We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to Return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Highland

Save Saved
You added The Highland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Highland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 E Mockingbird Lane, Dallas, TX 75206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 188 hotels in Dallas
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Canfield, Ohio
1 review
“Can't Wait to Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Recently had the opportunity to stay at Hotel Palomar Dallas. Was referred to the hotel by a local university that we were visiting. The location was so centrally located to all of the places we needed to be! Loved the hotel, loved the pool, loved the steak salad beside the beautiful pool. We were greeted and treated like family and loved every moment we were there. I would highly recommend the Hotel Palomar!!!

Room Tip: I always recommend upper floor away from elevator!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    409
    168
    34
    14
    4
See reviews for
113
197
49
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We recently stayed at the resort for an event that was being held there. We received great service from the time of check in until we left. The bartenders were friendly, the room service was fast, the food at the event was excellent for such a large group, and the bed was very comfortable. The pool was also nice and the drinks were good. We went on a short trip to Austin a few days later and stayed at the W. Over rated and over priced... Palomar beats them hands down! Next time we're in Dallas we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Always look out for a Kimpton hotel. Always slightly different to other hotel groups with a boutique feel. Very good staff (as usual) in all areas. Kimpton happy hour and free coffee always welcome. Nice room. Hotel good for central Dallas .All round, a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've stayed in all of Dallas' finest hotels but I always come back to Hotel Palomar. The service is excellent and I think the rooms are appointed perfectly. I always enjoy dining there as well. Great value for a really gorgeous hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Valet service was great, including free service to places within 4 miles of the hotel. There are many great spots within this radius, and if you have to go beyond, taxis are waiting close by to take you wherever you need to go. The concierge was very knowledgeable. Great outdoor pool on the second floor. Delicious and refreshing raspberry water always available at front door, which was a life saver during days where the temperature reached 102. Very close to excellent shopping and restaurants. Great bar on the premises. Clean and well-maintained rooms and linens. Fabulous free happy hour at 5pm with wine, sangria, and tasty snacks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is located in a PRIME area of the city! It offers easy access to all freeways and is minutes from anywhere in the Metroplex. The staff is always professional, the pool is very relaxing and helps you easily forget that your in the middle of a major city. The rooms are immaculate and very spacious. The cocktail and hors d'oeuvres hour is superb!!! This is a must stay as often as possible!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location for SMU visitors and within walking distance to the George W Bush Library. Rooms are 2 steps above most high end chain hotels - nothing terribly notable in terms of room amenities. Very accommodating staff. We discovered a special they offered after we had booked and they changed our booking to the better deal without a problem. Our package included free valet parking and a $30 voucher for food service. The pool area is nice but is shared with an adjacent condo project so it was very crowded on the weekend with college students.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Highland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland

Address: 5300 E Mockingbird Lane, Dallas, TX 75206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dallas
#6 Family Hotel in Dallas
#6 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#15 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Highland 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highland Dallas is a luxury boutique hotel centrally located in the upscale Park Cities neighborhood near downtown Dallas. Distinctly Dallas, this sophisticated sanctuary adjacent to Knife restaurant, puts you near the city's best shopping and dining and minutes from destinations like Southern Methodist University, North Park Centre and the American Airlines Center. This beautifully appointed Hilton Hotel stylishly evokes the expansive Texas landscape while cradling you in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Highland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar Dallas Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.