We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Quick Indian, for a price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roti Grill

Roti Grill
4438 Mckinney Ave, Dallas, TX 75205-4212 (Oak Lawn)
214-521-3655
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #791 of 2,896 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Mediterranean
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good, Quick Indian, for a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Roti Grill is our go to quick spot for dine in or pick up Indian food. The dishes and flavors are authentic considering you are in Texas. Seems a bit pricey for the easy inexpensive ingredients. Maybe the price is in the spices?
We love it anyway and keep coming back. Our favorite is the Tikka Masala. Get the Texas size and split the entree if you aren't super hungry. The larger size comes with naan, choose plain or garlic. With the larger size you can order an extra side of rice because there is plenty of sauce. Other items on the menu we like include the Mutter Paneer and add chicken or the Aloo Gobi. Don't forget to ask for chutney on the side, my favorite is the green!
Very clean, sleek dining area including televisions at both ends of the room.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
413 reviews 413 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Too Busy, Too Noisy, Too Hard to Park - otherwise not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Hey the food here is not bad at all - in fact it is quite good. Came on the recommendation of a knowledgable person. All the restaurants in this area are hard to find parking at lunch time and have been for years. The tika "sauce" was watery. Briani was good. I really did not like the fact they tried to charge for another "serving" of the tika sauce because they didn't give enough in the first place. And the ultimate faux pas - non-Indians taking your order - I literally explained part of my order in Spanish. Interesting multi-cultural experience (really). The ambiance was "fast food" . Personally I like India Chaat Cafe better but location trumps selection sometimes. The place seemed "old" including the antique TV - come on Roti you can do better! Renovate and update your interior. Clean the tables better. Serve real brewed iced tea. Fix your tika sauce and provide more if a customer wants more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I really like this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Choose your protein, choose your sauce and then tell them how hot you would like it.

Simple, easy and fast.

The food is consistent and is of high quality.

The atmosphere is basic, not fancy, but is always clean and bright.

Everyone that I've taken here has been very impressed by the food.

Great Place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food/Modest location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Roti Grill format is simple. Enter the restaurant, describe your order at the register, and sit down and wait for your food. This is not a fancy restaurant and no one should expect that it is. The surroundings are, however, comfortable and bright. I've gone there several times with my family and have also gotten food to go. Everything has been good. The sauces are ample and flavorful. Chicken Tikka Kabab is a big favorite with my kids and I, and it is as good as any I have had. Unlike other Indian restaurants, there is no attitude from the staff. Even though you order from the register, they come around periodically and unobtrusively to take care of you. If you want a low key evening with great Indian food, this is the place for you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fresh Indian food?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Food was okay but you order at the counter from a plastic menu and sit down with a number to wait for your meal. The menu is not friendly to gluten or dairy free dining which usually Indian food is a go to for us.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roti Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roti Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.