We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Destination” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wild About Harry's

Wild About Harry's
3113 Knox St, Dallas, TX 75205-4029 (Oak Lawn)
(214) 520-3113
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #739 of 3,099 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream, Hot Dogs
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
portland, maine
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not a Destination”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had dinner in the area,stopped here for dessert. 8 flavors listed. Coconut was creamy and rich,premium supermarket brands better. Dark waffle cone not sweet, tasteless and not worth additional cost. Younger male staff heard grumbling about 9:50PM patrons; closes at 10PM. Maybe should try making a sundae as have a huge list of interesting/fresh? toppings. Area is begging for a gelato place. One scoop dish, one scoop waffle $7.50.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Wild About Getting Out of There”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Overrated. Not worth the effort. Uncomfortable, overpriced, the kind of hot dogs you'd get at a ballpark.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Delicious Dessers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A great place to drop in for dessert, we had a large group of people and all ordered miscellaneous desserts. The ice cream was delicious. Small and a little cramped but that just added to the atmosphere

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Funky little hot dog shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Whenever we visit uptown dallas we stop at Harry's for ice cream and hot dogs. It has a retro vibe, like an old soda shop. I like that. This isn't a chain restaurant so it's unique. Harry used to frequently be seen behind the counter. There is a variety of hot dogs and ice cream concoctions to choose from. Everything that we have tried is good. Uptown is a beautiful area, with many shops and restaurants to choose from within walking distance. Harry's feels as if you have briefly stepped back in time. Great place for kids of all ages!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun stop for snack while enjoying knox street shopping or Katy trail walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My kids and i are spoiled by tcby 's yummy selection and toppings, so i was unimpressed by the pricy custard and funky atmosphere. But it was fun after a long walk and we were craving ice cream so it worked fine..the kids needed a treat. Starbucks for grown ups right accross the street, and the pleasant atmosphere of this area make for a nice break

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild About Harry's also viewed

 

Been to Wild About Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild About Harry's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.