We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service, great pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Highland Dallas

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Highland Dallas to your Saves list
The Highland Dallas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 E Mockingbird Lane, Dallas, TX 75206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 188 Hotels in Dallas
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great service, great pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed there this weekend and was impressed with all of the above and appreciated my $10 mini bar credit as well. The lounge was great...don't like their sofas...too hot and slippery...but drinks were great and service was friendly and welcoming. We even used the hotel car. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: high floor away from highway
See more room tips
Green Features: I saw the practices were followed. Pool area did not allow straws and recycle bins everywhere.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi Jackie,

Thanks for the great review about the Hotel Palomar and glad to see you used your Kimpton InTouch Guest Loyalty $10 mini-bar credit.

With so much to do here at the Hotel - beautiful swimming pool with food & beverage service, complimentary bikes, house car to drive you around town, beautiful lounge with summer cocktails - we hope you can back and visit us soon.

Regards,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    169
    34
    16
    4
See reviews for
116
197
49
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for business, very convenient location. Easy access. This hotel was converted to a Kimpton and it works well. The common area is larger than most Kimptons. The lobby area, restaurant, and lounge area in restaurant are very nice and accommodating for breakfast lunch dinner evening cocktails and business meetings with clients and colleagues. Great food service and rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi David,

Thanks for the great review and glad to see you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you got a chance to see some of Dallas during your visit as it looks like we kept you captive for breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails! Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Room/bathroom were clean. Housekeeping was quiet when they came by in the mornings and seem top-notch. We slipped out for 30 min to have breakfast and couldn't believe our room had already been done when we returned - pleasant surprise. Had the regular king room and it was very small. Nothing impressive about the bathroom. Even near busy roads, was very quiet at night. The pool is lovely, used it a couple of times. Was so nice to use the hotel car to be driven to the mall. This hotel was mostly couples and business people - had a nice "getaway, romantic" feel to it. I wouldn't really recommend it for kids. Had dinner in the hotel restaurant Central 214 - really good. After trying a few other places, wished we'd eaten all of our meals at the hotel. Loved the fruity water that was placed around the hotel. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for the great review! So glad to see our stealth training with Housekeeping is working! Great to read how the Hotel can appeal to both business people and those that want to enjoy a vacation or romantic get-away as you describe.

The Chef is delighted to see your comments on his food and will always make room for you in Central 214 when you return.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have no complaints about the service, the valet parking, the bar/restaurant, location or the room. I asked my check-in person if I could have a quiet room, and he said he would give me one overlooking the pool -- which was ideal because the pool closed at 10 pm -- and he was right, it was very quiet. If you have a AAA card, use it in order to get a better room rate.

The only complaint is that housekeeping started knocking on doors at 8:10 am the three days I was there. That's just too early. Can't they start at 9 am at least?

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for rooms by the pool -- it closes at 10, and it is indeed quiet. They also f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalomarPR, Director of Sales at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing the Palomar as your home away from home! We appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel on tripadvisor. Hopefully, you will have a chance to enjoy our beautiful infinity pool next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I look for clean accommodations, comfortable bed and good shower. Palomar is very clean, the bed is reasonably comfortable (good pillows, both feather and fiberfill), but water pressure was disappointing.

Hotel is old, but renovated with funky, 70s-inspired decor. My room is a good size, and room arrangement is different than most hotels.

Some minor irritations: the wait to drop off car (even after 9 pm on a weeknight) with other vehicles behind me and barely off the street, the in-room safe (nice touch) did not work by either code or credit card, free wi-fi (if you join their free hotel rewards program ahead of time) was sketchy/extremely slow between 9 pm and midnight.

There were lots of employees around this morning, all working and all very friendly.

Palomar is 3 minutes' walk from the nearest DART station, which was convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalomarPR, Director of Sales at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! First of all, we really appreciate you choosing the Palomar over so many other choices. We wanted you to know that we have addressed the water pressure problem with our Engineer, and we have also shared your feedback about our valet drop off with the Director of Operations. Your feedback has offered us the opportunity to take corrective measures that will keep us at the top of our game. We hope to see you again soon for an overnight stay at the Palomar. Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The valet Parker was very nice. We went to check in and the front desk clerk said they had no rooms ready, that they were always 100 percent full every night ... I kindly informed him that we had called earlier and were told we have plenty of rooms to please come now. We took the red eye in from Las Vegas, needless to say we were tired. Bless her heart she spoke up and said she had a room blocked. We thanked her, it was very awkward. He had us wait in the lobby and then brought us keys to a room that was not up to par. All the furniture was in need of either paint or just and overhaul. The bed was comfortable. We stayed at the Phoenix Kimpton Hotel and it was fresh and delightful. The staff and management here are in need of a refresher course.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hilton
See more room tips
Green Features: We made sure to turn off lights, not overuse anything and love that Kimpton Hotels protect the environment.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalomarPR, Director of Sales at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that our facilities and service were not up to the standard that our guests have come to expect. Please know that we have taken your feedback to our operations team so that they can address the issues that you experienced whilst staying with us. We hope that you will accept our invitation to stay with us again to experience the level of service for which we have become known. Again, thank you for choosing Kimpton. We hope to see you again sometime very soon for a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a great hotel. It is immaculate and extremely well designed. The rooms are well appointed. You will not be disappointed.

Try the 214 Restaurant and Bar. I enjoyed The Louisiana Redfish and Pork Chop on my stay this week. They were both outstanding. As the restaurant staff was perfect. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: All the rooms have ultra high quality drapes that darken the room well. There really are no great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalomarPR, Director of Sales at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We really appreciate you choosing us over all of the others! Please make us your home away from home when you are in Dallas. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Highland Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Dallas

Address: 5300 E Mockingbird Lane, Dallas, TX 75206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dallas
#6 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#6 Family Hotel in Dallas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#17 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Highland Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highland Dallas, Curio Collection by Hilton a gem among Dallas boutique hotels, offers signature hospitality and artful style in the scenic Park Cities neighborhood. Surrounded by top Dallas shops, restaurants and nightlife, and across from SMU, our boutique hotel provides luxurious accommodations along with unsurpassed services and amenities. An outdoor heated pool, full onsite spa services and insider suggestions of popular things to do in Dallas puts our Dallas luxury hotel ahead of the pack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Highland Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar Dallas Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highland Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.