We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Interesting And Very Quirky Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1933 Main St., Dallas, TX 75201 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #63 of 188 Hotels in Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Interesting And Very Quirky Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Indigo in downtown Dallas several times since abandoning their sister hotel, the Crowne Plaza, due to issues with noise and old rooms. Thankfully Hotel Indigo is better on both points but there are still some quirks with this hotel that have me exploring other properties in the area.

The hotel has a very bright and updated feel, which contrasts with the fact that it's housed in a pre-war building. This is due to the fact that the floors are hardwood (real in the lobby, imitation in the rooms) and the color palette is generally white, bright blue and yellow. Some think that the colors are out of place in a non-beach hotel but I think it makes the place feel very inviting.

The rooms are interesting due to the pergo flooring (much cleaner than carpet) and the design that includes large images on the wall behind the bed. Regarding the images I have been in rooms with backgrounds of mussels and a blue wool sweater. Views from the rooms vary and it makes a big difference if your room is facing the interior courtyard. If that's the case you get: a) less natural light; and b) much less privacy. So if you like light and privacy do request an exterior facing room. In addition to standard rooms they also have 1-bedroom suites that I have stayed in. You get a bit (but not that much) more room in the 1-bedrooms. I can see these being helpful for families but as a business traveler it's definitely not necessary to pay extra for the suite.

The most curious aspect of the rooms is the bathroom/closet area, which is essentially two rooms. First you walk into a room with a sink (small vanity) and the "closet" area. Closet is in quotes because it's actually a nook with a curtain. The second interior room contains the toilet and a walk-in shower. I haven't stayed in a room that has a tub so I can't say if that option is available. The showers have worked fine but I don't find them very inviting because the room is pretty cramped and there's a curtain instead of a door on the shower. For some reason a door on a walk-in shower seems more proper to me.

On the ground floor, adjacent to the lobby area there is a restaurant/bar that seems like an afterthought to me. The bar closes early and it feels like a spot where you wouldn't want to
order anything more than a glass of wine or a beer. I have patronized the restaurant for breakfast but have found the menu to be limited and the service slow. So I usually count on eating outside of the hotel each morning.

The neighborhood around the hotel is a pretty good one, but it is on the edge of things. There's a park across the street, and there are several bars and restaurants starting one block away on Main St. The hotel offers a free shuttle to give you a lift a bit further afield but I have never used it.

Given the moderate price of this hotel compared to others in the area I think that some of the quirks (interior rooms, weird bath setup, limited restaurant/bar, etc.) are forgivable. If you are looking for a more full service experience (at higher prices of course) and a more central downtown location then this probably isn't the place for you. If those things aren't the biggest deal to you, and you'd like a nice hotel at a reasonable price then this is a place worth trying.

Room Tip: Request an exterior facing room. Rooms that face the interior courtyard are dark and have no privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Big_Apple_Texas-Thank you for taking time to write an in-depth review. There are some limitations that we face because the building was built in 1925. I will share your review with Ownership. I hope you have a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    179
    47
    30
    17
See reviews for
47
114
58
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The fresh smells of the linens wins me back every time! My colleagues and I comment on how this fragrance takes us back to the time when crisp, white sheets and towels were brought in from the clothesline in the backyard. Makes it easy to settle into a good night’s sleep! Also, everything was spotless. Even though the hotel building is historic, the décor and upkeep is impeccable. I love the in-room microwave and refrigerator, the Earl Gray tea bags, and coffee pouches too! I also enjoy the Odwala fruit smoothies & beverages, seasonal fruit cups or the hearty meals that the restaurant serves. Indigo is not your ordinary hotel!! Finally, I must say how much I appreciate Dora! She is the consummate Indigo Ambassador and I look forward to seeing her each time I come to Dallas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
KristyC-Thank you for taking the time. I will share your comments with Dora. She is special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at the Indigo recently for a family wedding. We had a queen suite on the 7th floor. The room was lovely, a bit on the small side but well appointed. The suite had a couch and was convenient for having guests in to visit. Both sitting area and separate bedroom had flat screen TV. There was also a small fridge, microwave and coffee service in the room. The common areas were bright and cheerful and had several areas convenient to sit around a visit. Every one of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast several times in the restaurant it was delicious. The hotel is convenient to many Dallas attractions and they have a shuttle that will take to some of them. Parking is across the street in a covered garage either valet or pay as you go. Valet is $20 a day, a bit steep but not unusual for larger cities. We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Illusionsphtog-Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely old restored building, with rooms full of restored and repurposed old furniture. Very charming! Loved the colour palette of turquoise, blues and yellow. The food is fresh and scrumptious and not over priced, and the staff are polite and helpful. Our room had a sit-out with a TV, and another TV in the bedroom. We didn't use either, but it makes you feel like they are not scrimping on anything. The bed was super comfortable and done up so pretty it was a crime to muss it up.

Room Tip: If you are a Priority Club member you get discounts on all food and beverages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Ananya_Roy-Thank you for your time. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights while attending a conference based in the convention center. Our room was brightly colored and welcoming and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were all attentive, particularly Michael, the concierge, who made a point of greeting us by name each time he saw us (and who prearranged a cab to the airport for us on his day off - thanks, Michael!). The only negative was that we found it difficult to hail a cab on the street in front of the hotel, which we needed quite often during a busy week. This probably would not be a problem for most people. Several good restaurants are within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room for more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
wwpalmer-We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip, and it was nice to stay in a place with a bit of character. The decor and colours were a bit over the top - yellow, blue and iris wallpaper! Would perhaps have been nicer if the colour scheme was more in keeping with its art deco origins. But I'll take this any day over bland corporate hotels.

Aveda toiletries were a step up from the usual "no name" fare in most discount hotels.

The breakfast was adequate and reasonably priced, but if you really want something different I would recommend going a local cafe.

My biggest issue which is absolutely critical for business was the speed of the wifi connection. It was patchy at times and made it hard to do any reasonable work beyond emails and browsing basic content. If this was a developing country it would be reasonable, but this is a major USA city in a business district. I didn't measure the exact speeds (I wish I had so I could provide more factual evidence) but it was source of frustration if you suffering jet lag and looking to do work.

Another minor quibble was the pretty average selection of television channels, again this is only and issue if you jet lagged and looking to watch TV.

Staff were friendly helpful at all times!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
asweatman-Thank you for taking time to comment. I am sorry about the issue with the internet. We have a state of the art system. There is a 24 hour tech support number in each room to help with issues. Good news is we are in the process of adding channels to our line-up this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had an extremely enjoyable stay here. Hotel Indigo is a beautiful boutique hotel that offers friendly service and a great location. The hotel was nicely decorated with vibrant colors and refreshing decor. From checkin to departure the staff was always smiling and eager to help. I appreciated the great southern hospitality and will definitely be coming back to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Travelnstyle4-Thank you for taking time to write. All comments are share we staff. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown

Address: 1933 Main St., Dallas, TX 75201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown is a registered historic landmark property that was completely renovated to offer a boutique hotel oasis in the heart of Downtown Dallas. We are within walking distance from business, entertainment, dining, shopping and world class arts that Dallas has to offer. We provide complimentary shuttle to Downtown and Uptown Dallas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Dallas
Dallas Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.