We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly, helpful staff, but some issues with the room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75202 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #83 of 189 Hotels in Dallas
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Really friendly, helpful staff, but some issues with the room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The tub drained so slowly I showered in standing water. The bathroom in general could use a good scrubbing. The room was fine--I appreciated the large refrigerator and microwave. I had a complicated bill and the front desk staff--Kandy in particular--was helpful in figuring it all out. The bell captain was slow and hard to reach. The restaurant was more charming than expected, prices were reasonable, and waitstaff excellent, especially Angel. Location is great. I arrived 4 hours early and was let immediately into my room. The front desk staff was especially accomodating and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanna P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear JWat227
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza and thank you for your time and great review. We always appreciate constructive feedback and will use it to better our hotel and guest's experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon!
Thank you!
Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    161
    123
    64
    68
See reviews for
83
108
65
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is the first time that I actually doubt the truthfulness of other Trip Advisor reviews. I honestly don't understand how anyone could recommend this hotel. It is rundown. smelly and not very clean. The staff is very nice, that's true, but everything else is pretty much awful. My room wasn't moldy but did have an odd smell reminiscent of cat urine. I couldn't open my window so was forced to use the air conditioning, which was so loud that every time it kicked on during the night I woke up. The furniture was old and worn, and my bathtub drained so slowly that by the time I finished a shower there were six inches of water standing in the tub. I was here for a conference and any colleagues who could find accommodation elsewhere checked out immediately. I really wonder if the the fabulous reviews by others are actually true, or if for some reason I (and my colleagues, at least twelve other people) had the only nasty rooms in this hotel.

I have stayed at other Crowne Plaza hotels before, so was expecting a decent place. I was disappointed. This place is gross. Don't stay here. Plus the neighborhood is seriously dodgy.

Room Tip: Find another hotel. That is my only advice to you regarding rooms at this Crowne Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear FrancesAmbler,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding cleanliness and the air conditioning. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was in Dallas for a wedding. When I arrived at the hotel my room was not ready since I was early. I told Donna I needed to get ready for a wedding and that was why I was trying to check in early. She was very sympethetic and showed me where the meeting rooms were in the Plaza area. She said if I needed to change use the restroom downstairs since the meeting rooms were not being used and I could have some privacy. It was very nice not to have to change in a stall since I am a good sized man. After I changed I took Donna my bag and she checked it in for me. Then she asked about the wedding. I told her it was a few miles away and she asked if I needed a cab. I told her I was just going to walk. She said "It is hot outside and I would hate for you to show up to the wedding hot and sweaty, please allow me to get our shuttle driver to take you". I agreed and she did. She was so nice and really went out of her way to make me feel like a valued customer. I will definitely be back to this hotel and I hope she is still working here when I return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanna P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear M H
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to leave a review. I know Donna will be pleased to hear she made a great difference in your stay. I'm glad to hear your trip to Dallas was a success and we hope you'll come back to visit soon!
Sincerely,
Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Wow. Usually a big fan of the chain. Not this particular branch.

Gross, with mold smell wafting up from all floors.

I was there with 2 colleagues in 3 separate rooms. Corporate TA booked.

I personally rebooked elsewhere after first night. My 2 colleagues stayed for 3 days and had to throw away much of their clothing upon their return home.

Just awful. Usually such a reliable brand.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanna P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Josh R
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you left us early and that you were uncomfortable. I would like to speak with you directly if possible in order to hear more details of your stay. You may call me direct at the hotel main line. Thank you again for the feeback and we hope to use your review to improve our hotel.
Kind Regards,
Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Things are truly bigger and better in Texas!! My husband and I visited the Crown Plaza in Dallas and it was wonderful!! The front desk check in was friendly and very helpful. They knew all the best restaurants and we took them up on their recommendations. We will surely return in the near future and recomment this hotel to our friends and family

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanna P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Candy D
Thank you for the kind words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Sincerely,
Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I had an absolutely amazing time during my stay here fine the moment Jaclyn checked me in and was more then helpful going above and beyond her call of duty to make sure my stay was completely comfortable until I checked out couldn't have asked for a better view nicer accommodations or friendlier staff ill definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanna P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear ecko13
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Downtown and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I know Jaclyn will be thrilled to hear she made your stay an enjoyable one!
Have a great day!
Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I can't begin to tell you what a great hotel the Crowne Plaza in downtown Dallas was! The customer service was fantastic, helpful, and very knowledgeable! I have to give a special thanks to the ladies at the desk, Ingrid Dionisio and Katerina, they were so friendly and made me decide that any future trips I will stay at the Crowne Plaza! Thank you so much for the excellent hospitality!

Room Tip: Stayed on the 12th floor and had absolutely no complaints, only a great stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanna P, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear dcwtravels
Thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time to give us your feedback! I appreciate your kind words about the staff and their hard work. They will be pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back and visit soon!
Sincerely,
Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown

Address: 1015 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of downtown, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Dallas - Downtown provides travelers a home base with a short walk to the Dallas Convention Center and just six miles from Love Field Airport. Contemporary decor, elegant furnishings and signature Crowne Plaza® amenities provide a haven for business and leisure guests alike.Corporate and professional travelers enjoy easy access to the West End, Bank of America Plaza, Uptown McKinney Avenue, Renaissance Tower and Earl Cabell Federal Building. 30,000 sq. ft. of meeting space for up to 600, and perks such as a Crowne Meetings Director, a two-hour RFP response and a Daily Meeting Debrief. Our facility is certainly "The Place to Meet" among hotels in downtown Dallas, Texas and a great place to host a wedding, banquet or reception.Leisure guests also appreciate our hotel's convenient downtown locale. Dallas attractions, such as the West End district, American Airlines Center and the House of Blues, are less than a mile away, so you can easily walk to some of the major Dallas destinations.The Crowne Plaza® hotel Dallas - Downtown meets the needs of our guests with quality amenities, including 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers, an outdoor pool and our THRIVE Restaurant & Nightclub. Take advantage of the complimentary shuttle and sleep well with Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas West End Hotel
West End Hotel Dallas
West End Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.