We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Service In Dallas” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amberjax

Amberjax
3011 Gulden Lane #107, Dallas, TX 75212
+1 469-513-9088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #275 of 2,895 Restaurants in Dallas
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Whether you are planning a barbeque or making a quick pit stop for protein on the way home from work, Amberjax Fish Market and Grille has you covered. At Amberjax, every meal starts in our Market window. Our Head Chef Larry Williams hand selects the freshest and best fish, shellfish, and seafood from every corner of the globe and brings that freshness directly to Dallas diners. Whether it's from Alaska to Hawaii, New England to Nova Scotia, the Mediterranean to Australia or all the way to the frigid Antarctic waters off the Chilean coast, when the boats come in our buyers are on the dock and looking for your next meal. The Grille at Amberjax is sure offer the most pleasant dining experience in West Dallas. We offer fresh, homemade soups and gumbos that complement our full bar and wine list. Amberjax specializes in Cajun and Creole inspired luxury comfort food. We can promise you that the fish will be fresh and flavor will kick your taste buds in the face. At Amberjax, we believe that freshness is king, and with our wide variety of fish, we are sure we can find you the perfect fish for your next meal.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Worst Service In Dallas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Atmosphere: Backwoods Bayou
Service: Truck Stop rude.
Food: Seafood Very Good, sides need major work.
Price: $$$
Recommend: NO! Dallas has many GREAT restaurants that serve seafood & are polite. If you want to spend that type of money I would recommend Ocean Prime. Where they appreciate there clientele, equally priced & enjoy a fine dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    33
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Fish Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Went a few weeks ago with a large family group (10) and were seated within a few minutes of our reservation time. Nice décor with the menu on the chalk board on the wall. Everyone complemented the food. I liked the idea of also incorporating a fish market on the premises. The bar area is small but the drinks came quickly.
Service was slightly slow for a place that was not full (80%) and it was at times hard to flag down our waiter. It took a while to get our food but the chef came out and apologized saying that a large group had ordered just before us and they got behind. Since we were with family this was not a problem
The place is open and can be quite loud at times, but the food made up for any of the imperfections. I liked the idea of having a fish shaped water pitcher on every table.
The Trinity Grove Idea with multiple restaurants in one location is a great idea. When we come back to Dallas we will definitely put this on our list of places to eat at again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had dinner at Amberjax yesterday. The food was excellant and the service although a bit slow was good as well. A little on the pricy side but all in all worth it. We will be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood, somewhat pricey evening with one quirk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

At the appointed reservation time, our group of 9 was seated almost immediately in the main dining room, which is quite large and if the weather is pleasant (as it was on this occasion), the large doors leading to the patio are wide open. It gives a wonderful airy feeling to the experience, but at least in that room, hearing yourself talk is a challenge. The noise level is energetic! (There is a back room which is set up with fewer tables, where you can hold a conversation.)

Our very capable server Nikki greeted us almost immediately to take drink and appetizer orders and explain the specials, which are all listed on the very large chalkboard. Two of us ordered a call vodka on ice, and we received a decent pour for the $9 price. I was shocked (and I do mean shocked) on our final bill to see that we had been charged for ice in the drink. Indeed, we had to pay $2 for "Rocks" according to the final bill. That's never happened to me before, and is one reason (in addition to the somewhat high prices) that my review isn't "excellent".

All of the food was served efficiently and was delicious. We all tried different starters -- tuna tartare, creole crab cake (two rather puny cakes -- it was a disappointingly small portion for $11), and chicken/rice gumbo. For the main entrée, I had the blackened Redfish, a sizable portion perfectly cooked and seasoned, tender and juicy. The side orders of rice and beans, and sautéed spinach were both excellent accompaniments. I also tried the lobster mac 'n cheese which is a very good portion as well, with about 4-5 ounces of lobster meat on top. I think a $28 price for this dish is probably $5 too high. Others had trout, orange roughy, flounder, Baramundi and Atlantic Salmon -- everyone seemed to thoroughly enjoy their meals. From a value viewpoint, however, I think the prices are overall about 15% on the high side. They have a decent wine list with more reasonable prices generally. Same with beer.

Dessert choices are numerous and we thoroughly enjoyed splitting a key lime pie, Bread pudding, and Fudge Pie -- all very tasty but again at prices between $8 - 10, were just a tad high in my opinion. Dessert also took about 5 minutes too long to deliver -- probably because of delays in the kitchen.

All in all, if you can overlook the fact that you'll probably spend 15% more than you should here, the quality of food and service is quite good. And next time, I'll hold the "Rocks" on my vodka!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I took a client here for lunch and we enjoyed the food and the open layout. I will caution that if you want to insure yourself a table, make a reservation or go at 11:00. We got there just after 11 on a Wednesday and the place was packed by 11:30.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amberjax also viewed

 

Been to Amberjax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amberjax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.