We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to 5-star standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 McKinney Avenue, Dallas, TX 75201 (Oak Lawn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 190 Hotels in Dallas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Up to 5-star standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Very good, classy hotel. Lobby, bar and Fearing's restaurant are splendid. Rooms are fine and spacious, chose Club Level for best. Club lounge offers great breakfast, cocktail/bar and late desserts. Good gym. Swimming pool is unatractive and small. The deco is sober, 100% good taste ( so much to the point of being a bit dull...). Details: Wifi is poor quality, and pls stop stapling the laundry!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    74
    25
    11
    10
See reviews for
43
109
26
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here 5 nights in March. We had a nice Club level room which was spacious and well-appointed. The bathroom is big! The Club hostess was very welcoming and personable. Lobby and bar can get crazy in the evenings - we had to wade through the mob to get to the dining room. The dining room is very stylish. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent - it's nice to see a celebrity restaurant where the celebrity chef is actually in the kitchen. Mr. Fearing was there all evening and stopped by tables to check on guests. Nice touch. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights last week. First trip to Dallas and was very impressed with the hotel. The recpetion is open and spacious. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly thorugh the hotel.
I was impressed with my room - very spacious and clean - a super comformtable bed! The room was very well sound proofed which enabled me to try and sleep off my 6 hours jet lag!
My only criticism is how expensive the bar was - a pot of tea was the best part of 48 and two galsses of bulk standard wine came in at $30. My suggestion would be leave the hotel, turn left and walk up the road for 10 mins - there are some nice bars and restaurants to chooswe from there (the Idle Pub was pretty good).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Before I start, you should know that I stay at Ritz Carlton properties whenever I travel. Rarely are there exceptions. However, over the past few years I have noticed something that those of you who travel a lot should keep in mind: The bar areas become absolute bedlam on the weekends! From Dallas to New Orleans and waaaaay beyond, it's a full-on see-and-be-seen nightclub scenario packed with [often] rif-raf running all over the lobbies...inebriated. The Ritz properties appear to sanction - and even encourage - the behavior because the alcohol sales are through the roof. But as we all know, you can't have it both ways. You're either an exclusive Ritz-Carlton property or you're a nightclub. You have to choose. But it's obvious Ritz has opted for both, hence the three stars. I will tell you that everything else about this property is wonderful: the food, the service the decor -- all of it is first class. In fact, Ritz Dallas has one of the nicest lobby bars of any property in the country. In the end, if you want peace and quiet, stay at the Mansion on Turtle Creek. Otherwise, the Ritz offers intense nightlife for those who prefer not to leave the property. Eventually the entire city of Dallas ends up there, anyway.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor away from the bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I was here last week, thanks to Nora who gave us a great room. The service was definitely superb, everyone from the valet, front desk, concierge, laundry, were extremely helpful at all times. I loved the complimentary guacamole at 6pm and the Bentley rides were very convenient, so I could to hop off and not have to park my car. The grounds were extremely well kept from the lobby, restaurant, pool, to the gym. Michelle at the gym gave me a great arms & abs class! I certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We're Dallas residents and were looking for a nice, relaxing night away for my wife's birthday. The Ritz is very nice, and the staff could not be friendlier or more accommodating. A lone exception would be that I requested a rose petal turn-down online and did not receive it. The spa is absolutely fantastic and was a real treat for us. The club-level lounge was also very nice with the food, beverage, and entertainment options...until we went in the second time and thought it was romper room with kids running around and screaming. Some of the clientele also looked like we had stumbled into "free room at the Ritz" weekend with their trashy attire. Also, the pool is an absolute joke with its tiny size, and it was packed. Fearing's restaurant is second to none in a city full of great restaurants - can't recommend it highly enough. All in all, we had a wonderful (if expensive) time, with the exception of a few items (pool, clientele) that had us shaking our heads in amazement.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas truly exceeded my every expectation from the concierge staff in the club lounge to the outstanding services I received in the spa and the multiple warm welcomes I received from the valet and front desk/lobby attendants.
I came to the hotel for a special event, and worked with the Club Concierge Samantha to plan my itinerary and preparation for the event. Samantha setup my spa treatments as well as a personal shopping experience at the Neiman's Dallas. She was such a wonderful help before during and after my stay,
Amanda in the spa is absolutely incredible with long hair and did an absolutely remarkable job styling my hair. If you are looking for a fantastic special occasion stylist -- I could not recommend someone more, I felt amazing leaving the spa and my hair lasted through the entire night.
The gym at the hotel is fantastic as well -- great bonus to the property!
Thank you Ritz-Carlton Dallas for making my very special weekend a life long memory. I look forward to returning to the hotel and spa to prepare for many more special events in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas

Address: 2121 McKinney Avenue, Dallas, TX 75201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#7 Business Hotel in Dallas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#41 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Dallas Hotel Dallas
Dallas Ritz Carlton
Ritz Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.