We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand, Old Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Mansion on Turtle Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rosewood Mansion on Turtle Creek to your Saves list
Rosewood Mansion on Turtle Creek
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2821 Turtle Creek Blvd., Dallas, TX 75219   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 190 Hotels in Dallas
Atlanta GA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Grand, Old Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

This hotel DOES NOT need updating! It is wonderful just as it is. I would call it a hotel with a lovely patina.

It is not a new, modern, trendy Four Seasons or Gaylord. It is the MANSION on Turltle Creek. What does that mean to me?

1. Bed Linens are made by Quagliotti and Carmignani of Italy. Not the the cheap "hotel" lines of Sferra Bros and Frette (Made in China) which are so popular today but in no way compares to the aforementioned.

2. Table Linens are also of Carmignani of Italy.

3. The furniture is all customed made by Beverly Furniture of California. Not bought off of the floor in China but handmade in the USA.

4. The fixtures are gold plated and somewhat worn to a very nice patina. They are not cheap stuff in the latest bronze, platinum, etc finishes. They are what a mansion should have: aged gold finish. No flashy chrome anywhere to be found

5. The doors are solid wood and very heavy. Old. Ditto for the vanity. NO shiny black plastic looking finish, just an aged white hand finish.

6. The bathroom is done in marble and not granite. It doesn't have that ultra shiny finish either. The lighting is very pleasant and without all of those super bright LED , HID bulbs all over the celings.

7. In the restaurant, the men dined in suits and ties. Yes, that's right. The men actually worn ties and none of this open collar, caual nonsense so trendy today.

8. The food and service was truly superb. No fancy colored glass dinner plates or weird coffee saucers etc. (You'll have to go to the 4 seasons for that).

9. When you compare the rate here ($425 incl dinner for two) vs. the 4 Seasons at $895 and up (w/o dinner) you realize what a bargain this place really is. The Gaylord out in Grapevine is $395 for crying out loud!.

10. Ben Stein of Business TV fame was being interviewed in the lobby just prior to dinner.

11. The in-room breakfast ($38.00) was beautifully presented and with the french doors open onto the small balcony you realize how special this place is. They forgot the creamer but brought it up promptly

12. The staff is professional, experienced, helpful and friendly. No arrogance, pomposity, etc unless you prefer it.

13. The plumbing has some issues. When the water drained from one sink the opposing sink made a strange sound that was yet familiar. "That's it! That's sound of the bongo drums from I Love Lucy when Desi would be at the Copacabana warming up."

14. You are fool to miss out on the Mansion on Tutle Creek.

14. My wife loved the experience from the time we left our car until we checked out 24 hours later she could have stayed another week simply enjoying the refined and aged elegance.

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    63
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
50
163
23
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

As a Dallas resident, I have always wanted an excuse to stay at this storied hotel in my own home town. Recently -- due to a small home renovation -- I decided to take a small in-town vacation and booked a room at the Mansion on Turtle Creek.

The staff at the Mansion was wonderful -- they anticipated my needs and bent over backwards to be friendly & accommodating. The valet staff in particular deserves kudos for running back and forth for my car in 106 degree Texas heat ! The front desk staff made sure that messages were promptly delivered and were gracious with my frequent service requests.

And therein lies the problem. My service requests were frequent -- almost daily. The safe failed to work after I had placed my items inside. The air conditioning unit made a clicking noise every 20 seconds throughout the evening until the staff finally got it fixed about 8 hours later. The hot water took almost 15 minutes to get to the Texas sized soaking tub. (They told me this was due to the low occupancy in the hotel. Huh?) Each time someone flushed a toilet or took a shower the water pressure would make a rushing noise through the plumbing loud enough to be heard in the main bedroom. I could go on but you get the idea.

The Premier Room that I was assigned (Room 412) had very dated furniture. Not in a good English country house way but in an overused and confused decorator look. I wasn't hoping or looking for over-the-top but neither was I expecting a return to the 1980's. Honestly, I thought perhaps my expectations were too high so I invited a friend to visit my room and give me her opinion. Shocked may be a slight exaggeration...ok, maybe not. Even she noticed that the black and gold bedding was old and the chenille occasional chair was stained and dirty. The parson's chair at the bathroom vanity was so stained that I laid a towel on it before sitting down.

I was sorely disappointed and think most of you reviewers would be better served staying elsewhere -- anywhere else. Sorry Mansion personnel!

  • Liked — Staff was great, location was fabulous
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, dated decor, maintenance issues abound!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

This is a beautiful, elegant, classy hotel. It's not huge and almost gives you the feeling of staying at someone's gorgeous home. The lobby is elegant and there are fresh flower arrangements on almost every surface...including the guest room bathrooms.
The hotel is famous for their service and we were not let down. The valet service was the best we have ever experienced. They were fast, efficient, friendly, and called us by name. The concierge was equally wonderful booking us spa appointments at the neighboring Rosewood Crescent Court. (which was lovely too)
The gym is full of new equipment and stocked with water and fresh fruit. We enjoyed a drink at the hotel bar which had a great bartender who offered us complimentary light snacks with our wine.
Our room was the most basic the hotel offers but still had a small balcony and was decorated in soothing pale peach and rose colors. The shower and towels were wonderful and so was the bed and down comforter.
My husband called and asked for their "complimentary shoe shine" and his shoes were picked up and returned to us polished in under 15 minutes! Like I said...the service was amazing! We will stay here next time we have a reason to come to Dallas... we felt relaxed and pampered the entire time!

  • Liked — The service, the elegant decor, the room service, bed, the check in gift and the gym.
  • Disliked — The TV...it should be upgraded to a flat panel at a 5 star hotel.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

Spending just 1 night in the Mansion exemplified what they call the famous Texan hospitality.

The website looked good but we were still apprehensive. After coming from NYC, Boston & D.C. hotel fees, the $350 a night fee we were paying for the Mansion seemed too cheap. The confirmation email sent was not very professional looking and was delayed, the hotel is not actually at the address stated on the confirmation but on a side street. We drove up and down Turtle Creek & the streets around about 4 or 5 times before having to call the hotel for directions, there is no way you would find this by accident.

However, as soon as we stepped out of the car all that changed.
The decoration throughout the hotel is in grand mansion style, from the huge foyer to the rooms themselves to the restaurant & bar.

The reception were polite, informative and friendly. The concierge himself brought our bags to the room and gave us a run down on all the facilities of Dallas - tailored to our interests. The room was gorgeous and spacious with a beautiful courtyard and a living area almost like a small suite. As soon as we arrived complimentary ice cold drinks and snacks were sent to our room.

The concierge remembered our names and our interests and greeted us every time we went in and out of the hotel. He recommended a place to eat, organised a complimentary car to take us there and back and even the next morning remembered where we had eaten and asked us how it was.

There was a great complimentary breakfast with big servings in a lovely balcony restaurant.

There was also a lovely pool and spa area that was serviced with waiters offering drink service.

The bathroom was large and sparkling with a real bath mat and a separate area for make-up etc.

Housekeeping comes twice a day which means you never run out of towels and the ice bucket is always full. Bottles of water are left in the evening on the bedside table.

I can't fault the Mansion except they really undersold themselves in the first instance. I think the experience was worth much more. You can't get that quality accommodation in Australia even for twice the price.

The location is a great area, we ended up walking back from where we ate dinner (an outdoor mall supposed to appear like a Manhattan street - it doesn't) and that was a pleasant walk along the creek. In the other direction is an entertainment district of restaurants, bars and clubs on Cedar Springs St.

Recommend this spot to anyone visiting Dallas, especially for a first time. There is no other choice.

  • Liked — The personalised first class service
  • Disliked — Difficulty in locating it
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

We've stayed at many hotels over the years, including other Mobil five-star/AAA five-diamond properties, and think this is the best hotel we've ever stayed in. The premises are beautiful, our room was beautiful in a quiet, elegant, comforting way, and the service was attentive and thoughtful without being unctious. Examples: (1) The front desk staff cleared up a slight check-in issue with poise, courtesy, and consideration. (2) The check-in bellman told us the history of the property and a little later slipped under the door a brochure about it; when we went down to eat dinner he walked us over to the restaurant instead of just pointing us in the direction. (3) The housekeeper was somehow able to change towels and do turndown - which included bottles of water with glasses on the nightstands - while we were at dinner, after a "do not disturb" sign had prevented her from doing so earlier. (4) The check-out bellman put chilled bottles of water in our car and wrote out directions to where we needed to go (and it's a nice touch that valet parking doesn't give you a numbered ticket; you just go by your name). (5) As others have written, we were always addressed by name.
As for the restaurant, it may not be five stars, but we had a very good dinner with the freshest and tastiest salad greens we've ever had (some of them grown in the hotel's own garden), and a warm and friendly maitre d' who explained the history and architecture of the restaurant and invited us to wander around the private dining/conference areas nearby. Breakfast the following morning was all it should be, with a choice of fresh squeezed juices and eggs any way you like them with whatever you want in them or with them. Breakfast was included in our rate and we never had to mention that to our waiter, who would not even let us add a tip (apparently that was included too).
All in all, for us there was nothing not to love.

  • Liked — The service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

No strangers to fine hotels, we expected the best upon arrival. Instead, we were told to wait until the check-in staff could help us (one of them was speaking animatedly to a friend). Officious in the extreme. I believe that management doesn't train staff correctly. After the excruciating check-in everything was fine. But what a first impression...!
PS: don't expect wonderful skill the restaurant; either they've gone downhill or they had a "bad patch" in March 2008, the only time out of a dozen that we've had absolutely average cuisine there.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Check-in/front desk
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

The staff went above and beyond to accommodate us during our stay. My wife was 8 months pregnant at the time, plus we had our other 4 children with us. The staff at the front desk was amazing during our entire stay (11 days!). There are some other places I'd like to stay next time, but I most likely will be back here.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosewood Mansion on Turtle Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mansion on Turtle Creek

Address: 2821 Turtle Creek Blvd., Dallas, TX 75219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#4 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#9 Family Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mansion on Turtle Creek 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most celebrated hotel and restaurant in Texas. Personalized service with residential style: geared toward celebrations, leisure travel and business travel. Renowned Mansion Restaurant featuring contemporary American cuisine with modern French influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rosewood Mansion on Turtle Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mansion On Turtle Creek Hotel Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Mansion on Turtle Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.