We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in the North Tower!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Dallas to your Saves list
The Fairmont Dallas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 189 Hotels in Dallas
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Don't stay in the North Tower!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have both stayed at this property in the past and hosted my clients here, and I had no idea how rough the North Tower was - they have never put me there before! It was comparable to a Days Inn. The rooms are tacky green/burgundy/brown colors, the headboards are generic, and the bathtub was very dated and highlighted in mildew. I checked in early which is likely why they had to put me over there, but be warned that the North Tower is not where you want to stay! Make sure they keep you in the nice part of the hotel away from the conference center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    337
    123
    58
    30
See reviews for
127
229
61
475
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great hotel, great location. Thank you so much to all the staff especially Tony Bennett for making my experience of Dallas like a 4 carrot diamond on a silver platter.... Im loving every minute of my stay- do not want to go back to the UK!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My bride and I arrived at the Fairmont Dallas the night of our wedding 9/22/2012 and left our Lexus with Valet since it is a valet only hotel. Sunday morning we called for our car and one hour later it arrived with $3000 worth of damage. We left going back home with the front bumper in the back seat. The estimate was $3,157.89 from a very reputable body shop. We were told after police reports and reviews of the security camera tapes we had nothing to worry about. It would be taken care of. But that was before we were contacted by Mark Mananno the claims adjuster for Ace Parking the company that actually runs the valet svc. He said since the hotel was full our vehicle was parked on one of aces public lots across from the Dallas Museum of Art and someone other than Ace was responsible for the damage, but since we were told all would be taken care of out of the goodness of their heart they are going to reimburse me for the $1,000 deductable for my insurance to cover it. Oh he was kind enough to offer assistance since he has connections with rental car agencies he could get me a discount while we are without a vehicle. I just spoke with another man I met the same morning there on business and his car was damaged however not as badly as mine, he is being told tapes have yet to be reviewd to see how his vehicle was damaged, since he had taken his vehicle out it may have happened while under his control not Ace's. So word of warning, your Lexus, BMW, Jag, Rolls or whatever may get parked on a public lot and you will be responsible. As far as the hotel. I loved it.my contact is roliver717@gmail.com. anyone have any suggestions for me I will gladly listen. Very frustrated over this.My car will be repaired. It is about what is right. when do we stop having to just accept it???

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We would like to apologize for this inconvenience and any service experience that was not consistent with Fairmont standards. As you mentioned, the claim is being handled by Ace Parking, the independent company that provides The Fairmont Dallas’ valet parking service. While your experience is not typical of our hotel, we regret that any problem occurred and have followed up with Ace Parking accordinly to ensure that an appropriate resolution is achieved. Please feel free to send us an email at dallas [at] fairmont [dot] com with your contact information if you have any further concerns. Thanks again for contacting us and providing us with the opportunity to speak with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

From check in to check out, this hotel delivered top notch service in every arena. A special shout out goes to Tony Bennett in the lobby. This is the Fairmont's most famous, most helpful and most talkative employee. He is just a joy. The front desk staff is also friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is pricey ($20) but amazing, with just about everything offered. Rooms great, beds comfortable. Pool area fantastic, although apparently there is no jacuzzi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Thank you Fairmont Dallas Staff for making our stay a great one! Everyone was nice and the amenities for the upgraded Gold Room were wonderful! The atmosphere in this hotel is warm and inviting. Tony Bennett was gracious and happily served us as did all the staff. They went out of their way to help us find local restaurants in the area and always had a pleasant attitude. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: "Upgrade to a Gold Room on the top 3 floors"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello, and thank you for providing feedback about your stay at The Fairmont Dallas. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the service and amenities provided on our Gold Level. We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Dallas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Fairmont Dallas hotel was one of the lovliest, easy to navigate, and friendliest hotels I have had the pleasure to visit! Everyone of their employees is pleasant, helpful, and goes out of their way to provide exceptional service. Diana graciously moved me to a room that was closer to my conference-going friends and had a beautiful view! My room was clean, and tidy every day, and when I mentioned to the housekeeper that I had a cold, she brought extra kleenex! Tony Bennet :) provided solid gold service that I found second to none. I spent a week at the hotel so had a chance to see it all - and I give them an A+++!

An added benefit is that the hotel is right around the corner from the free Trolley to the West End, and close to the Art Museum, and some fabulous restaurants!

Room Tip: My room on the 12th floor had a beautiful view! The higher, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was in Dallas for a conference at the Dallas Convention Center and stayed for 4 days. I was upgraded to a HUGE suite as the single King bed room I requested was not available. The hotel is very nice with interesting art work (it is in the Dallas Arts District so it was fitting). The housekeeper made sure I had ice every night and the room was immaculate. Bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was basic but fine. The room had 2 flat screen TVs and best of all had the NFL channel for Thursday night football! I ordered room service one night which was promptly delivered, generous and well presented. The entire staff was very attentive and helpful. I have traveled a lot and tend to be picky so for me to say I would stay there again is a huge compliment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Address: 1717 North Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dallas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#19 Business Hotel in Dallas
#19 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.