We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Important story... disappointing venue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dallas Holocaust Museum

Dallas Holocaust Museum
211 N Record Street, Suite 100, Dallas, TX 75202 (Downtown Dallas)
214-741-7500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 115 Attractions in Dallas
Type: Educational Sites, History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A center offering exhibits, films and artifacts of the Holocaust.
Dallas area
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Important story... disappointing venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I was downtown at a conference and had a little time so visited the Dallas Holocaust Museum. It doesn't cost much to get in but be prepared before you go and know that it is VERY small. I spent about 35 minutes there. I couldn't escape comparing it with the Washington, DC National Holocaust Memorial which I've visited several times; and this small Museum came up pretty short. I honor the story told; but I also think visitors click onto TripAdvisor to get the facts. If you've never visited a Holocause Memorail Museum then by all means go. Regardless of how small the venue the story must and forever be told... we must never forget.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    44
    23
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Small but good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I liked it but we were close to closing time (within a hour). I did kind of rush through it. If you don't know much about the Holocaust, it is a good beginning. It is small though.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Truthful history that everyone should know!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This mseum tells the whole story ... about how the world stood by and let the Holocaust happen. I am so glad to see a museum that addresses the failure of the world to stop the genocide. I enjoyed this museum even more the the Holocaust museum in Berlin, Germany!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“only wished that it was larger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We were staying at a downtown hotel and we had wanted to do some walking and site seeing before we left Dallas. My hubby found the museum. Its small and wished it had been bigger but the lasting affect still lingers inside you when you leave. We just happened to meet TWO survivors and I felt so blessed and lucky to have. I am a WWII history lover and this is the closest I have ever come to.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Historical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This place is filled with artifacts and much history. The museum and the experience itself is one that you won't forget. If you are lucky there might be book signings from those who are survivors of the holocaust or children of the survivors. Check their calender to see what special events are happening. The museum is organized and the staff is very polite. There is so much to see and read about that it will take you a while to make your way through the museum.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dallas Holocaust Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dallas Holocaust Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.