We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75202 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #83 of 189 Hotels in Dallas
Sheffield,UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Brilliant Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel twice in September and found it excellent both times. The recpetion staff were very friendly and most helpful with directions. The cleaning staff were really nice and the rooms exceptionally clean. The bar area is good and the staff efficient. The restaurant staff were also good. The only thing I would have liked is a change of the menu. There wasn't much choice and as we ate in every night, and me not eating meat, I occasionally had to duplicate my choice. The food was very good but the portions were huge. We could only ever eat about half of the amount, even though we'd asked for smaller portions. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice. Brilliant rooftop pool, if a little cold! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The first time we had room 1409 which was great. Everything worked OK. Air con was good. Pillows not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    160
    123
    64
    68
See reviews for
82
108
65
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel a few months ago. The staff was friendly and the service was acceptable. I can tell they have put at least some effort into updating the lobby and main floor facilities of what is obviously an older building. However, I did not feel that the rooms were clean. They were dank and dark to say the least. The housekeeping staff left a rag, which had obviously been used to clean every dirt toilet on the whole floor, on top of my makeup bag. I typically stay at very modestly priced hotels, many of which cost less than this one, and I can honestly say this is the second or third most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in. I also found a bug of some sort crawling on me when I returned home. I realized only recently after seeing a special on tv, that it may have been a bed bug, which is why I am just now writing a review. Luckily, I stored my luggage in the basement and haven't touched it since, and I washed my clothes immediately, so it hasn't turned into problem, but I shutter at the thought of what could have happened, especially considering my ignorance of what bed bugs look like. Now I know and I'll not take a risk like this again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I booked this hotel after reading the many favorable reviews. We were not disappointed at all. Check in was quick and friendly. Our requested non smoking room was granted. It was on the 14th floor which is designated as a non smoking floor. Initially had problems with the room wifi but eventually got thru. Very convenient.
The downtown location was nice but it is obvious that this property had seen better days. Inspire of this handicap, the rooms are cleaned so well and the amenities, towels, and the beddings were all excellent.
The breakfast buffet was good.
Will recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Crown Plaza Downtown Dallas is convenient for the business traveler who won't put a lot of emphasis on the decor or charmed. I stayed 6 nights at the hotel and was somewhat disappointed with the decor and the maintenance. The hotel needs to be upgraded and needs more action in the hotel...toooooo quiet and deserted for my taste. The room had a wet cRpet when I walked in...to tire to change to another room. The room was ok but had a noisy fridge. It was nice to have a microwave and coffee maker but no coffee available. You must have your hotel key in order to get on the elevator which I thought it was a good security feature but then it made me wonder of the surroundings.there are plenty of fast food restaurants except on sunday where everything is close. The hotel offers a wonderful buffet I truly re omens it. Gym equipment needs updating like the rest of the hotel. Staff is super nice but location is questionable. It's approximate 50 follRs taxi ride from dew airport but shuttle is less. It's 17 to retune from hotel to airport using super shuttle service...overall...hotel needs. Little tlc.

Room Tip: Even number rooms don't get direct sunlight in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
lulys67,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory and regret any inconvenience that your experience has caused you.
We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltillo, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I was received by a welcomy staff, the room had great view and it was all i asked for. What amazed me was that i went out for a walk and when i got back, two cold beers and a dessert were waiting for me at my room, now that's what i call a pleasant surprise. I chose Crowne Plaza because they really add that extra when it comes to the sleeping experience, the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage.

Room Tip: Be a Priority Club member, they really add an extra effort for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I spent 12 long day here while representing clients in a trial at the courthouse across the street. the location was extremely convenient and the amenities were all a stressed lawyer could hope for while living out of a hotel room while in trial.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Enjoyed my 1 night stay. They allowed me to early checkin and then provided a Priority Member gift and breakfast coupon. Ingrid, the receptionist, was very cordial and nice. We definitely come back for another stay. Bary

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown

Address: 1015 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of downtown, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Dallas - Downtown provides travelers a home base with a short walk to the Dallas Convention Center and just six miles from Love Field Airport. Contemporary decor, elegant furnishings and signature Crowne Plaza® amenities provide a haven for business and leisure guests alike.Corporate and professional travelers enjoy easy access to the West End, Bank of America Plaza, Uptown McKinney Avenue, Renaissance Tower and Earl Cabell Federal Building. 30,000 sq. ft. of meeting space for up to 600, and perks such as a Crowne Meetings Director, a two-hour RFP response and a Daily Meeting Debrief. Our facility is certainly "The Place to Meet" among hotels in downtown Dallas, Texas and a great place to host a wedding, banquet or reception.Leisure guests also appreciate our hotel's convenient downtown locale. Dallas attractions, such as the West End district, American Airlines Center and the House of Blues, are less than a mile away, so you can easily walk to some of the major Dallas destinations.The Crowne Plaza® hotel Dallas - Downtown meets the needs of our guests with quality amenities, including 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers, an outdoor pool and our THRIVE Restaurant & Nightclub. Take advantage of the complimentary shuttle and sleep well with Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas West End Hotel
West End Hotel Dallas
West End Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.