We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE Hotel; Staff was clueless and apathetic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Dallas

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Dallas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dallas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Reunion Blvd., Dallas, TX 75207 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #28 of 188 hotels in Dallas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AVERAGE Hotel; Staff was clueless and apathetic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

For purposes of full disclosure, I am a Diamond Hyatt member (meaning I have a mimimum of 25 stays at Hyatt's per year). For this visit, which was unfortunately for a family funeral, the dissapointment started before I even left my car.

For starters, the entire valet operation is a complete cluster. We arrived at 2pm on a Friday, and there were thee different lines of cars, each line 6 cars deep, waiting to be valeted. Once we finally reached the unloading area, multiple bellhops and valets were merely standing around joking with each other, completely oblivious to us, our luggage, or our vehicle. Out of frustration after waiting several minutes, we left, went and found our own luggage cart, and loaded our bags ourselves, and subsequently hauled them to our room.

We went to dinner the same night, and returned at 10:30pm...to the same level of vehicles waiting and the same level of apathy. Coincidence?

Checking in, the staff was no different. I even made my frustration apparent but was shrugged off.

25 minutes after arriving in our room, there was a knock on the door and an "engineer" needed to come in a "check the thermostat". Really? Like you didn't know we were coming?

TV remote didn't work, we called down twice, but never received a replacement. Instead we were challenged with the question, "Who did you talk to?".

Food was average at best, but certainly cost above average.

Overall, a complete dissapointment. I won't return.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    358
    181
    62
    42
See reviews for
109
152
63
519
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish Bay, WI
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were here for a wedding (April 19th-21st) centered around this location. While the hotel is huge and was filled to the max, everything was great. Our room in the Skyline section of the hotel was quiet, great view, close to the Fitness Center, and included those motion activated lights mentioned in other reviews...a nice touch! Check in was through the touch screen kiosk, and check out was flawless as well. While I cannot comment on any of the property's restaurants as we did not eat there, the proximity to the West End as well as to all of our wedding venue locations proved that this was an excellent choice for us. One minor note: We did look at the pool and for a hotel of this size, the pool seemed to be an afterthought.

Room Tip: Higher the better in the Skyline section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The north tower is only a 15 story section of the hotel so we were not sure we would like the room because of a lesser veiw. Then we were totally thrilled to find out that this section just reopened and was only a few weeks old! Spectacular rooms with exceptional furnishings and finishes. The overall condition of the facility is also exceptional with a great lobby bar that looks at the 30 story atrium. The "Dash" transportation station is right at the enterance and you can go virtually anywhere around town all day for only $5.

Room Tip: Take the North Tower City View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Was there April 24-26, 2013. Room 0996, one of the skyline rooms. Was told at desk the hotel had been completely renovated. Can't speak to the entire set of rooms, but this room was great. Beautiful and stylish, wonderful lighting including a motion activated night light next to the bed. Window treatments were power operated, a nice touch

Bathroom was wonderfully redone.

Not a single complaint for this room.

Overall a very good experience, although I didn't use any of the amenitities other than the bar.

Room Tip: I have no idea what the rack rate was, but I was part of a group and had an excellent rate. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
500 helpful votes 500 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

So, this is maybe the third Hyatt I have ever stayed in, their network of hotels is just too small so I've tended to stick to Hilton/ Marriott. There was a conference here so I had to book here at the conference rate of $199 per night, which included free wifi in the room and all facilities. All my food was included in my event, so I can't comment on it other than to say there was a coffee place in the lobby that always seemed to have 8-10 people in line.

Good
- Extremely fast and friendly check-in with room requests honored.
- The itself looked brand new and was impeccable cleaned and tidy upon arrival and every subsequent day.
- Free newspaper (WSJ) provided daily AND (it is the small things that the good places get right!) on Sunday when WSJ wasn't published, they provide the local newspaper.
- Large gorgeous windows (of the highway and flat Texas landscape, granted) with double automated blinds (...small quibble, randomly would go up and down once during the night). Really nice working lounge chair up against the window.
- Large flat screen TV with many channels.
- Quality coffee machine and coffee.
- Very nice stand-in shower that was always hot with great pressure.
- Very nice modern bathroom with great upscale toiletries that were replaced daily.
- Comfortable bed and pillows.
- First time I have been really "wowed" by a hotel feature in a LONG time....they had small little motion sensor lights along the floor that would light the path to the bathroom at night if you started going that direction. Brilliant!!
- Quick check-out, easy luggage storage. Never any lines at the front desk (they were probably all stuck in the elevator lines!).

Concern
- Elevators. Really the worst thing of this property. ALWAYS had to queue in line of 5-10 minutes to get up to my room (coming down was strangely never an issue).
- Always seemed to be a back-up to park at this place and parking spots were always hard to come by. It is right under the "golf ball" in downtown D though.

Overall
Really great property and has me rethinking giving Hyatt another shot in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival I had a few minute wait to be checked in. This was reasonable considering the hotel was at capacity. The person checking me in was super friendly and engaged me in conversation and offered suggestions of what to do in Dallas.

The room was average. Beds a not that comfortable. We had a bath to that nada drainage issue that plagued us the whole stay. An inconvenience but you just had to wait 20 minutes after each shower. There was ample desk room. The TV was a bit small for the size of the room. They do have all electronic window treatments which were fun to use. We had a city view room which was nice. The windows are not sealed well enough and lots of the noise from the trains going by filter into the room.

Room service was prompt. Food was average. The Centenial restaurant had a nice breakfast selection. The only complaint I had was that the toasters took nearly 15 minutes to toast two pieces of bread. Service was friendly.

There is a FedEx Office on site with reasonable hours. They turned around a project for me very quickly.

It was nearly impossible to find the elevator to the Wolfgang Puck restaurant in Runion Tower. We were foiled for three days in figuring it out. We finally asked someone who knew. Definitely need much better signage to direct traffic.

The Hyatt Regency is located on the DART light rail system. This makes it extremely convenient to get around town. It costs only $5 per day for a ticket. You access the system through a tunnel in the hotel. It is also within 10 minutes, by foot, to shopping and restaurants.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a business conference in April 2013. To start it is a huge property, so there are innately pluses and minuses that go with that size. Pluses include plenty of amenities and services available on property from a Fed Ex Office and good sized fitness center to multiple dining options. On the downside, harder to keep up with the details expected of a property that ranks itself as "top of class;" such as the issues I had in my room from a broken hair dryer to an entire section of my room's electric not working, to consistency of newspaper delivery (supposed to get it every day in a 6-day stay, got a total of 3 papers - 50% success rate). The other MAJOR issue I had with my stay was the teen girl volleyball tournament also at the property during my stay. So, one of the advantages of a large property (having run one with over 1500 rooms I know of what I speak) is you SHOULD be able to put groups somewhat together within the hotel. Guess what, this was not the case for the multiple groups at the hotel during my stay. So, those of us there for business had "the pleasure" of dealing with noisy teens at all hours of the day and night. I realize how exciting it was for them, but as I had early and long days, the perpetual noise issues (from hallway gatherings at all hours, to door slamming as they gathered in rooms, etc.) not great for the "tranquility" that this Hyatt guarantees. On a positive note, the staff I did encounter were always very polite and kind. Finally, who designed the room set up? The coffee "fixings" and pot are hidden and in a little alcove and in order to use them you have to move them all the way across the desk/bureau set up as no plugs near where they are "stored." As to decor, I have to say it distinctly reminds me of Aloft or Element properties and I don't mean that as a compliment. So, while my stay was fine, for the price, I'll find something else next time I'm in Dallas.

Room Tip: Two distinct sections that aren't joined, so if going with multiple people make sure you request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dallas

Address: 300 Reunion Blvd., Dallas, TX 75207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Dallas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#19 Business Hotel in Dallas
#32 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Dallas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Dallas at Reunion is located adjacent to the downtown historic district and is connected to landmark Reunion Tower and historic Union Station. The hotel has 1,120 guest rooms, 42 suites, an outdoor pool and newly renovated Hyatt StayFit Gym. Conveniently located near the Convention Center, West End Entertainment District, American Airlines Center, business, sports, cultural and shopping areas. The hotel also has the longest running AAA four-diamond distinction among convention hotels in downtown Dallas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Tingo and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dallas Hotel Dallas
Dallas Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.