient oil field workers hanging around outside their doors drinking beer and smoking. I would not take my wife and/or daughter here. The breakfast is not bad for the price. I stayed one night and moved down the road to the HIE…quite rooms and the parking lot is accessible.

Room Tip: Stay away from the hwy end and park early by your down stairs window so you can keep an eye on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Clean and nearly new, this facility provided an excellent place for the night during our long trip home. The bed was very comfortable and everything sparkled.

The management handled a problem with efficiency and care. So many times you feel like a complaint falls on deaf ears. They listened, handled the problem and called us back to report what they had done.

We have been looking for a location in this part of Texas to replace one that has fallen on hard times and was no longer the safe and reasonable place we frequented. We are so pleased to find this oasis for our next trip this way.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Stayed here with a friend that I hadnt seen in a while and had a great stay, the room was extremely nice for the price, great bed, great tv, great location, and for me the smoker found the smoking room extremely good. There are non smoking also, but I enjoyed my stay. The manager Umesh was very accomadting and friendly and he even told me he was legally blind which was kind of interesting. But hey even for a blind guy, this is the place you wanna go to in Decatur

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Cyndee, front desk - was extremely accomodating and friendly - made great suggestions and recommendations for dinner, drinks, for walking and exercise. She was terrific.
Nice clean rooms, all the amenities, continental breakfast fresh and area kept very clean. a good stop.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1709 Highway 287 South, Decatur, TX 76234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO ECONOLODGE INN DECATUR TX Econo Lodge hotel near the Waggoner Mansion Stay minutes from Dallas, Texas at the Decatur Econo Lodge(R) hotel, located off U.S. Highways 287 and 81. We are steps from the Wise County Heritage Museum and the Waggoner Mansion. Area points of interest include: Texas Woman's University Texas motor speedway racetrack University of North Texas Sundance Square Lyndon B. Johnson National Grasslands At the Econo Lodge, youll appreciate access to amenities and features that include: Free hot breakfast Free local calls Pet-friendly hotel; fees apply Seasonal outdoor pool Guest laundry facilities 24 hrs free fax and copy service 24 hr fresh coffee & Tea in lobby Huge parking for semi truk and bus All guest rooms include irons, ironing boards and 32-inch LCD televisions. All rooms also include refrigerators & microwave. This Econo Lodge hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. The perfect location and convenient access to area attractions makes the Econo Lodge hotel a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Decatur area. Book your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.