We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Dallas to your Saves list
The Fairmont Dallas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 190 Hotels in Dallas
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed at the Fairmont on many occasions. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Donna on the concierge floor and Tony Bennett at the door go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Michael, the hotel manager, is quite nice and is on top of his game. We will always stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the service provided by our hotel colleagues during your stay. Our dedicated staff is committed to providing engaging, memorable service for all of our guests. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Dallas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    337
    123
    58
    30
See reviews for
127
229
61
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, bc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had stayed here a few years ago and since have stayed in several Fairmonts. This is not in the league with the others. It's dated, has small bathrooms and most importantly some on staff that don't measure up. When coming back from dinner and preparing to take a shower I noticed there was no laundry bag which is what I use for dirty clothes. I called the front desk and spoke to Vladimir. I told him I was getting ready for bed, would be up early and wanted to know how long for a laundry bag to get there. No big deal that it wasn't there but I wanted to know if I could get one before I went to sleep. He told me 10 minutes. 30 minutes later when I called down and told him it hadn't arrived and there was no need to send; he giggled. No apology; just a giggle. So... if you're looking for a real Fairmont this isn't the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I loved this hotel. Great views, great service, great food at the Pyramid. I had two conferences in Dallas and was able to stay at the Fairmont for both. What a treat. Let me especially say what great service Tony Bennett provided at the concierge desk. Everyone was amazing, but he delivers the top notch service with top notch personality.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor and enjoyed the beautiful downtown skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here during a conference in Dallas that was actually held at the hotel.

Upon check in we were offered concierge level for an additional $35 per night (not sure of the regular or seasonal costs) but it was so worth it! The concierge level had snacks out all day long until 9 pm with non-alcoholic drinks at no cost. During the evening hours they offered three appetizers which consisted of some sort of delicious soup, and two other warm items. Along with a variety of cheeses, fruit, and dessert. After appetizer time was over they bought out various other petite desserts and have a coffee/expresso machine that makes a variety of different coffee drinks. We ended up so full sometimes we skipped dinner. They also offer a warm breakfast that consists of eggs, bacon, and breakfast potatoes. The hotel online description does not say that offer that so its worth knowing. Between all the meals/snacks offered it paid for itself for sure.

The grounds were pretty.

The rooms were nice and the bed covers/sheets were real comfortable.

The TV in the room seemed bigger than most similar quality hotels so that was nice.

Room Tip: Check and see if concierge level rooms are available for upgrade when you check in. If the cost is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hello and thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at The Fairmont Dallas. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with our Fairmont Gold guest room accommodations and the food and beverage offerings in the Fairmont Gold lounge. We hope that you will come back to visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

From the marble lobby to the large, luxurious yet comfortable rooms the Downtown Dallas Fairmont never disappoints. I've stayed for conventions and overnight business trips. Service is impeccable and amenities are plentiful. The restaurant and bar in the lobby are top notch. When traveling to Dallas I consider no place else.

Room Tip: My preference is always the South Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The rooms are small and half of the machines in the fitness center were not working. The bathrooms are tiny and the shower curtain in our room was just plain gross. They only have two drawers for clothing and one of them is taken up by the bed comforter. $7.00 for a bottle of bedside water is ridiculous and the cocktails in the bar are very expensive.

It's a convenient place to stay if you have a conference but the rooms and fitness center all need to be spruced up.

Room Tip: Ask to see if they have newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Spring, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Would luv to stay here again. Great experience!
All of the staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The hotel has a wonderful gift shop. A full service starbucks store. The restaurant is magnificent. Our room was extremely clean and had a wonderful view of the city night lights.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by our hotel colleagues. We strive to provide all of our guests with warm, engaging and memorable service. I am happy that you enjoyed your meal at The Pyramid Restaurant and will pass your comments along to our staff. Thank you for providing us the opportunity to serve you during your time in Dallas. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Address: 1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dallas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#19 Business Hotel in Dallas
#20 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.