We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On par with most Indigos...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1933 Main St., Dallas, TX 75201 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #75 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“On par with most Indigos...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Let me start by saying that I am not nor have ever been a fan of Hotel Indigo. Check-in was uneventful although the agents clearly did not like early check-ins. Elevators were tiny and the floors had the nice wood flooring but helped to carry the smoke smell from people smoking in their rooms on seemingly every floor. The rooms themselves were the usual giant gaudy wall image of the blue something-or-other and the whole thing reminded me of an IKEA showroom. There should be a sign outside the door that says "Come inside and see our hotel room in 300 sq. ft." For two weeks, it was miserable, especially in a city like Dallas where "everything is BIGGER" On top of all that, random charges showed up on my bill that took a fight to get rid of. Intercontinantal does not offer anything for Priority Club on discounted rates so the chain has become pointless to me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
JefferyChandler-I do apologize for your feelings about our brand. I would like the opportunity to speak with you personally if that would be possible. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    206
    66
    35
    28
See reviews for
56
138
63
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granger, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Took a brief vacation to Dallas and stayed at the Hotel Indigo downtown. The staff was excellent, especially the guys out front and valet staff. They also offer a free shuttle service within about 3 miles of the hotel that can get you to a bunch of popular locations - the Perot, the Dallas Museum of Art, the Book Repository Museum, the Aquarium, Conference Center, etc, etc. You are also within walking distance of plenty of places to eat.

Hotel room was clean and bright. It felt kind of small with two queen sized beds, a couch and a desk in it, but with one king it would have been just right. Maybe if we travel without the little one next time. My back didn't love the beds, not sure why as they seemed very nice. Maybe too soft? Linens were nice. Bathroom was tiny, just enough room to get in the shower/toilet area and close the door. No tub. Soaps were all Aveda. The room had a large flat screen TV, microwave, coffeemaker and fridge.

Only had breakfast at the hotel and it was fine. Nothing to blow your mind, but not bad at all. And the prices were good for hotel fare. Again, the staff was excellent. Enjoyed a very stiff mixed drink one evening.

We did wish there was a pool, but alas, no. In Texas in the summer, that can be a deal breaker.

My only other "gripe" would be the light intrusion from the hall. I know, it's silly but i was tying to get an 19 month old to sleep and lots of light entered the room though the crack in the door. I swear it's why she was so restless at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
jburatti-Thank you for the comments. I would like to know the room you were in, so I can check the light issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for two nights during our 3 month backpacking tour across the US when we were unable to find any centrally located hostels and fancied splashing out for a bit of luxury. Very well located in the heart of downtown, there are a number of great restaurants and bars all within walking distance. The reception staff were extremely helpful and efficient which was much appreciated after a 7 hour bus journey. Our room was spotlessly clean (a little smaller than the average hotel room but beautifully decorated and it's size serves it's purpose) with possibly the comfiest beds i have ever had in a hotel- it was very difficult dragging ourselves out of those each morning! Also worth noting the room had a bit of character to it rather than the usual blank minimalistic style you often see in hotels; i really loved the mural on the wall. Wifi was no hassle and included in the room price - always a bonus.

Throughout our stay we were overwhelmed by the sheer friendliness of the staff; we were greeted by every member we encountered and each was eager to offer their assistance if we needed anything at all to improve our stay. Their room service facilities were also very efficient and the food delicious, offering a nice assortment of dishes you dont find on the usual hotel room menu.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and for the price, you certainly can't go far wrong.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
summerholiday-I will share your kind comments with the staff. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Daughter and I stayed one night for an event at the Majestic Theater. Hotel entrance is actually on Harwood St. Our rate included parking so we took advantage of it. Our room was at the end of a hallway so it was situated more long than squared. The 2 beds were on opposite ends of the room,the large tv is easily watched from either but would really need to be turned toward one. The batroom is small but serves its purpose. Wood floors are a nice touch from carpet. All in all our stay was very pleasant and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
cal2net-We are glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, TX
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here while attending a convention in Dallas....service was attentive, hotel was clean. Rooms felt smaller than other hotels but I was hardly ever there. Boutique feel and great location and access to highway. It's not as grand as other hotels but we had a great price which made up for it. The only negative is that the food in the restaurant/bar is just average and I would recommend eating elsewhere, but the bar service was always good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
cdtatum-Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Placed reservation with Hotels.com and had reservation within minutes. Reservation was for my grandson delayed in Dallas due to cancellation of bus services due to weather. An additional credit card number was needed for incidentals, but they absolutely refused to take this information over the phone! Very poor service even though my grandson did not stay there. Very unsatisfactory considering the circumstances.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
DorisK-I apologize for the inconvience. The policy regarding of handling credit card information is in place for the protection of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I wound up at the Indigo when all of the hotels closer to the function that I was attending turned out to be full and it was a pleasant surprise. I was not familiar with this part of the Intercon Holiday in system and I am a big fan of the Aloft Hotels for which Indigo seems to be a class competitor.
Retrofitting "design" on a classic hotel can be difficult and there were a few rough spots here. Nothing objectionable though.
Staff was friendly. The location close to interesting restaurants. The shuttle service was great.
I did think the breakfast was so so and not a great value. Somehow getting my morning coffee in a restaurant in a styrofoam cup is a bit off putting.
Another off putting factor was the price escalation the longer I stayed... booked through Hotels.com the first night was a reasonable $130 which escalated to $206 by the third night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodallasgm, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
dennisu-Thank you for taking time to write. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown

Address: 1933 Main St., Dallas, TX 75201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown is a registered historic landmark property that was designed to offer a boutique hotel oasis in the heart of Downtown Dallas. We are within walking distance from business, entertainment, dining, shopping and world class arts that Dallas has to offer. We provide complimentary shuttle to Downtown and Uptown Dallas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Dallas
Dallas Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.