We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room service is too expensive, but front desk staff very nice.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75202 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #83 of 190 Hotels in Dallas
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Room service is too expensive, but front desk staff very nice.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

They charge WAY too much for their room service food menu items!!! I had a fleeting thought of ordering something on my last night there, but Noooooooooo way! And, to charge $10.95 for a buffet breakfast of the usual breakfast items? Really? I would understand if it had breakfast steaks and other not-so-common items, but it had just bacon, eggs, juices, milk, cereal, danish, biscuits...

I like that they are very Eco-conscious about not wasting water on linens if the same people were going to occupy the one room for more than 1 consecutive day.

I stayed from Friday afternoon to Sunday morning, with my oldest son...we attended an anime convention that was located at a convention center nearby. Joseph B. was very helpful whenever he was on duty behind the front desk. :-)

But, for the price of the room on a weekend in downtown Dallas, I would think it would be cheaper......but that's just me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    161
    123
    64
    68
See reviews for
85
108
65
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

For the price, I expected a much nicer facility. The rooms were clean but old and smelled old. Musky. We had the "privacy" sign on the door but housekeeping came in anyway and then left the door out of the latch. Thankfully we were at end of hall and no one walked by. Only place to park is in the garage attached to the hotel, that the hotel will charge you $12 a night to park and then let the patrons to their night club park in free. But when those same patrons crash into your car they claim they have nothing to do with the parking garage, that it is run by a separate company. No cameras in the garage. Also if you stay here watch your CC bill as they will bill you for additional rooms. I have gotten much better service at a cheaper hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Nerak-kc,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have just stayed 3 nights here on my first trip to Dallas. The room I had was fine, on 19th floor so had a good view. The pool area was also a bonus. Good walking distance to everywhere in the city although I found the area a little seedy & didn't feel comfortable walking around at night by myself. The staff were all very helpful & polite & if I were to return to Dallas, would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Check-in/out was friendly. The rooms are dated but in acceptable condition, the hallways even more dated and needs work. I was on the higher floors so the view was great. The price was comparable to the other hotels in the area, but at least you'll get better service at the Crowne Plaza. The only aspect that stood out was that the the toilet struggled at times to flush. A one or two night stay is ok, anything more and I would go with another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear bryli,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We are pleased you liked your room accommodations as well as our friendly staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry for any problems you experienced with the bathroom facilities in your room. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Over priced for the poorness of the rooms, no discount on parking for guests.
We ordered room service and while I was signing the check she belched in my face... With no apologies.
We had a do not disturb sign on our door and housekeeping came in anyway!
We booked for 4 nights, had to leave a day early for an emergency back home so the first person I talked to said that was fine since we were out by 9:00am, but the front desk manager charged us for the additional night anyway!
I would NEVER stay here again, one of the worst hotels I have ever been in, I was expecting decent since I am paying $120 a night but this hotel had no class.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Johnson54k,

Thank you for leaving a review. I am deeply sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. This is not the type of service you should expect from our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We take all comments seriously and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is any thing we can do to make your next stay more comfortable. Please do not hesitate to ask.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Awesome hotel and awesome Service. Joseph B. was very helpful in suggesting a place to eat and we were very pleased!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

You couldn't get a better level of service from a much more expensive destination than this central Dallas hotel. I really could not fault any detail of the service at all. Also the quality of the food, beverage and regular services was very high indeed. On that basis alone, this is a 5 rating.

However, the location and the impression one gets checking in to a tired lobby, with dubious styling and outdated decor, is frankly underwhelming. The decor throughout is dated and well overdue a refit, and while it is not dirty, there are threadbare carpets, outmoded styling and a curious layout that just isn't near enough what other brands are offering. This seems unique to this Crowne Plaza, however.

So while there's nothing wrong with the hotel it just doesn't look much good, and impressions do count in business.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear desmeister,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meals at our restaurant and the hotel staff services during your stay with us. We are sorry you were not 100% satisfied with the the hotel decor. I truly value your comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown

Address: 1015 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of downtown, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Dallas - Downtown provides travelers a home base with a short walk to the Dallas Convention Center and just six miles from Love Field Airport. Contemporary decor, elegant furnishings and signature Crowne Plaza® amenities provide a haven for business and leisure guests alike.Corporate and professional travelers enjoy easy access to the West End, Bank of America Plaza, Uptown McKinney Avenue, Renaissance Tower and Earl Cabell Federal Building. 30,000 sq. ft. of meeting space for up to 600, and perks such as a Crowne Meetings Director, a two-hour RFP response and a Daily Meeting Debrief. Our facility is certainly "The Place to Meet" among hotels in downtown Dallas, Texas and a great place to host a wedding, banquet or reception.Leisure guests also appreciate our hotel's convenient downtown locale. Dallas attractions, such as the West End district, American Airlines Center and the House of Blues, are less than a mile away, so you can easily walk to some of the major Dallas destinations.The Crowne Plaza® hotel Dallas - Downtown meets the needs of our guests with quality amenities, including 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers, an outdoor pool and our THRIVE Restaurant & Nightclub. Take advantage of the complimentary shuttle and sleep well with Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas West End Hotel
West End Hotel Dallas
West End Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.