We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, best chicken breast ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenny's Wood Fired Grill

Kenny's Wood Fired Grill
5000 Belt Line Rd #775, Dallas, TX 75254
(972) 392-9663
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kenny's Wood Fired Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 3,105 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Prestonwood Boulevard
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, best chicken breast ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Chose this place after searching for a steakhouse in the area. Turned out the only steak choice they have is filet mignon. However, the rest blew my mind.

I had the chicken breast - what I typically have at other restaurants and cook for myself. This was hands down the best chicken I have ever had. Yes, really that good. Smothered with mushrooms, artichokes, nuts and probably other things I don't remember now. Great stuff!

Mom's crab cake (recommended by other reviewers) was delicious as well and so was the mozzarella BLT. Grilled asparagus spires were thin and tender. Everyone seems to be singing praises to their mac & cheese but I didn't care much for it (although, I have never been a fan of mac & cheese, thought this one might change my mind - it didn't).

Parents liked the French onion soup except for rubbery cheese cover. The puffy bread they serve as free appetizer was tasty and original. Service was good and friendly. Will definitely come back here next time I am in the area!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    65
    19
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Wow! great sauces, good value. Attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Enjoyed a good dinner here. Whomever is in the kitchen making the sauces is a god or goddess! They were excellent. Wine list isn't extensive but they have a fair bit of range and the usual suspects of pinots, cabs and zins. Dessert was quite tasty. I would suggest appetizers, salads and desserts - as the main courses were a bit of a disappointment. Unfortunately, their seafood choices aren't the most sustainable (imported talapia, ahi Tuna, etc). And, their choices of beef and pork are from large, industrial producers, so if you care about what you put into your body, might want to steer clear of most of their menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“I can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I went today for lunch, but I can't wait to come back and try the dinner menu! We had a reservation and were seated immediately. We started with the warm, eggy pop-over which was flaky on the outside and airy and chewy on the inside. I had the special of the day, a short-rib sandwich, and my husband had the filet. My husband stated without hesitation that is was one of the best steaks he has ever had. I had to try the adult mac 'n cheese, which was outrageously decadent in the best possible way. The lunch crowd is definitely all business, and if I had to impress a client I would take them here. In fact, the next time I have a business lunch and they DONT take me here I'll be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is my favorite restaurant. The service is great and food is excellent.

I've had almost every item in their menu and all of them are amazing.
The popovers are always yummy, warm and delicious.
The coconut shrimps are good. I love them even though I do not like shrimp.
I always get the adult mac & cheese as a side dish. It is sinfully good - made with smoked gouda, ham and truffle oil.
The bacon cheddar burger is the best burger I've had. (There are even more delicious burgers at Kenny's Burger Joint in Frisco)
The ribs are juicy and fall off the bone.
The steaks are nice and tender and the sauces are amazing.
Overall, you can't go wrong with the food.

For my birthday, they gave me a $20 gift certificate for my next visit. (They do this in all of their restaurants)
I also love his other restaurants: Kenny's Italian, Kenny's Smoke House and Kenny's Burger Joint. I would rate all of them 5 stars!

I love Kenny so much that we're considering them to cater for our wedding.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great lunch place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Enjoyed this fine place today. Food was outstanding,service top notch, and drinks very good. Price is reasonable. Parking at lunch can be a challenge due to the locations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenny's Wood Fired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Kenny's Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenny's Wood Fired Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.