We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dallas BBQ - a must try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny Bryans Smokehouse W Lovers Lane

Sonny Bryans Smokehouse W Lovers Lane
5519 W Lovers Lane, Dallas, TX 75209
214-351-2024
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #794 of 3,029 restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Dallas BBQ - a must try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Defintely a must try for the experience alone....you know it is good if the locals line up for it! Place is a little dirty but that is all part of the experience I guess. When we visited Dallas last month it was my first meal there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    6
    5
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very Good Bar-b-Cue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

OK, so I was told more than once that the best barbecue is found in Fort Worth, not Dallas, but I just didn’t want to drive all the way to FW just for BBQ. I did some research and picked the next best thing, one of the higher rated BBQ places in Dallas, Sonny Bryan’s Smokehouse on Lover’s Lane. The three of us thought that the food was excellent, although neither of the sauces was anything to write home about. The meat was truly fall off the bone. I had a combo; chicken on the bone, ribs, and the jalapeno sausage with mac-n-cheese and cole slaw. Wife had the pulled chicken sandwich, coleslaw and potato salad, and the daughter the pulled pork sandwich, green bean casserole and mac-n-cheese. The sandwiches were huge and all the sides were very good, especially the mac-n-cheese. I am glad that I am not a huge sauce fanatic, cuz I would have been disappointed. The pulled pork sauce was way too vinegary for me, and the thicker sauce was just plain-jane. This location appeared pretty clean on our visit and the servers were first rate; very patient with my wife who had a hard time deciding what she wanted. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Got a broom?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stopped by this place after work. The food preparation area was in desperate need of cleaning not to mention the floors. Had second thought about ordering but did so anyway. Food was pretty good - didn't get sick over it. But probably will never go back due to poor state of overall cleanliness.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great bar-b-que”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Great food, not fancy but not still a nice evening

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great barbecue-one of the best in Dallas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011 via mobile

Clean good tasting BBQ, they have child's plates for the little ones with choice of brisket sandwich Mac and cheese etc. Love Sonny Bryan's!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny Bryans Smokehouse W Lovers Lane also viewed

 

Been to Sonny Bryans Smokehouse W Lovers Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny Bryans Smokehouse W Lovers Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.