We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good rates, and good location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75202 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #83 of 190 Hotels in Dallas
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Good rates, and good location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here in April of 2014 for a concert. We needed a hotel close to our venue which was located just down the road so very convenient. This hotel is located in the heart of downtown just a few blocks from the Texas School Book Depository building, and just a few blocks from the greyhound bus stop in downtown. The hotel itself on the outside is a little dated but upon entry you will notice the wonderful change. Our check-in was quick and easy ( We asked to check in early due to arriving in Dallas a bit early, the front desk clerk was more than willing to work with us.) Upon entering our room we noticed it was a bit stuffy, but paid no attention as most hotel rooms are like this. The room was clean we had a nice view, beds were comfy and bathroom was clean. Overall a good hotel with good rates in a good location!

Some Advice!
-Take advantage of the pool at the hotel, located on the 9th floor provides a beautiful view of downtown.
-Parking garage located next to the hotel, will run you $8 a night.
-There is a nightclub located on the first floor of the hotel, didn't notice much life at night club though.
- There is a chipole and a wonderful bbq restaurant located just a few blocks west of the hotel. I believe the bbq restaurant is called Sonny Bryans. The food was good and had outside seating. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pick a room on one of the upper floors. Preferably to the west, provides a great view of the city at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
It sounds like you really took advantage of all that we and our fair city have to offer, and we're so happy to hear it! We're sure your fellow reviewers will much appreciate all your great tips about our amenities and the surrounding area. Will you be back in our neck of the woods anytime soon? We'd welcome the opportunity to host you again!

Cheers,
Armando, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    161
    123
    64
    68
See reviews for
84
108
65
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It's located in the heart of the West end of downtown Dallas within walking distance from shops and restaurants but the walk to those shops and restaurants is a little dodgy, especially at night. It's next to a bus depot and there are very unsavory people hanging about. There is a lot of police presence and safety patrols but that doesn't stop the vagrants from asking for money, cigarettes, etc. I wouldn't recommend walking around past 8:30pm. The hotel itself is an average mid level hotel. If you're used to staying at a La Quinta, Super 8, Motel 6 etc. you would consider it very nice. If you're used to Marriott, Hilton or Hyatt's you woul consider it average. Clean rooms, good service and at a mid level price. The restaurant/bar turns into a night club at 10pm on weekends with a cover charge even for hotel guests unless you get in before the transformation from dining room to night club. At the end of the evening, somewhere around 3am you can hear the club goers leaving. I was on the 10th floor and was awaken by the noise. There were sliding glass doors with a balcony but the doors were sealed off. They need to doors to windows that are more noise proof. The breakfast buffet is average and if I were traveling for personal I would not spend the $10.95 that they are asking. The bar/restaurant is also average. Venture out to local restaurants.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 10th floor and on a corner. I could hear the street noise throughout the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for this incredibly informative review, Lori! I'm sure your fellow reviewers will much appreciate all your great tips. So sorry about the noise issues with your room, though! Next time, please don't hesitate to let us know and we'll happily see what we can do to remedy the situation. Hopefully you got the chance to explore Dallas a bit while you were here -- there's so much to do and see!

Take care,
Armando, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed here with my daughter and her friend and we were very impressed with the quality of service we received. Everyone was very helpful and polite but in particular David (bellboy) went above and beyond. He was extremely attentive to my daughter that wasn't feeling well. He gave us very good recommendations and even told us about a hotel shuttle being able to take us to the restaurant. He even made sure that we made it back from the hotel safely. David really made our experience that much better. This hotel I would highly recommend to anyone, the location is great and the service is excellent. The rooms were very clean, nice views and perfect location.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
What a lovely review, K! We're sorry to hear that your daughter was feeling under the weather, but we're so glad that David could help make your experience great nonetheless. Hopefully you two got to experience the best of Dallas while you were here! Thank you for the kind words and we'll see you the next time you're in our neck of the woods!

Cheers,
Armando, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is the third time my girlfriend and I stayed there in the last 2 months. The location is great and the prices very reasonable. We will be back!

Stacey at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. They give you a welcome gift that has a generous amount of a nice relaxing fragrance and something called "Ahaa" for your feet and some kind of lotion. That's one reason we come back to The Crowne Plaza Downtown Dallas.

We would recommend going to Reunion Tower close by. You can see the whole city while eating lunch as it slowly revolves. Very Nice!

Room Tip: Ask to see them if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Wow, Patrick! Sounds like you two have been doing a lot of adventuring in Downtown Dallas! So glad we can offer up a great home base for you to come back to in the evenings. I appreciate you taking the time to give Stacey a shout out here! I'll definitely let her know what a difference she has made in your visits. Hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Armando, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We were very pleased with the Crowne Plaza. We stayed for a bachelorette party and asked for rooms close to the pool. I have never encountered a nicer or more helpful staff. We will definately be returning to Dallas and staying here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
So happy we were able to help make your celebration a hit, Tracy! I'll be sure to pass your kind words along to my team -- they'll be thrilled to know they've made such a difference. Will you be headed back to Dallas anytime soon? We'd love the opportunity to host you again!
Cheers,
Armando, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I'm from Dallas and we usually stay with family when we visit. Not anymore! We stayed at the hotel during 4th of July and it was great. The staff was so polite and the housekeeping service and room service were the best I've ever seen. We had the best time and it didn't cost a fortune. It was convenient, safe &
affordable

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
There's just nothing like coming home and visiting family, is there? So happy we can offer up a convenient, affordable place for you to stay when you're visiting! We have a pretty great team on board here, and your kind words will be music to their ears. Thanks for the review and we'll look forward to seeing you next time!

Cheers,
Armando, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel. From the moment you enter from the craziness of downtown you feel relaxed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was nice, new looking, clean and priced just right $99. We were in the perfect location. At the start of the West End and close to the DART station to get around town easily. The pool was pretty quiet (and they could use a bar up there), but it was ok to cool off. I would defintely go there again! It was a blast.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Happy to hear we were able to make your time in Dallas such a hit, Becky! We're always looking for ways to better your experience, so we appreciate the feedback about the bar at the pool! That would be pretty nice, wouldn't it? Thanks for the good word and we'll see you next time!

Cheers,
Armando, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown

Address: 1015 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of downtown, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Dallas - Downtown provides travelers a home base with a short walk to the Dallas Convention Center and just six miles from Love Field Airport. Contemporary decor, elegant furnishings and signature Crowne Plaza® amenities provide a haven for business and leisure guests alike.Corporate and professional travelers enjoy easy access to the West End, Bank of America Plaza, Uptown McKinney Avenue, Renaissance Tower and Earl Cabell Federal Building. 30,000 sq. ft. of meeting space for up to 600, and perks such as a Crowne Meetings Director, a two-hour RFP response and a Daily Meeting Debrief. Our facility is certainly "The Place to Meet" among hotels in downtown Dallas, Texas and a great place to host a wedding, banquet or reception.Leisure guests also appreciate our hotel's convenient downtown locale. Dallas attractions, such as the West End district, American Airlines Center and the House of Blues, are less than a mile away, so you can easily walk to some of the major Dallas destinations.The Crowne Plaza® hotel Dallas - Downtown meets the needs of our guests with quality amenities, including 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers, an outdoor pool and our THRIVE Restaurant & Nightclub. Take advantage of the complimentary shuttle and sleep well with Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas West End Hotel
West End Hotel Dallas
West End Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.