We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and a great room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Dallas to your Saves list
The Fairmont Dallas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 191 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and a great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont in May and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were given a corner suite which was very spacious and extremely nice. The staff at the front desk were incredible and worked hard to accommodate our requests. The only reason that I didn't give this hotel 5 Stars is because we had an issue with the air conditioner in our suite and it took a little while before we could get someone in there to fix it. All in all, a wonderful place to stay and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    401
    134
    66
    32
See reviews for
152
276
64
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Two BIG thumbs up!!!! Everything from the Bellmen to the Room Service Waiter. This hotel is really lovely, well run and has extremely helpful staff. The rooms were large and clean. It is walking distance to most attractions and a very short cab ride to others. I look forward to our return to Dallas and the Fairmont Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Locations in heart of dallas. Opposite stephan pyles restaurant which I would highly recommend. Check in and reception standard. Room dated and bathroom in upgraded room antiquated. But good nights sleep had in comfy bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We drove from our home in OKC to Dallas to attend an art showing. Looking to be downtown and happened upon the Fairmont. We were first greeted by the Valet responsible for unloading our luggage and parking our vehicle. They greeted us with big smiles and a hearty Texas welcome. Next the front desk provided excellent service and gave us a wonderful room on the 10th floor overlooking the city. We decided we wanted to go out for dinner and the concierge gave good recommendations for food as well as entertainment. All and all it was a great choice..

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Good location in downtown Dallas. I've stayed at several Fairmont hotels and this was well maintained. Didn't eat at hotel, was just in town for the weekend. Would stay there again. 15-20 minutes to love field.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family (wife and two kids) had a great time at the hotel. The front desk staff (Gene) was very helpful. We stayed in the South Tower, which is apparently recommended due to recent updates. Our wasn't working when we first got there and mantainence staff (Sterling?) came up to say they had been working on it. When i asked him about how to unlock the bathroom doors in case my child accidently locked the door, he offered to put tape on the door to keep it from locking. We didn't have any problems with the valet, which some people have previously posted that it was a delay getting their car ($25 a day).

Overall a great experience and would recommend hotel to anyone wanting to stay in downtown Dallas area.

Room Tip: Stay in the South Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you very much for providing feedback about your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Fairmont Dallas. As you noted, our hotel is currently undergoing an extensive renovation including a redesign of all guest rooms scheduled for completion in summer 2013. The newly renovated guest rooms offer an updated décor and modern furniture for a sleek, luxurious ambiance. Thank you again for your comments. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I reviewed the Fairmont last fall and wasn't that impressed. Having visited again recently and stayed on the same floor I can report a definite improvement in room quality and repair.

Still charging $7 for a bottle of water in the room and they could do with more seats in the bar area - too much of the lobby is wasted space TBH. Tip - if you have a problem don't ask the Front Desk - call customer services from your room - they are very efficient and fast.

The Pyramid restaurant was a very pleasant surprise - modern food, well executed - as good as anything outside the hotel - we ate their two nights for preference (not normal).

Breakfast staff very friendly - opinions still totally polarized about Mr Bennett - half the group thought he is wonderful and the rest of us feel he is the Ja-Ja Binks of the hotel business

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Address: 1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dallas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#14 Family Hotel in Dallas
#15 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.