We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Dallas Arts District Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Dallas to your Saves list
The Fairmont Dallas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Dallas Arts District Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont Hotel as an over-spill hotel for a conference at the Sheraton Downtown. I am glad I did as the Fairmont has a certain charm and calmness about it, generally welcome after seeing all the badge holders wandering around the Sheraton reception areas.

Nice big communal areas with lobby, concierge and an inviting looking bar. I did not eat breakfast or evening meals at the hotel, instead I preferred to find some better value close by. For breakfast I went down to the West End historic district (8min walk) to Ellens Southern Kitchen. I had various meals around the main street area and can recommend Iron Cactus for Texmex style food. Dakota's Steakhouse (just 2 mins walk across the street) was truly excellent and worth the money. One night we got a taxi to the Bishop Arts District for the best Texas BBQ food money can buy, visit Lockharts you will not be disappointed, there are also lot's of bars within a short walking distance.

The room was traditional style, maybe slightly dated, but very clean and good quality furnishings. I had a medium size flat screen TV. Coffee maker with a range of coffee capsules. I was disappointed with the $7.50 charged for a small bottle of water on the bedside table, so went to 7-11 a block over on Akard to buy 4 bottles for that price! The rooms was cleaned well on a daily basis.

The pool area looked nice. Definitely use the computers in the business centre to sign up the for the Fairmont Presidents Club. This will get you free wifi internet for the duration of your stay and 500 points towards your airline loyalty cards.

No complaints and a comfortable stay. Staff and concierge were always helpful. It looked like a well run hotel.

Room Tip: 1103 was close to the lifts and suffered slight noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    386
    131
    64
    32
See reviews for
145
264
63
533
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Dallas Fairmont is a jewel. Excellent service, Concierge accomodating, sincerely friendly.
Loaned a wheelchair for Grandma to attend a Wedding in nearby Fountain Place.

Recommend South Tower, rooms are large, very clean, well organized, walk in closet.

Free internet in room by signing up for President's Club.

Room Tip: South Tower-rooms seemed recently upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Fairmont a few times for business. Not only is it walking distance to the Renaissance Tower, but there's a complimentary towncar service to drive you to the bars/restaurants in uptown that are too far to walk. There's a decent gym and a nice bar and restaurant in the hotel - not to mention the convenience of a Starbucks on the ground floor. The staff is very pleasant and accomodating, especially my favorite concierge/bellman Tony Bennett :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Dallas Fairmont was upscale and convenient to our location. Everyone on staff was sincerely welcoming. When our teenage son left his iPhone charger in the room after checkout, the phone staff was amazing. They were so on top of the situation and got the charger mailed back to him the next day.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a positive experience with the service provided by our hotel colleagues. We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just held an event at this hotel and have to say the staff and everyone at the hotel made this a beautiful and easy event to hold! I have chaired many galas and there is always a great deal of stress leading up to any event, but have also had them be very stressful during and the night of....not this time! The Fairmont handled every little detail, met any and all requests and really worked with us to help make this a profitable fundraising event. Nicole Terna and Heather Wheat in special events and a/v were professional and our a/v guys, Gavin and Bryan were awesome! From arrival with valet to check out, everyone was helpful and went over and above to "take care" of our guests. Thank you Fairmont for making our event special and super easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello and thank you very much for sharing feedback regarding your recent awards gala. We are delighted that your event was a success, and that all details and requests were met. I will share your very kind words with our team here, as we strive to provide exceptional service and truly flawless, memorable events for all of our clients. We hope that you will consider returning to The Fairmont Dallas for future philanthropy events and galas. Thank you again for your comments! We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The fairmont Dallas is a nice hotel in a nice area. The art district , if you don't have a car taxis are available which was our case . We stayed there for 5 nights In may 2013 as my husband was attending a conference . There is a Starbucks in the Lobby which is a plus . There are nice restaurants walking distance from the hotel . When we asked the concierge they directed us to the west end area which had different dining options but was a bit touristic and not really our style . We preferred Dakota 's Restaurant which was literally across the street for. The hotel room was ok I expected better from the fairmont , the bathroom was outdated , and small . The breakfast was ok , 20$ per person . There is a seven eleven across the street from hotel much closer than another one recommended by the concierge . We used to go buy Water as it was not complimentary in the room as most hotels do now , there is a coffee machine .
Enroll in their free presidents club so that u get free wifi in the room. stay in the south towers which had the remodeled rooms . Our room was 1808 it was close to elevator but not noisy and had an ok view . The trip to north park mall was easy , the taxi ride was 18-20$ depending on traffic it took about 10min. Close to the original neiman Marcus shop on main street 10 min walking .

Room Tip: 1808 south tower remodeled room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here three nights on business. Really excellent experience and I wanted to pass on my appreciation for the gracious service and "make you day better" attitude from Tony Bennett. You cannot have a bad day after talking with this guys. Tony - best wishes.. (give this guy a raise)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you received a warm welcome from our bellman Tony Bennett. Our hotel colleagues strive to provide guests with engaging service, and Tony’s enthusiasm is a great example of that commitment to service. I will share your kind words with Tony. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to see you again soon at The Fairmont Dallas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Address: 1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dallas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#15 Family Hotel in Dallas
#18 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.