We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas to your Saves list
Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3015 Oak Lawn Ave., Dallas, TX 75219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 190 Hotels in Dallas
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“a gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

For my first visit to Dallas I stayed at the Warwick Melrose for a few days. The hotel is ideally located to get easily into the city by bus.

I had a room on a high floor with a great view of Oak Lawn Avenue. The room was very comfortable and spacious.

Internet was free in the lobby only. And I am told that to avoid Valet Parking charges, there is limited street parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    124
    39
    22
    6
See reviews for
74
178
45
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, LA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here on business several nights. Room is large with luxury amenities appealing to women: heavy Turkish robes, slippers (amazingly just my size!), dressing table and stool with magnifying mirror, full length mirror inside closet door which provides rear view while seated at dressing table with door open. Two comfy side chairs with an ottoman, lamp and side table perfect for reading while enjoying a nearby beverage. Hotel's Library Bar has a great ambience, nightly piano entertainment and delicious reasonably priced food. Car service is also provided to nearby vicinity. With this much luxury, not surprising that bottled water is $7, limited cable channels, and no complimentary breakfast though coffee is available in lobby. Many varied restaurants nearby and also a Walgreen's all in walking distance. Guest Services was very responsive and provided a wine opener for the $5 bottle I bought at a local Target! No refrigerator but ice bucket made a perfect wine bucket!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Close to all Dallas attractions with a feeling of history brought forward to 2013. From the moment we were greeted by the valet, the weekend never faltered. Great service all around. And genuine, too.

We booked a suite and were delighted with the layout - almost like a small apartment and on the corner with views in two directions. Quiet with comfortable furniture and the hottest hotel shower water I think I have ever encountered - and plentiful, too! The suite had two separate heat/ac units which was also a plus.

A gathering spot for guests and locals at the hotel's bar, The Library, with nightly music, great drinks and nicely urban/upscale.

We'll choose the Melrose again for our next Dallas visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors to avoid the Oak Lawn traffic sounds and corner rooms with extra windows are a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on Sea
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

First point is this hotel is under a flight path which produces a relentless drone of aircraft. The reception staff could not find our booking for the first 10 minutes and then all of a sudden found it, not once did they apologise for thier error. We then had to struggle with our cases to the room. First impressions count and this was a disaster. We used the bar which was nice, the wait staff and bartenders were very friendly and all in all it was a comfortable experience. The reception experience got worse when there appeared a number of charges for wifi on our bill, we were told on check in that this service was free in the room, it appears not! It is free in the lobby. The receptionist told us that we must of misunderstood, after our insistence we had not they removed the charge. All in all this was a poor experience let down by ill-trained reception staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarryRMc, General Manager at Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
All of us at the Warwick Melrose Hotel strive to provide an enjoyable and relaxing experience and we were disapointed to learn that you encountered many shortcomings during your stay. This is certainly not the type of service upon which we base our reputation, and I apologize for any inconvenience or frustration these problems may have caused you. I have discussed your review with our Guest Service Manager to address the issues you note in an effort to prevent them from happening again. We appreciate your business, and hope you will cosider us again when traveling to Dallas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Geat hotel with an interesting history! We stayed in early January 2013. We had two rooms; a 2 queen standard room and a deluxe suite. The suite was marvelous! Gorgeous decor, abundant space and wonderful view/location. Missing one star because of a billing error (which was rectified some time later with my persistance) and do to the the location of the standard room - it had no windows! Well, it did have windows. However, the windows looked out to a patio area which is completely enclosed. Making the guest room appear quite small and desperately dark! Dungeon like really....decor was perfect, room was squeaky clean but dark and drab do to the "lack of windows."

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I write reviews here a lot, so I am happy to reccomend the Melrose Hotel.

I was in town this weekend with my son and stepmom to visit the SMU campus. The check in process was easy and efficent. My neice works there but she was not there when we arrived. We were treated as well as we would have been, if she had been present. Brooke and the other young lady were very professional.
And Leon, our bellman, went out of his way to be helpful, bringing ice to our room, and even offering to go and get us anything we needed at the Walgreen's across the street. There is also a shuttle service to take you where you need to go. Be sure to call early, though because they can get pretty busy at times!

Our rooms were very elegant, quiet, spacious, and had some ameneites not found in places I would normally stay. I loved the nice white robes and writing pens and stationery I found in the room. The vanity with a lighted make up mirror was an extra that I really enjoyed using when getting ready the next day. The beds were very comfortable too, as expected and the linens are top quality.
Thank you so much for the classy surroundings and top notch service! I will stay again.

Room Tip: I like a higher floor, which I didn't request, but we were given. I am not sure it matters thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The understated elegance, the friendly employees providing a high level of service and the top rate entertainment in The Library (a bar to beat all bars) make The Warwick our go-to in Dallas. The price point for parents in town for the weekend wanting to spend time with their children is more than fair and allows a greater budget for Dallas' diverse and wonderful restaurants, including The Landmark.
Our fourth visit this past weekend was consistent and fantastic. The convenience of Walgreen's, Starbucks, Lucky's Cafe for breakfast and the Turtle Creek walking paths—located all within walking distance — is a huge plus —and the drive to SMU is beautiful, winding through Highland Park and University Park.
My husband will be back in April without me. I'm already jealous!

Room Tip: I am fond of the rooms that overlook the Oak Lawn entrance. We always stay in an "11" room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas

Address: 3015 Oak Lawn Ave., Dallas, TX 75219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Dallas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#29 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Melrose Dallas
Warwick Dallas
Dallas Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.