We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer lists and atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Saucer Draught Emporium

The Flying Saucer Draught Emporium
14999 Montfort Dr, Dallas, TX 75254-7519
972-934-2537
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #349 of 3,104 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Rockwall, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great beer lists and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Flying Saucer is definitely a bar; however, it has one of the best (if not the best) beer lists in the area. We got there for drinks, sometimes food, but mainly drinks. I love their ciders and this Flying Saucer has several to choose from including two dry ciders that I love. My husband goes for the unique quality beers they have. Go, relax, play darts, or watch tv. The cheese plate is also nice and the burgers are very good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Never been at night, but for Saturday / Sunday afternoon - great place to grab a beer and "sports bar" type food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

I get the sense that the atmosphere is different at night, but on weekend afternoons, Flying Saucer is a great place to grab a beer from their massive selection, have good food and watch sports. Have been here a number of times with my family - one of my daughters favorites given the pretzels

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing selection of beers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I wanted to go here because it's one of very few bars that serves Woodchuck Amber on tap-- I don't like beer, but I love hard cider. The boyfriend loves artisan beers and had never been here, so I knew it'd be perfect for him too. There's seriously something for everyone at this place! There were a few bar seats open when we got there at 9, but I'm told by a regular that it's usually packed. I can see why! This is absolutely a place I'd frequent if I lived in the area. Our bartender was knowledgeable and quick, and they've got a nice selection of foods as well.

Your tab will depend on the beer you choose; they range from cheap to expensive. It's a great place to explore and break out of your Coors/Budweiser/Miller/etc habit!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun place and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

The restaurant was busy, but had no trouble finding a table. The atmosphere is kind of a fun, sports bar feel. The selection of draught beer is outstanding with lots of import choices. No way to try all the beers, but I can say the Monty Python Holy Grail was quite good. Waitress was friendly and offered to bring me a sample from the bar if I wanted to try anything. In spite of the crowd the wait time was very reasonable. I wish I had one of these where I live. It would be a great place to meet with friends and have a great time.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing selection of draught and bottled beers from all over the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Unless you don't like beer, you'd be hard pressed to not be able to find a beer that you love. And if you don't like beer, they have wine, too! Their food is great and is reminiscent of Wisconsin/German food like brats, beer cheese soup, big soft pretzels plus you can choose a platter with different meats and cheeses, if you like. Their menu is far more extensive than that, but those are the things my friends or I have tried. The beer knurd club is super cool, too. Drink 200 different beers and you get a plate with your name up on their ceiling...you gotta see it to get the right idea.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Saucer Draught Emporium also viewed

 

Been to The Flying Saucer Draught Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Saucer Draught Emporium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.