We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great productions, old theatre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dallas Theater Center

Dallas Theater Center
3636 Turtle Creek Blvd, Dallas, TX 75219 (Oak Lawn)
214 526 8210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 115 Attractions in Dallas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: the only theater in the US designed by Frank Lloyd Wright
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great productions, old theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I love the entrance to this theatre, talk about drive up appeal! The productions are expertly staged and acted. I saw the best Hamlet of my life there. That said, however, there is sensation of entering an underground vault when you walk into the theatre, and sometimes, there is the faintest smell of mildew.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love of the Arts and Love This!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Be sure to look for all of the options in the greater Dallas area! There is so many great places to see live theater with talented local, regional and national tours. The Humphries theater is an experience itself. Intimate yet well laid out - not a bad seat. Go down to Theater 2/3 also and have fun.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Frank Lloyd Wright design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Absolutely spectacular location on banks of Turtle Creek amid the trees, with the contemporary FLW design. The round building (with no right angles) is stunning. Excellent performances have been produced in this building but most now are downtown in the Arts District. DTC has a fabulous children's theater program, and if they are lucky enough to be educated and perform in this historic building, it will last them a lifetime!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Innovative Theater space, Super productions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We are season ticket holders. We really like nearly all the productions. Very high quality theater experience with familiar plays as well as productions you will not see anywhere else.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I started with season tickets back when they were still at the Humphreys theater. They still go back there for some performances but most are now held at the Wyly theater. Both are great venues. The artistic director had a bit of a rocky beginning a few years ago but has settled into his stride and puts out a good consistent product. I pray they never get rid of the Humphreys theater as it is an architectural treasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dallas Theater Center also viewed

 

Been to Dallas Theater Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dallas Theater Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.