We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip Cool Clean Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1933 Main St., Dallas, TX 75201 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #63 of 188 Hotels in Dallas
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hip Cool Clean Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not the Ritz and its not 500 night either. Pretty cool boutique hotel with some ambiance and a great location.

If you are a high maintenance gotta impress somebody person, this hotel is not for you.

If you want a hip clean green friendly place to sleep after you have explored all Dallas has to offer, then this hotel is definitely for you!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Patrick769-Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    184
    50
    31
    17
See reviews for
49
118
59
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The location was good for where I needed to be but it is not in a great area. The price was much too much for the area and amenities of this property. The photo shown is NOT the hotel but is the office building behind it. The hotel was built in the 1920s when rooms were much smaller so keep that in mind. Our room was crowded with a queen size bed and the bathroom only allowed one person at a time. All the mirrors in the room were in the bathroom so getting dressed was interesting. The tub has been removed and it is a nice large tiled shower but out side the shower is tiny!. The closet space was tight.

Another member of our party had a "suite" . It had the same furniture as a regular room plus a couch but was in 2 rooms. It had a small fridge and microwave which my room did not. The bathroom in the suite was only slightly larger than mine.

There was a lot of road noise and noise from the hallways. You could clearly hear conversations in the closed rooms while walking down the hall.

The staff was nice and there was fruited water available in the lobby at all times.

Overall, this was a 2 star hotel and a 2 1/2 star is pushing it.

Room Tip: Get a room with no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
SCBlossom-Thank you for taking time to comment. The photo on the website is the hotel. You are correct that the building was built in 1925. It was totally renovated in 2006, when it was converted to Hotel Indigo. I apologize if we did not meet your expectations. Feel free to contact me directly if you would like. I am glad you like the staff. Have a great day.-Mike Owen/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the Maroon 5 concert... As soon as we walked in the doors we were taken away by all the beach decor. It was great..The colors were perfect with the blues and pale yellows and made us feel like we were in the place we love the best..The beach...The staff was super nice and did a great job..I went to ask where to board the train to the concert and they advised that they had a free shuttle from the hotel to all the hot spots in Dallas..AWESOME...When we got in the room we were supprised at this size...the room wasnt sold as a suite but had a living room with 2 couches with pullouts , fridge , microwave and LCD tv..then a seperate bedroom...the bed was super comfy and room was decorated with the same beachy theme...We ordered room service and the food was excellent and decently priced...We stopped in the bar while we waited for the shuttle to return and had a drink...which was very tasty...but 2 drinks were 20$...but that seemed to be the going rate in Dallas we learned as the night progressed...Shuttle driver was very friendly as well...Only complaint is that the shuttle stops at 10...but its ok...We rode the train back it was cheap and close...The hotel is in a great location..You can walk to many resturants and bars/clubs or take a bus or train to where ever else you wanna go...Next time we go back to Dallas I will look no further than Indigo..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
JasonS-Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Let me start by saying that I am not nor have ever been a fan of Hotel Indigo. Check-in was uneventful although the agents clearly did not like early check-ins. Elevators were tiny and the floors had the nice wood flooring but helped to carry the smoke smell from people smoking in their rooms on seemingly every floor. The rooms themselves were the usual giant gaudy wall image of the blue something-or-other and the whole thing reminded me of an IKEA showroom. There should be a sign outside the door that says "Come inside and see our hotel room in 300 sq. ft." For two weeks, it was miserable, especially in a city like Dallas where "everything is BIGGER" On top of all that, random charges showed up on my bill that took a fight to get rid of. Intercontinantal does not offer anything for Priority Club on discounted rates so the chain has become pointless to me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
JefferyChandler-I do apologize for your feelings about our brand. I would like the opportunity to speak with you personally if that would be possible. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Took a brief vacation to Dallas and stayed at the Hotel Indigo downtown. The staff was excellent, especially the guys out front and valet staff. They also offer a free shuttle service within about 3 miles of the hotel that can get you to a bunch of popular locations - the Perot, the Dallas Museum of Art, the Book Repository Museum, the Aquarium, Conference Center, etc, etc. You are also within walking distance of plenty of places to eat.

Hotel room was clean and bright. It felt kind of small with two queen sized beds, a couch and a desk in it, but with one king it would have been just right. Maybe if we travel without the little one next time. My back didn't love the beds, not sure why as they seemed very nice. Maybe too soft? Linens were nice. Bathroom was tiny, just enough room to get in the shower/toilet area and close the door. No tub. Soaps were all Aveda. The room had a large flat screen TV, microwave, coffeemaker and fridge.

Only had breakfast at the hotel and it was fine. Nothing to blow your mind, but not bad at all. And the prices were good for hotel fare. Again, the staff was excellent. Enjoyed a very stiff mixed drink one evening.

We did wish there was a pool, but alas, no. In Texas in the summer, that can be a deal breaker.

My only other "gripe" would be the light intrusion from the hall. I know, it's silly but i was tying to get an 19 month old to sleep and lots of light entered the room though the crack in the door. I swear it's why she was so restless at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
jburatti-Thank you for the comments. I would like to know the room you were in, so I can check the light issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for two nights during our 3 month backpacking tour across the US when we were unable to find any centrally located hostels and fancied splashing out for a bit of luxury. Very well located in the heart of downtown, there are a number of great restaurants and bars all within walking distance. The reception staff were extremely helpful and efficient which was much appreciated after a 7 hour bus journey. Our room was spotlessly clean (a little smaller than the average hotel room but beautifully decorated and it's size serves it's purpose) with possibly the comfiest beds i have ever had in a hotel- it was very difficult dragging ourselves out of those each morning! Also worth noting the room had a bit of character to it rather than the usual blank minimalistic style you often see in hotels; i really loved the mural on the wall. Wifi was no hassle and included in the room price - always a bonus.

Throughout our stay we were overwhelmed by the sheer friendliness of the staff; we were greeted by every member we encountered and each was eager to offer their assistance if we needed anything at all to improve our stay. Their room service facilities were also very efficient and the food delicious, offering a nice assortment of dishes you dont find on the usual hotel room menu.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and for the price, you certainly can't go far wrong.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
summerholiday-I will share your kind comments with the staff. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Daughter and I stayed one night for an event at the Majestic Theater. Hotel entrance is actually on Harwood St. Our rate included parking so we took advantage of it. Our room was at the end of a hallway so it was situated more long than squared. The 2 beds were on opposite ends of the room,the large tv is easily watched from either but would really need to be turned toward one. The batroom is small but serves its purpose. Wood floors are a nice touch from carpet. All in all our stay was very pleasant and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
cal2net-We are glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown

Address: 1933 Main St., Dallas, TX 75201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown is a registered historic landmark property that was completely renovated to offer a boutique hotel oasis in the heart of Downtown Dallas. We are within walking distance from business, entertainment, dining, shopping and world class arts that Dallas has to offer. We provide complimentary shuttle to Downtown and Uptown Dallas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Dallas
Dallas Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.