We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service & comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar Dallas - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palomar Dallas - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palomar Dallas - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 E Mockingbird Lane, Dallas, TX 75206   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Step Up Summer: 15% Off
Ranked #9 of 188 hotels in Dallas
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful service & comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Very nice and comfortable room while attending a conference. The staff went out of their way to be sincere and helpful. Excellent lines and sheets and a quality mattress always help and the Palomar had that. Staff was the key though, from doorman to others, excellent. Good dining at conf meals and at the hotel. Definitely worth a repeat visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLPFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palomar Dallas - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your spectacular review! We will pass on your kind words to your staff and we will be on the look out to see you again soon! Our doorman have a lot of fun delivering great service to our guests. It is always great to hear that you enjoyed our food while you were here. Our Chef Graham Dodds keeps delivering food that delight the taste buds. Come back to see us here in Dallas while there is still snow on the ground!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    166
    30
    14
    4
See reviews for
113
194
49
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Went to Dallas for the first time for a wedding in this Mockingbird Station (?) neighborhood. (I honestly don't know where I was in relation to the Greater Dallas area, but if you need to be in the SMU area, absolutely stay here!) Awesome pool/spa, hip/cozy/elegant indoor/outdoor bar, beautiful modern/clean room, friendly/accommodating/knowledgeable staff, and great shopping/food options. Really can't give enough praises for this lodging. Would almost go back to Dallas just to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLPFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palomar Dallas - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We LOVE hearing this kind of feedback. This time of the year is the perfect time to come visit us and hang out by the cozy fireplace on Central 214's patio! We hope to see you there! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I decided to surprise my husband with a spontaneous anniversary get-away. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we felt so well taken care of. Our room (833) was spacious and super clean. The staff was so friendly and Eloy the manager clearly takes pride in his hotel. We had multiple meals at the hotel including dinner, breakfast and snacks/drinks in between. We ate indoors and outside by the fire place. We hung out at the pool/hot tub in a great cabana and took advantage of the phenomenal spa on the property. Try raiki with Vince and a flow massage with Vanessa. They are AWESOME!!!
The hotel is beautiful especially now with all their holiday decorations. They serve coffee/tea/hot chocolate with whipped cream every morning and wine in the early evening. Excellent value!
We will definitely stay there again soon.

Room Tip: We loved 833. Quiet, sunny views from two sides.. Love that this is a green hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLPFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palomar Dallas - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Now it's your turn for your husband to surprise you! I'm thinking.. New Year's eve? We would love to visit with you again! Thank you for spending such a special occasion with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed here 20+ times ( and the Palomar is always my first choice.) In addition to the rooms and restaurant, I truly like the staff! They always go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. I won't tell all the great things...some things you have to experience for yourself!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLPFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palomar Dallas - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us 20++ times! Are you ready to move in yet? We really appreciate our loyal guests! We hope to see you soon by the fire place with a hot apple cider. We've add warm apple cider and Hot toddies to our wine wine hour! Come try one (or two)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Village, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I travel a lot & have had every type of experience from horrible to wonderful in hotels across the globe. The Hotel Palomar, Dallas is my gold standard for the kind of experience I want & think I deserve. The hotel itself is very comfortable, not too big, all the amenities I want (gym, pool, spa, etc...) and well-located. But it is the STAFF and their attention to every detail of my stay that makes me return time & time again. The concierge,JonPaul Barnes, treats me like an old friend, ready and willing to help me with whatever the task I need handled. The valets seem genuinely happy to see me drive in, front desk staff the same. Giving great service, great hospitality is a dying art, I am afraid. But not at the Hotel Palomar, Dallas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLPFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palomar Dallas - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are thrilled to be your Gold Standard when it comes to service! What a fabulous compliment. It is our pleasure serving you. We all like to think of JonPaul as an old friend. He truly understands guest service and we are lucky to have him as part of our concierge team. Have you checked out our Golden Package? Rates start out at $199 and include a $40 dining credit. Come visit with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Won a trip to Dallas and my company set us up at this hotel. Boyfriend came down with the flu the first night and when I was at a business meeting in the morning the sweet lady Presca (house cleaner) came in and felt so bad for him that she went out of her way to get him a sprite to ease his upset stomach. Super kind, and very much appreciated by him. John Paul at the concierges desk was extremely helpful and steered us around town as well as to one of the best BBQ places we have ever ate (Peggy Sues). Dinner at hotel was excellent. Hot tub was great too! Thanks for the nice visit to Dallas!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLPFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palomar Dallas - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hotel Palomar is a great place to call home even when you feel ill. Our housekeepers genuinely care about our guests and I am glad Presca was able to assist with your boyfriend's upset stomach. It delights me to hear he was able to feel better to enjoy delicious local barbeque! Thank you for staying with us! We will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stay at the Palomar at least once a month and always appreciate the amenities! The rooms are spacious, the pillows perfect, and wine hour is always a winner! Beyond that, Stephanie attune front desk is always happy and helpful!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLPFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palomar Dallas - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your fabulous review! After we all eat turkey and give our thanks for our many blessing here at the Palomar, we are starting our Winter season festivities. Our wine hour will include hot apple cider as well at Hot Toddies to warm you up! We look forward to seeing you snuggled up close to our fire place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palomar Dallas - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar Dallas - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 5300 E Mockingbird Lane, Dallas, TX 75206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dallas
#5 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#5 Family Hotel in Dallas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#14 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar Dallas - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Dallas is a luxury boutique hotel centrally located in the upscale Park Cities neighborhood near downtown Dallas. Distinctly Dallas, this sophisticated sanctuary adjacent to Central 214 restaurant, puts you near the city’s best shopping and dining and minutes from destinations like Southern Methodist University, North Park Centre and the American Airlines Center. This beautifully appointed Kimpton Hotel stylishly evokes the expansive Texas landscape while cradling you in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar Dallas - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar Dallas Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar Dallas - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.