We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Highland Dallas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Highland Dallas to your Saves list
The Highland Dallas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 E Mockingbird Lane, Dallas, TX 75206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #12 of 190 Hotels in Dallas
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
TEXAS
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I'll be back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

First impression when you walk into the lobby, is just wow. Its beautiful. The gentleman checking me in, mentioned that there had been a lot of last minute bookings due to anniversaries and other special occasions and I happened to tell him that I just celebrated my 29th anniversary. We had booked a regular king room. It was nice and very clean. A few minutes later there was a knock at the door and to my surprise a bottle of champagne on ice had been sent up by the front desk!! Who does that?? It was awesome. Later my husband and I went to the bar in the hotel. Very few bartenders know what a French 75 is but this bartender made an excellent French 75. We got there right at closing time but I would have liked to had a few more. I cannot say anything about the location, as we checked in late and left the next morning so I didn't explore the area. SMU campus is pretty much right across the street. I will be back. It was a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    176
    38
    17
    4
See reviews for
119
201
51
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Had a very brief but very good one night stop here on a recent business trip.

Rooms were excellent - very well appointed, clean beyond belief, and a fabulously comfortable bed (which was needed!).

Can thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disputanta, Virginia, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my 5 days at the Palomar. The staff was top notch, friendly, helpful & full of smiles. The rooms are so comfortable that you really don't want to leave. And best of all were Eloy's dinner recommendations. We followed his advice two nights and found meals that would be a special treat for even the pickiest foodie! I will definitely be back to the Palomar and can't wait to see what gems we discover next time.

Room Tip: Corner Suites have a great view of the SMU campus and Bush library.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Thank you for making our visit wonderful. We have stayed at many Kimpton Hotels and your Service lives up to the standard. We were in for a week looking at colleges and the front desk made all our dinner reservations giving excellent recommendations. WE are foodies and wanted to experience Dallas food, not tourist traps. When returning for breakfast the next morning our waiter remembered exactly how we liked our eggs, coffee and who was in our group. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. After long college tours, we took advantage of the jacuzzi, it was peaceful and the perfect temperature. Great location, so close to the city and near the best restaurant and shopping districts in Dallas.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful service from check in through check out. Great rooms, comfortable beds and very accommodating at all times. Very nice and generous wine reception each evening. It's obvious this hotel aims to please.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

There's not much to say except, "when it's right, it's right." Palomar Dallas is right. Excellent front desk service, seamless check-in, great valet, Clean, clean, modern rooms. Did I mention they were clean! Great job, Palomar. Any time I have a choice, I'll be back. Five stars in my book.

Here's a side-note that applies to every hotel. Checking into the Palomar Sunday night reminded me to get this out in writing: I miss the days when hotel desk hosts looked you in the eye. Today, they tap away furiously on computers and only infrequently look at you and smile. Most often they are grimacing at the computer screen like your reservation is nowhere to be found. The Palomar agents were better than most so thumbs up for that. And thumbs up for an excellent experience. And for clean rooms. You might have picked up on the fact that it's important to me!

All the best in your travels.

Room Tip: Communicate your desires to the desk agent. They were over-the-top accommodating for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here for one night, very short notice. We were traveling with our little dog. A search showed that Palomar has a "pets stay free" policy. This was really the primary reason we booked here.
We were really surprised by how nice the hotel was. Our bellman, Armando was very polite and professional. He even offered we could call the bellman any time and they would walk the dog if we needed them to do it. So two thumbs way up for the pet-friendliness. The design of the hotel is contemporary, nice finishes. Everything is nice and clean. Only slightly strange element for me was the sliding door to the bathroom. I was really pleasantly surprised by the extra length king bed we had. A nice unexpected plus for a tall person. It did make the walk space a little tight at the bottom of the bed, but was very comfortable to sleep. Our room had a little sitting area overseeing the highway. Car noise can be annoying if you are very sensitive to that. In that case I would try to request a room further away from the road.
I would return and even make a little detour to stay here again, it is especially nice to have the option to take your dog.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Highland Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Dallas

Address: 5300 E Mockingbird Lane, Dallas, TX 75206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dallas
#6 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#10 Family Hotel in Dallas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#20 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Highland Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highland Dallas, Curio Collection by Hilton a gem among Dallas boutique hotels, offers signature hospitality and artful style in the scenic Park Cities neighborhood. Surrounded by top Dallas shops, restaurants and nightlife, and across from SMU, our boutique hotel provides luxurious accommodations along with unsurpassed services and amenities. An outdoor heated pool, full onsite spa services and insider suggestions of popular things to do in Dallas puts our Dallas luxury hotel ahead of the pack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Highland Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar Dallas Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highland Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.