We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Night With One Issue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Highland Dallas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Highland Dallas to your Saves list
The Highland Dallas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 E Mockingbird Lane, Dallas, TX 75206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Nice Night With One Issue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ok, the hotel looks nice. The lobby is sleek and welcoming. The restaurant is right next door. The problem is that although it looks 4 stars...it seems artificial. Like if someone just took a checklist of things that makes a 4-star hotel and chucked it in there. It didn't feel like the space was used right. We checked in and everything was fine. We were greeted with smiles from everyone and we immediately felt the famous southern charm. It was me, my wife and sister-in-law staying in the room and I indicated that on the reservation. Regardless, when we got to our room we noticed only one bed. We're a close family. But not that close. I went back down and got another room. As we walk in I hear this noise that sounded like water running. Sure enough the toilet was running water and not stopping. It was not leaking but it looked like the water did not reach reach the level needed to shut off. So the toilet tank kept filling up endlessly while the thing that goes inside was sticking out out of it! So my wife and I looked at each other and said this is not a 4-star hotel. We should have stayed at the 4.5 star one for $40 more. Damn. We called and the front desk sent up the engineer to fix it. He did and we left out for dinner. As we walk back in the hotel room, there's the noise again and water all over the floor! It's about 11pm and we just want to turn in so we call the front desk and they send another guy up. He's shocked and apologizes profusely at what he's seeing. There's no fix so we're on to out third room. Once in the room, everything looks OK. The front desk calls and comps us breakfast at the restaurant (about $50) next door. I really didn't expect this at a 4-star hotel. Sure they were very nice about it but c'mon. Everyone apologized and I thought they handled it well but 4-star hotels shouldn't have bathrooms in that shape. The rest of the stay went without a hitch. The pool area is nice but it was too cold when we got there and couldn't take a dip. I say stay here if you get a great deal. If not, there must be better places. My first choice would be the Omni in downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    198
    49
    23
    5
See reviews for
136
220
56
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is chic and stylish with a great bar area. I attended a reception (business, not wedding) and was impressed with the quality of the food. The beds were comfortable. The rooms were clean and modern. The rooms are small and because of the location there are no great views. The staff is exceptionally friendly.

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We did a college roommate reunion here and had such fun just hanging out at the hotel. Lots of comfy spots to gather and chat. People watching was great. My favorite was the delicious hot chocolate in the morning and water with fresh fruit waiting for you when you entered the lobby. Can't say enough about the service. Hot tub was definitely warm. Only drawback was the the free car use was never available and we got there on a Thursday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalomarPR, Director of Sales at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks so much for your review of our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed a good time people watching while you sipped some of our gourmet hot chocolate! We hope that you will come back very soon so you can sample some of our summer wellness cool drinks and craft cocktails by the pool. See you back at the Palomar very soon. Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I love this hotel. Nice wine hour, friendly front-desk, healthy room service and restaurant, nice outdoor pool. The beds are so comfortable (I actually bought the pillows they use from their online store a few years back). There are few hotels that keep the rooms at the perfect temperature all the time - they did. I loved the little jogging map in the room too. I used the light rail into downtown and the hotel is conveniently located across the street from a station.

Room Tip: Not great on views as this is Dallas and there aren't that many great views but a room on the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalomarPR, Director of Sales at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, but more importantly, thank you for your business! We always love to hear what people liked while they stayed with us. Soon, you will be able to pick up the Katy Trail jogging and hiking trail right behind our hotel, so keep an eye out for that the next time you stay with us. We have a lot of great promotions this summer, so we hope you will join us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

So I did not have the best stay at the Palomar and came out to write a review to only see how many people liked it.

I was there for a smaller conference (80 people), so maybe they just don't do large group events well. But out of the 80, I know of 4 people that had MAJOR problems, bugs, dirty sheets, extremely noisey rooms, and an overflowing tub that caused "rain" in the room. Those are the issues I KNOW about.

In addition to my room being "ok", no real complaints (but nothing to rave about either)- it was the FOOD of the catering that was BAD. They ran out of food for lunch one day, they served the same soup 2 days in a row for lunch. One lunch was 3 lettuce salads and after the first 25 people went through there was NO MORE protein or toppings for the salad - literally we ate lettuce with dressing only and rolls. I KNOW that our group had to over pay for this. One of the bars we had, RAN OUT OF WINE

Maybe it is ok if it is a small group and catering is NOT invovled? I am certain our group will not be back there, and I would NOT recommend it for any group or wedding.

Lastly, not sure why anyone would stay in that part of town - nothing to walk to - you need a car, but maybe that is Texas in general

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalomarPR, Director of Sales at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are saddened to hear of your less than perfect stay with us at the Palomar. We regret that you did not have the experience that would have lived up to your expectations. While maintenance issues sometimes happen in any hotel, we certainly are sorry that the issues you mentioned affected your stay in a negative way. We have taken note of the issues that you mentioned, and you have our promise that each and every one of these issues will be addressed with each department manager. Please consider this a standing invitation to come back and experience a much better stay with us the next time you are in Dallas. We would like the chance to show you a service level for which we are well known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We actually live up the street from the Palomar but have been there many times for a "staycation". We love this place. It is just a relaxing place to be. Pool is great. Restaurant and bar area is great. Dog friendly. We take our dogs every time we go. They bring up dog beds, water bowls and a treat for your dogs when you get to your room. And I don't know if they advertise it but you can order up a goldfish to your room if you would like. Just adds to the awesome place. We have couples massages at the spa and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We just stayed here for a family wedding and were very pleased with the experience. It was clean, modern, relaxing and fun! Spent an afternoon in the jacuzzi and ran to the nearby Katy Trail for some exercise. The lobby is a fun place to relax, and recharge. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Highland Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Dallas

Address: 5300 E Mockingbird Lane, Dallas, TX 75206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dallas
#5 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#16 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Highland Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highland Dallas, Curio Collection by Hilton a gem among Dallas boutique hotels, offers signature hospitality and artful style in the scenic Park Cities neighborhood. Surrounded by top Dallas shops, restaurants and nightlife, and across from SMU, our boutique hotel provides luxurious accommodations along with unsurpassed services and amenities. An outdoor heated pool, full onsite spa services and insider suggestions of popular things to do in Dallas puts our Dallas luxury hotel ahead of the pack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Highland Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar Dallas Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highland Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.