We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Old School!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of S & D Oyster Co

S & D Oyster Co
2701 Mckinney Ave, Dallas, TX 75204-2521
214-880-0111
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 3,098 Restaurants in Dallas
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the Old School!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The oysters were clean, cold, plump, salty and delicious!
They come to the table super fast.
Only beer & wine and the beers are ICE COLD!
I love the fact you make your own cocktail sauce at the table.
The place is very clean!
The wife & I can't wait to get back in a couple of weeks for another 3 dozen!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Matagordo sauce!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I visited with associates from work during a business trip. The seafood was good - I had fried trout, and experienced my first raw oysters. The matagordo sauce (a mix of mayo, peppers, horseradish) was a nice find. Really good service, and a beautiful old building made for an overall enjoyable dining experience. The only negative was the hush puppies. They were a little dry and lacked flavor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've been a customer here for 35 years and it never disappoints. Excellent service and reasonably priced food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food!!! Kinda pricey...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Ate here with family while on vacation. Small town "local" atmosphere, clean, excellent service, excellent food... I thought kinda pricey though. My husband and I both had fried oysters, my 13 yr old had a shrimp sandwich and my 5 yr old had a hamburger... Our total was almost $80.... I thought that was expensive considering.... But the food was really great. Large place capable of seating many. We ate there on a Friday night and literally had no wait, even though the place looked packed... And I stress-- great service, great food, great family atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fried Shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I grew up on the Texas Gulf Coast and know something about tasty fried shrimp. We ate here again during the July 4th weekend, and realized anew that you can get fabulous seafood even in landlocked Dallas. Fried with a delicate crust and served with fries, hushpuppies, and slaw. Good -- but unpretentious -- wine offerings. Prompt and attentive service; simply cannot be beat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S & D Oyster Co also viewed

 

Been to S & D Oyster Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S & D Oyster Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.