We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bang for the buck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Dallas to your Saves list
The Fairmont Dallas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 188 Hotels in Dallas
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good bang for the buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This Fairmont Hotel was a solid 4 star stay. I was expecting a little more though just because it was a Fairmont but it fell slightly from my expectations. When we arrived the valet parking was backed up onto the street and took around 10-15 minutes to actually drop off the car. Once we arrived in the lobby we were told that our room was not ready yet and to head up to the Club Lounge for a cocktail and appetizers. The Lounge was spacious and clean and the supervisor on duty was competent and gracious. We only had to wait approximately 20 minutes for our room which was enough time to finish my glass of champagne.

The room was a nice size, clean and fairly modern. The bathroom was rather small in my opinion but adequate for its purpose. I will say that the shower gel that they stock in the bathroom smells absolutely YUMMY! The beds were comfortable and there was minimal outside noise so I had a good sleep.

The next morning we ventured upstairs to have brunch in the Lounge. I am not sure if the Lounge was understaffed for the amount of traffic on a Sunday morning but the place was a disaster. Used dishes, napkins and other clutter were on every table even the unoccupied ones. There were no clean plates for us to use so we had to wait for some to be washed before we could use the buffet.

All in all a nice stay. I would stay there again and I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    327
    123
    56
    30
See reviews for
124
226
61
465
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 7 nights for a business event and found it to be comfortable and well run. Excellent service. Everyone was friendly and genuinely ready to help. Food was good and facilities were fine. Room was clean and comfortable. No major complaints.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I would be surprised if this stays a Fairmont for long without a major face lift. The common areas are nice. The rooms are tired and worn. The service is great. The location is off the beaten path and not a lot within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your comments. Feedback such as yours is especially valuable as we are commencing a renovation of our guest rooms this month. The redesigned guest rooms will include modern décor and new furniture for an updated, authentically Texan ambiance. We invite you to visit us again to experience the new rooms. Regarding our location, as the only hotel in the Dallas Arts District, we are located steps away from many cultural venues including the Nasher Sculpture Center, the Dallas Museum of Art, Klyde Warren Park, in addition to shopping, fine dining, and more. Our concierge is always available to help you plan your itinerary. Thank you again for providing your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

check in line was long. At 4:00 our room wasn't ready, but the desk clerk offered a free drink each at the bar, so the wait was ok. Bar area was crowded, though we were served quickly. Our room was as expected for a Fairmont. Check out was smooth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Fairmont for three nights on business. Check-in was fairly easy, but upon getting into my room, I was greeted by a dirty toilet! Dirty as in not flushed toilet. Pretty disgusting! However, I reported it to the front desk, who offered to move me to another room (I declined), and promptly fixed the issue.

Later, I noticed that the toilet was dirty again, after I had flushed it, so it was clearly a maintenance issue and not a housekeeping issue. Similarly, the thermostat in my colleague's room didn't work, so it felt like a sauna in there. Luckily, that is his preference, but it's clear that there are some maintenance issues here, which is why I am only giving the hotel 4 out of 5.

The staff was great, and had no problem accommodating our change of plans--we had to leave two nights earlier than we expected to beat Hurricane Sandy to the northeast.

The breakfast in the morning was incredibly overpriced, but that's par for the course. The breakfast burrito was far and away the best value at $10.

My only other suggestion to the Fairmont is to redesign the bar area so there is more seating. It was always a problem to find a seat to eat or drink.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the fairmont dallas , I did have a little problem with my bank card nothing that couldn't be fixed though . their rooms are very nice , I had a wonderful view from my room , room service is quick to come and staff was nice .

Tony bennett was a wonderful doorman , very fuuny and sweet .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your guest room and the service provided by our hotel colleagues during your stay. Our staff is committed to providing engaging, memorable service for all of our guests. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Dallas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I'm not sure if it was just my room or the hotel. There was old wallpaper in the bathroom that looked like it was glued back on the wall several years ago and without proper caulking, rust on the metal door in the wall/ceiling, old caulking in the tub/tile seam and the toilet seat looked old with scratches painted over. The lobby is nice, but the room just felt really old and outdated. It didn't feel 4 star quality, which was disappointing. The bartender, James was great, made good drinks, and never left you waiting for the next one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us in this forum. I’m disappointed to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Starting this month, The Fairmont Dallas will begin the process of updating and upgrading our guestrooms and suites. This renovation will offer new, modern amenities and décor. Feedback such as yours is incredibly valuable as we work to ensure that our hotel continues to exceed the expectations of our modern guests. We hope you will return to the hotel on your next trip to Dallas, and thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Address: 1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dallas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#21 Family Hotel in Dallas
#21 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.