We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel stay in awhile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Highland Dallas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Highland Dallas to your Saves list
The Highland Dallas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 E Mockingbird Lane, Dallas, TX 75206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Knife Gift Card
Ranked #24 of 193 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Hotel stay in awhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Palomar is simply amazing! I love that it is a boutique hotel and furnished exquisitly. The rooms are very nice and include everything you need. The wine happy hour from 5-6 is great too! Free Red or white wine as well as local beer. It is a little bit out of the city but not far of a drive to downtown. They also have a car service that takes you within 5 mins anywhere of the hotel. we used this to go to dinner one night. I believe this service ends at 11pm so you can drink at dinner and get picked up without worrying! Overall the staff was very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again! I almost forgot- the infinity pool is gorgeous and heated to 80 degrees! We took advantage of that along with the hottub outside!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    218
    66
    31
    6
See reviews for
164
240
59
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Palomar Kimpton exceeded our expectations for quality, location and service. In town for only one night to visit SMU, we stayed in a one bedroom suite that accommodated 3 of us nicely. Only issue at dinner was they ran out of arugula salad which seemed a bit odd. Busy corner entrance so be on the watchout for it as the hotel is on a very busy road.

Room Tip: Corner suites excellent for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I go to Dallas a few times a year and usually don't get to pick where I stay. So this was the first time I had stayed at this particular Palomar. Wife, daughter and I were here for a couple of days worth of R&R between Xmas and New Years, and actually were able to book the property through Priceline at a reasonable price.

Location: Mockingbird at the North Central Expressway is a very convenient location, with easy access to the arts district, Northpark Mall, Downtown, SMU and Highland Park. Downside is it is near the freeway, as opposed to being in the midst of a walkable neighborhood.

Decor and Rooms: Typical modern, hip Kimpton decor. Nice lobby area, though rooms are a bit limited due to the hotel's original configuration and room layout. Nothing particularly memorable about the room decor. However, the phone, clock and light fixtures near the beds had all been unplugged, which we discovered when we tried to turn on the reading lights. I suppose the previous occupants had disconnected them to plug in their phone chargers...

Staff and Amenities: Very friendly and helpful staff. Daily wine happy hour is always a nice touch. This is a DOG friendly hotel, and I was amazed how many people walking through the lobby had dogs with them. In fact, when we checked in there was a dog behind the counter.

We have stayed in many Kimpton Hotels and generally like the brand. This one is not their best, but it is still better than the other hotels I have stayed in when visiting Dallas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLPFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday vacation with us at the Palomar. We're delighted you enjoyed the location, service, and pet friendliness. We look forward to your return visit when you bring some of your four legged friends to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have struggled to find a good business hotel in Dallas. I will now be staying at the Hotel Palomar. Centrally located, 10 minutes to Love Field, and lots of great dining nearby, as well as easy access to the Katy Trail for running. The room was very clean and attractive, and I was able to take an exercise class at the attached Exhale Spa with a coupon from the front desk. My only quibble is that there is no in-room coffee, you must go to the lobby in the morning -- but they have an impressive spread that includes hot chocolate and tea, as well. Service is good but casual, i.e., the young valet greeted me in the evening with "You're back!" Valet parking is mandatory, but I've found that to be true at most Dallas hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLPFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
If you are looking for a coffee maker in the room, we can have one of our fabulous Keurig machines delivered. However, It doesn't come with the delcious hot chocolate, marshmallows or the happyy smiling faces at the front desk that you would receive if you came to see us for coffee service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I travel for business and always stay at Palomars & Kimpton properties. If I'm in Dallas again, I will stay here. Having said that, it's not my all time favorite Kimpton property. The bed was a little less comfortable than other beds at other Kimpton properties. There was weird water pressure and temperature problems (not warm enough and varying water pressure changes that would make the shower turn off).
Good for business, location was great and of course, the service is excellent. The restaurant is also very good -healthy choices are available. I found it close to where I was doing business. It was also relatively close to Northpark Mall. In all, it was a fairly decent hotel.

I will also say the room was spotlessly clean. I accidentally dropped something behind the refrigerator/bar and was mortified at what might be behind that thing! (dirt, etc..). So, I was very surprised to see that it was immaculate and clean behind the refrigerator. Made me feel that the whole room was probably very very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLPFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Our housekeeping team is the best around! We are so proud to have them here at the Palomar. New mattresses are on their way to Holel Palomar and we can't wait to show you how comfortable they are. You will think you are sleeping on a cloud. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location. Never more than 10 minutes to any points of interest including the American Airlines center, Downtown and Highland Park. The service was great. I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLPFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Location Location Location! That is what it is all about right? We love being centrally located on 75 . Thank you for coming to visit with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Palomar and also attended a dinner and brunch that was catered by their chef and staff this month.

The room was well decorated, flat screen tv and contemporary bath room. It is well located 25 minutes from DFW and 1/2 way between Plano and Dallas. Dallas is only 10 minutes away depending on traffic.

The catered event with about 150 in attendance was outstanding. The food selections, 4 courses were excellent and the main course, salmon, was cooked to perfection and served hot. They only plate individually and it makes the difference. The host also had outstanding wines. :-)

The hotel has complimentary wine from 5-6 PM daily, but the quality of the wine was only a C grade, maybe lower. It's important to note: wine like beauty is in the eye of the drinker or beholder. VBG

They serve coffee in the lobby in the morning, wish they had a coffee maker in the room, not convenient to get dressed go to the lobby toget that caffein fix early each day and bring back an extra cup for your significant other.

You need to know that PARKING is NOT Free, $23.00 daily and on occasion the valets get very busy and timely retrieval of your car can be challenging. The first day they "lost" my rental and took 20 minutes to find it. The hotel without requesting removed that daily charge from my bill.

Used the fitness facility and have newer equipmen tbut limited strength apparatus, not more than a person at atime can use the 2 strength machines. 3 treadmills, 2 elliptical and one bike. very clean with towels and water and built in tv to each machine and ear phones to be used comped. "Bring your own." :-) Spa next door.

Across the street from SMU and the football stadium.

We did enjoy our stay and recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and could not hear outside traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLPFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Highland Dallas, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at Hotel Palomar and attending the event here. Thank you for your sweet comments and great review! Let us know next time you are staying with us and we will have one of our Keurig Machines placed in your room for your convenience, See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 193 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 3,916 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#4 of 193 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 193 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Dallas

Address: 5300 E Mockingbird Lane, Dallas, TX 75206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dallas
#5 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#16 Family Hotel in Dallas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#25 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Highland Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highland Dallas, Curio Collection by Hilton a gem among Dallas boutique hotels, offers signature hospitality and artful style in the scenic Park Cities neighborhood. Surrounded by top Dallas shops, restaurants and nightlife, and across from SMU, our boutique hotel provides luxurious accommodations along with unsurpassed services and amenities. An outdoor heated pool, full onsite spa services and insider suggestions of popular things to do in Dallas puts our Dallas luxury hotel ahead of the pack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Highland Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar Dallas Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highland Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.