We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At The Top Of Their Game” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French Room

The French Room
1321 Commerce St, The Adolphus Hotel, Dallas, TX 75202 (Downtown Dallas)
(214) 742-8200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The French Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 3,105 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $41 - $95
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Dallas
Cross street: Akard
Transit: DART and DART Light Rail (Akard Street Station)
Description: Editors at Bon Appetit, Gourmet, Travel & Leisure, Conde Nast Traveler , and Fodor's have consistently included The French Room on their annual lists of superlative restaurants. The Zagat Survey of America's Top Restaurants ranks the dining room No. 1 for food, decor, and service, and it's only one of nine restaurants in the United States to have achieved a near-perfect food score. Texas Monthly and D Magazine list The French Room among the best restaurants in Dallas. It is now the only dining room in Texas to hold the AAA Five Diamond Award. Guided by Executive Chef Marcos Segovia, whose culinary talents have earned him acclaim around the world, The French Room is an execeptional dining experience by any standard.
Colleyville, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“At The Top Of Their Game”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Good meals you can get in many fine restaurants. Great meals, only in a few. The French Room not only presents a great meal, but fabulous service and the ambiance that can only be found in fewer yet. From the Adolphus Hotel's history, to the rich dark wood throughout, to the dining room itself, you are taken away for an evening, to a place few people ever get to go to. A place to go to relax and enjoy the service that has created one of the finest!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The French Room, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your high praise truly makes our day.

Thank you for appreciating all that The Adolphus and The French Room are (and strive to be).

Guests are truly transported to another, more gracious world.

We look forward to your return.

Kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    48
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply The Best ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I live in Naples, Fl, where five star restaurants are a dime a dozen. Naples however is behind the times when it comes to every aspect of the French Room. The best food I've ever eaten. Thank you for an amazing evening on a very special day!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The French Room, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is always a joy to hear that The French Room ranks among the finest restaurants in the world.

As you can imagine, this is what our staff strives for every day.

Marcos Segovia, our French Room executive chef, thanks you for your compliments and sends you his best regards.

Cordially,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Wow, does not sum up our experience. The service impeccable, the ambience, and the food was out of the world! The service was amazing without being too much. Our server was great explaining everything as this was our first visit. He explained the food expertly even letting us in on how they prepared our tenderloin, which was the first time I have had a cut of meat that would melt in your mouth and it was paired with the oxtail risotto that I could have made a meal of by itself. We started our meal with the crab cake, the best I have ever had and my husband had the scallops which he gave high marks. The soup that was sent compliments of the chef was Devine. I know the apple cider sorbet was sent to cleanse our pallet, but it was delicious! We had the grand marnier soufflé which was a perfect end to the meal. We were celebrating our anniversary and our dessert was served with a message and candle. Very romantic evening and my husband and I will definitely return! Thank you for making our night very special!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The French Room, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

How very kind of you to take the time to express your thanks and good wishes.

We are most grateful for your review and look forward to your return.

Thank you!

Cordially,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A special evening to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We celebrated our 8th anniversary at the French Room. It was a truly magical evening. The room itself takes you away to another place. The service is top notch and gives such great attention to every detail. I was delighted that the server brought me a complimentary glass of sweet wine to go with my foie gras and it was the perfect pairing. I had the tenderloin as my main course, perfectly cooked and didn't even need a knife. We had the cheese course, and then for dessert my husband and I both had souffle's. We enjoyed every bit of our selections, our bottle of St. Julien and then attentiveness of the staff. We plan on returning very soon.
Merci for the lovely experience!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The French Room, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Congratulations, again, on your eighth anniversary. We are honored that you chose The French Room for this beautiful occasion.

Thank you for expressing your appreciation. It means a great deal to us to know that we impress guests, night after night.

Until you return . . .

Kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Just oustanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Ate here with some customers and colleagues. Everything about this meal was wonderful. The Room is just gorgeous, with chandeliers from Venice and paintings on the ceiling from a native Texan. The service was impeccable. Their are no words to describe the food. Just amazing. I had the scallops and veal. Great, great evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The French Room, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for entertaining your customers and colleagues in The French Room.

We appreciate knowing that you all had a grand time.

The management and staff of The Adolphus hope you will return soon.

Kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Room also viewed

 

Been to The French Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.