We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaguan South American Cafe & Bakery

Zaguan South American Cafe & Bakery
2604 Oak Lawn Ave, Dallas, TX 75219-4020 (Oak Lawn)
214-219-8393
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #230 of 2,988 restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Excellent cacachapas. Authentic homemade Venezuelan and South American Cuisine. Great prices and food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    18
    7
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bossier City, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Surprising Latin Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Good place to go if you are adventurous and tired of Tex-Mex. This food is from south of Mexico, so don't expect the ordinary. My whole family loved it. Even better, it won't cost you like a higher end place. We will definitely go back when we are in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A nice surprise, we'll be back often”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

In Dallas, mention a Latin Bakery and minds turn to La Duni for good reason. (I could go on and on about their endless coffe menu and the Warm Milk Chocolate Cake Pudding) My daughter's new place is just around the corner from Zaguan on Oak Lawn, so we thought we'd chance it for a quick breakfast. The minute we walked in and looked at the pastry case, we knew we'd made a good decision. We chose an outside table and ordered some strong coffee; yum! I had the Zaguan brunch for $12.99 which included an omelet with peppers topped with your choice of shredded beef or chicken in tomatoes, one arepa, and a smoothie! The omelet was large and perfectly cooked, and the beef on top was tender and juicy with just the right amount of spice. There are not enough words in the English language to properly describe the perfect Arepa. Sort of like a thin corn based English muffin with toasted cheese inside, then toasted all over goodness. The smoothies are hand made with your choice of water or milk base, and any combination of fruits you choose. I decided to try the Guanana which tasted like a combination of guava, pineapple and banana. Honestly, I can't remember what anyone else at the table had, my face was buried in my plate. Zaguan, I return to Dallas in 4 weeks, and this time I'm trying you for dinner and dessert and taking pastries to go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

No chain fast food here! Nothing but authentic Venezuelan food. We stopped by at lunch time and it was packed. Had to wait a few minutes for a table but it was worth the wait. Wonderful service in a casual atmosphere. Would stop here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Venezuela food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, real Venezuelan food, love this place on a Sunday for lunch, really nice traditional food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaguan South American Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Zaguan South American Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaguan South American Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.