We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience in Dalls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Highland Dallas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Highland Dallas to your Saves list
The Highland Dallas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 E Mockingbird Lane, Dallas, TX 75206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Knife Gift Card
Ranked #23 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best experience in Dalls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

My stay at the palomar with fantastic, though with a few mishaps. I am really beginning to enjoy the whole "boutique hotel" concept. Not only these kind of hotels are nicer, but you get treated much better. After a day or two there, the staff knew me, and it felt like home. The crowd there is also much hipper, and the location of the hotel is excellent. Rooms are very nicely appointed and spacious. The concierge here is also extremely knowledgeable and helpful, they truly went above and beyond to fulfill my requests. Also, the hotel "happy hour" gatherings are great, it helps to get to know other guests, and both the complementary wine and hors d'houves are delicious.

I do have to say that housekeeping messed up one of my jeans, but they handled it in a very professional manner, so altogether, I cannot complain. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a pleasant experience while visiting the Dallas metroplex.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    210
    62
    31
    6
See reviews for
154
236
58
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Palomar to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were so far above average. We were upgraded, by the staff, to the luxury suite and it was just perfect! The rooms were large, bathroom amazing - with a jacuzzi -and the bed was so very comfortable. A special treat, with a note, was also waiting in our room for us to recognize our anniversary. Everything about our experience made our stay and anniversary extra special. The hotel has easy access to fine dining and attractions as well. Everything about our stay was fabulous! We definitely plan to stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great staff, great service. We had a minor issue and they went above and beyond. A+

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

In true Kimpton style the Palomar is well-appointed, tastefully decorated and supremely inviting. The corner suite on the 9th (top) floor was spacious and quiet with an oversized bathtub in the bathroom and a beyond comfortable king bed in the step-down bedroom area. Large fluffy towels and awesome spa level soaps & lotion. The window seat was a great reprieve to read in as an alternative to the large desk area and the $10 minibar credit for being an InTouch member made cookies before bed a fun treat.

Enclaves outside of the bar and restaurant were private yet welcoming. The bar was lively and Corey, the bartender, attentive and great with suggestions for food, drinks and score updates for the game playing on the tvs. Indulge in a 'southern heat' - a jalapeno and cucumber margarita on ice and take a walk through the pool area. Inviting with on-point furniture, the cabanas are comfortable and clean and it looked like it would be a happening place during the day.

Quick, friendly front desk service at check-in and departure were hallmark to the Kimpton brand; the staff throughout exemplary in their friendly nature and genuine easy smiles. Located just off the highway and across from Mockingbird Station and SMU this is an uber convenient hotel for those who need to be close to the university and activity. It was a little further from my office but now my new favorite for Dallas business travel.

If you can make the time I heard rave reviews on the restaurant and exhale spa on site from guests, locals and colleagues.

Room Tip: Join the Kimpton In Touch loyalty program.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I recently stayed at the Palomar Dallas at the recommendation of a business colleague. It was beautiful, clean, modern, and comfortable. There were plenty of towels and a nice assortment in the minibar. Kimpton in touch members receive free Internet so sign up before you go! There is a nice little fitness center in the property. I did order room service one morning and it was verygood and not ridiculously expensive. Mockingbird station is across the street and there are several ships and a Starbucks. Hotel staff was extremely courteous. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I made a reservation for my sister to stay at this hotel for her birthday. Everyone at the front desk worked with me to get everything arranged. They were very excited to help me plan this special weekend for my sister. The concierge found the perfect florist to deliver flowers on short notice. They were delivered before my sisters arrival and fit the Spa Theme perfectly. My sister commented, "every one here is so friendly and helpful. I've not opened a door for myself one time on this trip!" The spa suite was a perfect get-away for a military mom!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the East Side. The road noise is negligible on the west side, but can be noticed if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

If you are staying in Dallas, you cannot do any better than the Hotel Palomar. To be honest, I am a regular to this property. And, there is one primary reason. The staff. Yes, the property itself is lovely, comfortable, and inviting. The pool area is one of my favorite during the summer in Dallas. I don't want to discount any of that, but the staff really make this hotel seem more like a home that you want to live in rather than just a hotel room that you pass through. It begins with those behind the scenes like Sam Tucker and Allison, both of whom will answer any question that you have or help you to prepare for your trip long before you arrive, and Tim Morgan the catering coordinator whom we met working at the front desk to help out. He always makes me smile. Upon arrival, you will be met with the hardest-working valet staff of any hotel. Smiles all around, I can count on them for excellent service. Then it is the concierge staff that always prepares for your visit and helps to plan everything from a special event to a simple dinner out. The concierge staff at the Palomar includes my favorite concierge of any hotel in any city of any country: Eloy. I do not want to forget Jean Paul, though, who always has time for a pleasant conversation. The front desk staff including Kristy Ayoub and Beverly, and so many others greet me each time with a smile. I hope that the impression that you get from this review is that not only is this a great property in a perfect location in Dallas, but the staff here really care about their guests and prove it each and every time one walks through the door.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 192 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 3,759 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#3 of 192 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 192 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Dallas

Address: 5300 E Mockingbird Lane, Dallas, TX 75206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dallas
#6 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#16 Family Hotel in Dallas
#17 Business Hotel in Dallas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Highland Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highland Dallas, Curio Collection by Hilton a gem among Dallas boutique hotels, offers signature hospitality and artful style in the scenic Park Cities neighborhood. Surrounded by top Dallas shops, restaurants and nightlife, and across from SMU, our boutique hotel provides luxurious accommodations along with unsurpassed services and amenities. An outdoor heated pool, full onsite spa services and insider suggestions of popular things to do in Dallas puts our Dallas luxury hotel ahead of the pack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Highland Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar Dallas Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highland Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.