We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Dallas to your Saves list
The Fairmont Dallas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 191 Hotels in Dallas
GreenLeadersGold level
Madison, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overall nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Overall the stay was very nice. The staff were friendly, my room was very comfortable and they have a very nice pool area located on the Terrace floor. I had a room with a king bed on the19th floor. The bathroom was pretty large for a hotel room. One slight annoyance was the lack of electrical outlets to charge phones/iPad in the room. There is also a charge for wifi but I followed. Tip from another Trip Advisor and signed up for their Presidents Club and got it for free. There is a Starbucks in the hotel off the lobby that has free wifi but they close at 3:30 p. I was attending a conference there and didn't have much down time for exploring the area but there is a building right next to the hotel , Fountain Place that has probably 100 fountains all lit up at night, very pretty.
One major warning is that there is an airport shuttle service called Go Shuttle, they should be called "You Ain't Goin Nowhere Fast" I am really annoyed that the Concierge talked me into getting in this shuttle. He pointed out that it is a lot cheaper ($19 instead of $49) to the airport) but what he failed to tell me is that it would take at least twice as long to get to the airport and these people could not care less about the customer or whether you make your flight. You are on their schedule and their only concern is filling their shuttle with customers. I won't go on with all of the details but it was a good 40 min before we finally got to the highway to head to the airport. As a guest of the hotel having just paid hundreds of dollars staying at this hotel and eating meals there I expect the concierge to show loyalty to me the guest not some greedy shuttle service who doesn't care about customer service.

Room Tip: Join the Presidents Club (free) to get free wifi. Take a cab to the airport, definitely worth the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed the terrace level and your guest room accommodations. We are very disappointed to hear that you experienced delays with the airport shuttle service and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. While this experience is not typical of our hotel, I will share your observations with our guest services team to ensure that these issues do not occur in the future. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Dallas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    350
    124
    60
    30
See reviews for
132
239
61
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A very pleasant surprise that this was such an exquisite, wonderful hotel. We upgraded to their club level with food presentation which was lovely. Staff was very friendly--especially Yumaira Aguilar who is the Fairmont Gold Manager. She took great care of us at every turn.
Room was very comfortable and it's a great location. Walking distance to many sights, restaurants, and shopping.
Carolyn McElveen

Room Tip: Upgrade to President's Club whenever possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have nothing but positive things to say about this Fairmont. Staff was magnificent and attentive; quick to address any issues that may have arisen; remembering me by name, and my reason for visiting Dallas. Within walking distance of virtually all that I needed for my stay (right in the middle of the Arts District,) and short driving distance to everything else. I can't say enough about the service; it was a true VIP experience. My room had several incredible views, which were lovely to wake up to. Overall, I am quite pleased.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that our hotel colleagues provided a level of service that you found to be exceptional. As we are located in the heart of the downtown Dallas Arts District, we are ideally situated for visiting the Dallas Museum of Art, the Nasher Sculpture Center, the Perot Museum of Nature and Science and more. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I work in the building next to the Fairmont and interact with the hotel's staff from time to time. It is one of the most professional and courteous crews you will ever encounter. They really understand what customer service is all about and will happily go to great lengths to make your stay as carefree as possible -- exceeding your expectations everytime.

When I was in a crunch and needed a piece of chocolate cake for an impromtu birthday celebration, the concierge, Philip, went way above and beyond by having the kitchen put together a beautiful presentation that included an enormous piece of absolutely delicious cake, chocolate covered strawberries, and a personalized birthday wish written in chocolate drizzle. All of this was accomplished for me in a matter of minutes.

Outstanding facilities, an elegant decor, and top-notch service!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my two night stay here for a meeting thanks to the excellent service in all areas. From the minute you arrive and staff learns and uses your name, it's impressive. I also appreciate a well designed hotel room and there are great amenities that include a Keurig coffee maker and nice bright task lighting and convenient plugs to charge electronics. Starbucks in hotel and restaurant and room service food and service experience all excellent. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at The Fairmont Dallas. I am pleased that our hotel colleagues provided a level of service that you found to be exceptional. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the guest room décor, The Pyramid Restaurant and in room dining, and the amenities provided for your convenience. Thank you very much for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont Hotel as an over-spill hotel for a conference at the Sheraton Downtown. I am glad I did as the Fairmont has a certain charm and calmness about it, generally welcome after seeing all the badge holders wandering around the Sheraton reception areas.

Nice big communal areas with lobby, concierge and an inviting looking bar. I did not eat breakfast or evening meals at the hotel, instead I preferred to find some better value close by. For breakfast I went down to the West End historic district (8min walk) to Ellens Southern Kitchen. I had various meals around the main street area and can recommend Iron Cactus for Texmex style food. Dakota's Steakhouse (just 2 mins walk across the street) was truly excellent and worth the money. One night we got a taxi to the Bishop Arts District for the best Texas BBQ food money can buy, visit Lockharts you will not be disappointed, there are also lot's of bars within a short walking distance.

The room was traditional style, maybe slightly dated, but very clean and good quality furnishings. I had a medium size flat screen TV. Coffee maker with a range of coffee capsules. I was disappointed with the $7.50 charged for a small bottle of water on the bedside table, so went to 7-11 a block over on Akard to buy 4 bottles for that price! The rooms was cleaned well on a daily basis.

The pool area looked nice. Definitely use the computers in the business centre to sign up the for the Fairmont Presidents Club. This will get you free wifi internet for the duration of your stay and 500 points towards your airline loyalty cards.

No complaints and a comfortable stay. Staff and concierge were always helpful. It looked like a well run hotel.

Room Tip: 1103 was close to the lifts and suffered slight noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Dallas Fairmont is a jewel. Excellent service, Concierge accomodating, sincerely friendly.
Loaned a wheelchair for Grandma to attend a Wedding in nearby Fountain Place.

Recommend South Tower, rooms are large, very clean, well organized, walk in closet.

Free internet in room by signing up for President's Club.

Room Tip: South Tower-rooms seemed recently upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Address: 1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dallas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#17 Family Hotel in Dallas
#19 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.