We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wyndham consistently dependable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria to your Saves list
Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4801 Lyndon B. Johnson Freeway, Dallas, TX 75244 (Formerly Sheraton Dallas North Hotel by the Galleria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Wyndham consistently dependable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

I have yet to be disappointed with a stay at a Wyndham, and my recent stay at the Wyndham Dallas North by the Galleria is no exception.

I experienced a smooth and pleasant check-in, clean and spacious room, convenient and reasonably priced restaurant (I highly recommend the breakfast buffet!), and easy express check-out. The only thing I noticed that was missing (although not really a problem for me) was that there was no bellman at the door when I arrived.

The Galleria shopping center is a 5 minute drive (the hotel offers a shuttle). The location next to LBJ Freeway (I-635) was a concern at first, but I found it to be easy to get around, and I didn't hear ANY traffic in my room that faced the freeway.

One big tip: If you choose to make a reservation here, be sure to sign up for the Wyndham ByRequest program beforehand. You can do it online, it's free, and I haven't found any catches so far. The membership gives you. among other things, free highspeed internet access and free local AND long-distance phone calls (yes, free long-distance). And they give you a welcome snack, which you get to choose! It takes effect immediately (you don't have to earn any number of points before the benefits start)...It's unlike any other frequent-stay hotel I know of.

I highly recommend the Wyndham Dallas North by the Galleria.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    166
    73
    26
    14
See reviews for
82
79
40
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2006

I was passing through Dallas on the way to Houston and pre-booked the Wyndham Hotel. It is a business class hotel with budget deals.
The rooms were very comfortable and the traffic noise was barely noticeable. The fittings were in good order and clean. The staff were attentive and cheerful. Overall a great place to stay at the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2006

I stayed here for one night on January 25th, 2006 and it was quite simply the worst hotel experience that I have ever had. I travel for business domestically nearly 100 days a year and need to come to Dallas the night before for meetings the next morning.

I searched the hotels.com for a hotel of at least 3-stars which could guarantee me a non-smoking room and was able to reserve this Wyndham by the Galleria.

When I arrived at 9 pm, they simply booked me into a room on the third floor and when I got the floor it reeked of stale cigarettes. When I opened the room door I was just about bowled over. It smelled like lung cancer. You would shake the bed cover and pillow and small ashes could be seen flying off into the air.

I went back downstairs and asked at the front desk that they switch me to a non-smoking room and they said that they had none. I said "how is that possible as I reserved and PREPAID for a non-smoking room?" and they smirked (seriously) and said "read the fine print - we give you the best room that is available considering your request - and there are no non-smoking rooms available".

I went back to the room quite upset and thought well then maybe I can just open the window for fresh air. THE WINDOWS DO NOT OPEN! How crazy is that - hundreds of smokers in this room and no ventilation - not even a fan to the outside? I tried to turn on the AC/Heater for fresh air and all it did was stir up the ashes in the room.

Bottom line, if you smoke and like hanging out in a stale-smoke room, and like surly management, this is the place for you. Otherwise I strongly recommend that you avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2005

Stayed one night on a business trip. Room was clean, bed comfortable. Lunch in their restaurant was good and service was fast when I said I was in a hurry. Area around the hotel is not too exciting - not many restaurants and you are right by I-635. But no problems with traffic noise - my room overlooked highway but I didn't hear it. Air conditioner was an annoyance - in-room unit which cycled on and off during the night. Front desk staff not very helpful with local knowledge. I asked for somewhere to go running and they sent me to a non-existent jogging trail. Also the pool is a lot smaller than it looks on their website (but isn't that always the case) Overall, I have no major complaints, though - this hotel gets the basics right, but that's about it.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2005

Stayed at the Wyndham Dallas North by the Galleria for a business meeting. The facility is very nice -- the overnight rooms were good sized, very clean and well maintained. Extra pillows and blankets in the room, and super air conditioning.

The bathroom soaps and shampoos were lovely to use, scented with lemongrass.

Room service was fast. The food was fresh but not fantastic. Had an interesting salad with about 1/3 pound of blue cheese and a good balsamic vinagrette. Their breakfast buffet was fairly standard: a nice muesli with raisins, fresh fruit, dry cereal, eggs, biscuits and gravy. Better than average, but not amazing food. There is a coffee maker in the room.

There was a $10.95 added charge for a high speed internet connection in the room. Their service staff was very helpful getting equipment set up in our meeting rooms.

The location is very near the Galleria - an upscale shopping mall.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2005

great hotel! great value! friendly staff, very accomodating. room service food was good and prompt. my filet came in 30 minutes and cooked perfectly. bed was comfortable, feather pillows. rooms spacious.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2005

Stayed here for 5 nights... as part of the Wyndham ByRequest program, I got a nice plate of 3 fresh baked cookies, bottled water and a can of coke upon entering my room. Complimentary wireless internet via the program which was great....reliable and fast! Bed was comfortable as was the spacious rooms. Only drawback was how often the a/c unit kept on turning on / off. Location near Dallas Galleria is a definite plus... tried the breakfast buffet and it was average. Coworker had room service and was pleased with service and food. Overall, I'd recommend staying at this hotel in North Dallas. Would have loved to see a self-service laundry machine. Also, nice swimming pool area that opens outside/inside, with sauna and health club, which was average.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria

Address: 4801 Lyndon B. Johnson Freeway, Dallas, TX 75244 (Formerly Sheraton Dallas North Hotel by the Galleria)
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Dallas
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#37 Family Hotel in Dallas
#39 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refreshed after an extensive $17 million renovation, The Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria offers a contemporary space with upgraded amenities and a welcoming design. Located three blocks away from the Galleria Mall, our hotel is surrounded by more than 200 Fortune 500 companies in the heart of the North Dallas business corridor.Warm and comfortable, our guest rooms will make business and leisure travelers feel right at home. Great standard amenities such as High Speed Internet Access, a working desk, and an ergonomic chair will keep you connected to what’s important.After a busy day, you can relieve your stresses with a little exercise or relaxation in the state-of-the-art fitness center and outdoor pool. Or if you’d prefer to explore the city, we offer complimentary transportation to and from nearby locations—including the Galleria Mall, where you’ll find Macy’s, Saks Fifth Avenue, Nordstrom’s, and over 400 specialty shops and boutiques, as well as an indoor skating rink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.