We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but i've had better street tacos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria El Si Hay

Taqueria El Si Hay
601 W Davis St, Dallas, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 3,164 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
1,086 reviews 1,086 reviews
492 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
1,086 helpful votes 1,086 helpful votes
“Very good but i've had better street tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We went here purely based on recommendations. It's not a restaurant, just a stand on the street corner, where you either sit back in your car or stand around eating your tacos.
Tacos are circa $1.40 each, with a number of different meat choices. We all had the Pastor tacos, which come with onions and cilantro, a choice of corn or flour tortilla and green or red sauce.
Whilst I would say the tacos are very good and authentic. I still prefer the street tacos at Fuel City or Taco la Banqueta - would definitely return as they were extremely tasty.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Amazing tacos and fresh corn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you want a sit down dinner experience with atmosphere and a big selection, this is not the place. However, if you are OK with sort of a permanent food truck experience - you will be blown away! They offer a handful of taco options and fresh corn off the cob slathered with crema, cheese, butter and sauce. Wash it down with a Mexican soft drink. It's inexpensive, authentic and delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen ridge, nj
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing hole in the wall, seriously excellent tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I saw a kind of art-house photo of this place at a much fancier restaurant the night before and asked the waiter if it was a real place. he had not clue. then i'm driving around dallas and lo and behold, there it is. packed with cars on a very cold and lousy day. so i stopped and ordered three of them, for $4.25 total. i had to wait a while and since it as cold that meant sitting in my car. but they were spectacular, probably the best cheap tacos i've ever had. maybe the best tacos i've ever had....i got chorizo, pastor and beef, and i think the pastor was the best, but all three were very good. as cheap as it was, i'll have to spend money dry cleaning my coat. it's messy. but worth it. I'm giving it five stars for atmosphere because it's just a dumpy shack and that's part of what makes it so great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fav meal in Dallas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Sure, there are fancy places just down the street. But I so prefer standing in line for 20 minutes
watching the Corn Man do his thing. There's not a better corn mixture, hot and fresh, cut off the cob before your eyes. The taco window provides the other half of dinner, and we eat drive in style, right in the car. Delicious, and less than $10 a person.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Real Street Tacos! Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I love dives and will bravely venture virtually anywhere if the food warrants the trip. And boy does this taco stand qualify. Had two beef fajita tacos on flour tortillas and they were fantastic! Paid just $2.75 for them. What a deal! Stood in a line at 2 pm with mostly Latino patrons just to place my order so that should tell you something about the quality and authencity of these street tacos. Compares quite favorably to the tacos at Fuel City - another great taco dive! Beware these tacos are spicy and full of onions, so probably shouldn't eat them if you have a face-to-face meetings or plan to kiss anyone soon thereafter. Also, plan to eat them in your car as there is no seating. It is called a taco "stand" for a reason. Highly recommend this place if you like authentic street tacos and have no aversion to the broadest possible range of humanity. Mi Cocina, this isn't. And that is a good thing for this food fanatic. ;-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria El Si Hay also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria El Si Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taqueria El Si Hay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.